Sugar

Dear Sugar,

You know I love you.  I really do — especially in homemade baked goods, cereal, energy/granola bars, ice cream, and chocolate.

But we have to take a break.

I’m seeing someone else.

Okay, that was a lie.  I’m actually seeing three someone else’s: fat, protein, and vegetables.

And sugar, they are so good to me. They’re better for me than you are.  Our relationship has been fraught with violence and abuse: you make me breakout (which is especially bad given my general hormonal issues), you make me overeat (I thought I could just have a little bit of you and be satisfied, but you’re so demanding — you always say “more, more more”!), and you  make me a little lethargic.

It’s time for a change.  I want more energy.  I want a happier, healthier looking face.  I want to feel like my digestive system is squeaky clean (TMI?).

Moreover, I’m an athlete — I thrive off of running, yoga, strength training, and just generally playing/exploring.  And you slow me down.  I know that all the experts say “carbs before and after a workout”, but I just don’t think that it’s working out for me.  See, that means it’s not you, it’s me.

I hope that we can see each other again some day, but only a little bit at a time.  I want my clear skin back.  I want my marathon energy back.  I want to look forward to eating healthy meals and not dread it.

I hope you are understand.  Feel free to call/text/email me anytime.  I hope we can still be friends!

xoxo, Caronae

And so begins a little experiment: seven days sugar-free. At least, refined-sugar free.  Don’t murder me if I use a dash of maple syrup at some point.  But seriously though, I think something has been bothering my tummy, my body, and my energy levels lately, and I have a suspicion that this white powder (no, not the other white powder) is to blame.

I have been focusing more and more on vegetables, a little fruit, proteins (meat, fish, chicken, yogurt, milk, beans, tofu/soy, eggs, cheese) and fats (EVOO, coconut oil, nut butter, plain nuts, low-fat dairy, whole eggs, cheese, butter, avocados) lately and I love it.  I have lost twelve or so of then nagging pounds I’ve had hanging out since the hospital this summer, and would love to lose about five more to be at my happy weight.  I’m fine with the way I am now, to be honest.  I just want to feel like I can finally get a hold of my weight, for once and for all.

And I think sugar (or at least, excessive sugar), is standing in my way.  I am a woman on a mission.  A very determined woman.  Don’t get in my way. 😉

-A few notes: my goal is NOT complete sugar elimination, jsut serious reduction

Source

-I will probably use a little stevia and maple syrup

-I am going to reevaluate after seven days.

Good night all!

Do you have a healthy relationship with sugar, or are you one of the many people who struggles with it?

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 00:32:14

    Good luck! I think I have an OK relationship with sugar, but I can definitely fall off the wagon sometimes.

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 01:17:09

    You go girl!! Stay strong 🙂

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 02:10:42

    I eat sugar, but i think i do a decent job of “everything in moderation” when it comes to sugar. But no one’s perfect!

    Good luck on our path!!

    Reply

  4. Maggie @ Say Yes to Salad
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 10:40:22

    I’m bad at sugar in moderation too. I’ve been cutting back a bit recently and I feel a lot better! I’ve also been eating more veggies 🙂 (And no meat, but that is a different story.)

    Reply

  5. ~Jessica~
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:11:12

    Unfortunately I’m in the same boat as you ~ I’m such an all or nothing person that the minute I have sugar, it sets me off on a binge. Natural sugars from fruit etc. are okay, but one cookie always equals ten, plus chocolate, plus…well, you get my drift! Nut butter has the same effect though, so I often wonder if it’s more of a psychological (calorie dense and thus ‘forbidden) food thing rather than a chemical one for me.

    Good luck with your endeavour and keep taking care of yourself!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:30:33

      I think it does have to do with the idea of it being “forbidden”. Once I stopped seeing nut butter as “off limits”, my relationship with it improved a lot! Nw I just need to do the same with sugar. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:43:48

    Sugar not so much…peanut butter or ice cream? Oh, lord yes. I can’t stop once I’m started!
    Thanks for the egg-ideas! I never thought of using raisin bread for eggs!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 16:58:39

    Sugar and I have a love/hate relationship. It’s kind of like when you have a new friend and see them so much that you start to hate them…and then after two days you want to see them all the time again. Ugh. Good luck on your seven days!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 17:07:18

    good luck woman! i love food experiments and am excited to see what you find. i def struggle with sugar too so i know what you mean. but my little experiment is going pretty well so far.

    Reply

  9. Jennifer (Happiness Here)
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 09:12:21

    Be well. I don’t eat sugar often, but I recently cut out dairy, which was tough. On a totally unrelated note, I heart NYC. So jealous that you get to walk the streets of that city everyday! =)

    Reply

  10. Life of a Doctor's Wife
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 13:11:31

    I can’t wait to hear how this turns out for you… It’s definitely something I want to try.

    Reply

  11. Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:39:45

    Loved this post, Caronae – that was one beautifully-written letter!
    Good luck, girl! You can do it 🙂

    Reply

  12. Joanne
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:34:02

    Hey girl! Long time no talk! I have so so so missed you!

    I have serious sugar issues. i think I can stop after one bite…but I just can’t. It’s terrible. Can’t wait to see how you do on this challenge!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:36:20

      I wouldn’t be able to stop after one bite when confronted with your delicious baking either. 🙂 Seriously, your baked goods and desserts always look so palatable and delish!

      Reply

  13. Marina
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 00:07:09

    I have a healthy relationship with it. Sometimes I crave it more than others, but I probably have a “normal” amount everyday. I really don’t think I could do without it though… good luck, Caronae!

    Reply

  14. real-nutrition-nyc
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 02:16:48

    I think most people are having this struggle. I blame the cold winter months….7 days is kind of toughy I just oblige to my cravings but keep it to a couple of bites..best wishes!! Oh, and please come check out my new blog! (Finally started one after you and Ada!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

