Odds And Ends

Hello there!  Happy Friday night!  I have lots of little odds and ends to share with you today.

1. I have been LOVING on the short and sweet workouts lately.  A few of my favorites:

  • Levels 1 and 3 of the 30 Day Shred.  Takes about 45 minutes; pretty high intensity and a nice combo of strength and cardio.
  • 20 minutes of Yoga Core (from yogadownload.com) + one level of The Shred.
  • 10-15 minutes of abs + 3 miles on the treadmill, with 4 minutes of Tabata Intervals.
Your favorite short (but still intense) workouts?
2. I have changed my mind about homemade salad dressings and balsamic vinegar.  I used to think it was just easier to buy salad dressings, especially since I don’t make salad that often (confession: I’m lazy and hate washing and chopping that many vegetables).  But I’m starting to feel like salads are really cleansing, even in winter.  My favorite: spinach, carrots (thinly sliced), avocado, and grapefruit.  Dressing: 1 tbsp EVOO, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/2 tsp mustard, sea salt, pepper to taste.  So simple.  So many nutrients and colors!
3. If you’re wondering why I haven’t been posting pictures, it’s because I left my camera transfer cord thingy in New York (I’ve been in Canada and Michigan).  Not that anyone cares that deeply about my blog.  I just felt a need to share.
Source
4. I got my December LSAT score back.  It was a significant improvement over October, and I am now in a position where I have a good shot at getting into some top 25 law schools and a very distant chance at some top 10 schools.   I’m quite thrilled; exuberant actually.  I’m filling out my applications with surprising zeal.  I’m so excited about this next stage of my life.  It sounds cliche, I suppose.  But it’s true.  I have wanted to go to law school since middle school, and now I feel like my dreams are finally going to come true.  Well, I have to get in first, of course. 😉
5. It pays to be nice to people.  About twice a year, when I am in Michigan, I get a massage here.  It’s not super fancy, but is really high quality.  I often have the same masseuse, Carl.  I’m always really friendly and chatty with him.  I was talking about law school, and he said that once I get in, he is going to give me a free 60 minute massage.  How nice is that?!?!
6. I know what I want to do this summer.  I want to take a trip from Paris all the way to the other side of Eurasia, partially on the Trans-Siberian railway.  I would love to plan it in stages so that I get to see a lot of different places.  Ideally, it would last about a month.  The views from the train are supposed to be spectacular!  It technically starts  in London, if you want to go about it in the historic way, but I like Paris infinitely more.  So there.
Source
That’s all for tonight I suppose!  Any other college seniors out there?  What are your post-graduation plans?
9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 08:56:08

    oh! what a cool sounding trip! after i graduated college i drove to a six week dance festival in north carolina. it was the perfect way to celebrate the end of four years of hard work and delay my entrance into the “real world” for a bit. i definitely support the idea of a trip of some sort. happy planning!

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 14:32:42

    That sounds like the COOLEST trip ever. What a great idea!! And Paris is definitely a more romantic and more beautiful city than London. I fully support your decision to start there 🙂

    Reply

  3. AJ
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 15:54:18

    Congrats on the LSAT scores. The decision to use short but intense workouts is a good one. Do you feel pretty tired, sweaty etc by the time you’re done with the shorter workouts? As long as you feel like you’re working hard, it’s OK to spend less time workout out.

    Reply

  4. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 16:58:44

    Congrats on upping your LSAT score! I am pretty sure I need to retake the GRE if I want to apply to PhD programs this summer…eek!
    And that trip sounds like sooo much fun. I have always wanted to travel to Russia, especially to St. Petersburg to see the Red Square. I heard that the architecture is amazing and totally one-of-a-kind, and that the czar at the time had the designer of the buildings BLINDED so that he could never recreate it again. Not sure if that’s all true, but it sounds interesting…

    Reply

  5. julie
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:45:58

    your summer trip sounds AMAZING! paris is totally on my places to go asap list 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:40:00

    congrats on your lsat score!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

