Hello Again!

Why hello there friends!  Happy 2011!  It’s been a while, hasn’t it? 🙂

I hope you are all well!  I certainly am.  That’s not to say that I haven’t had my fair share of angst and emotions, but overall, I am happy and healthy.  Before I talk about the direction I think I want to go in with the blog, I’ll share a few life updates:

  • I finished my second to last semester of school!  It was rough at then end — I am kind of tired of Middle Eastern history — but I survived.
  • I took the LSAT again at the beginning of December.  It definitely went much better than the October one, but I still don’t know my score.  I am working on law school applications at the moment and will hopefully finish around the end of the month.
  • USB and I broke up just a few weeks ago.  It was sad — I still love him — but it was quite possibly the sweetest, most amicable break-up ever.  He is a wonderful guy and we remain friends.  I am so blessed to have had him in my life (and to still have him in my life).
  • I’ve been running about twice a week.  I have scaled my workouts wayyyyyyy back, and it is so nice not to feel like I have to spend two hours a day running or working out.  Sometimes I do the 30 Day Shred or 30 minutes of yoga or even go to a yoga studio.  I am still lifting weights once or twice a week and walking a bit.  I actually am really enjoying my low-key exercise routine at the moment!
  • Therapy has gone well.  I have realized that the reason L and I click so well is because I appreciate the balance we have  found between each of us talking and listening; her sharing personal details and letting me share.  I have figured out a lot about myself lately, I think.  USB also played a role in that, of course.  L has gone out of her way to help me feel safe and adjusted.
  • I’m with my extended family in Canada right now and my family is stressful, to say the least.  There are 27 of us and we are all completely crazy.  There is not a sane bone among us.  Nonetheless, I love my family so much.  We range in age from 5 months to 96!  I’ll go back to Michigan in a few days, and classes start the 18th in New York.
That’s all I can really think of at the moment. Any one have any life updates to share with me? My blog reading has been pretty minimal in the last two months, so fill me in!
Blog Direction
I think part of the reason I felt stressed over and constrained by the blog in November is because I don’t think I really want to be a particular type of blogger anymore.  I guess I always felt like I had to blog within a certain category, and that category was ‘health’.  I felt like a part of the Healthy Living community, but I wanted to feel more connected to mental health bloggers and even other types of bloggers; I still don’t know of many and don’t really feel like I’m part of that circle.
The truth is, I want to be part of a whole spectrum of blogging communities.  I don’t necessarily want to blog about what I eat or my exercise habits all the time.  Maybe sometimes I do, but not all the time.  Sometimes I want to blog more about depression and therapy, or writing and poetry, or baking, or running, or schoolwork, or whatever is going on in my life.  I think that fundamentally I am a writer, not a healthy living blogger.  I like the label of writer much more.  I want my blogroll to consist of the blogs that I enjoy reading, regardless of subject matter.
I’m not really sure if cross-genre blogging is looked down upon in blogland, but it’s what I want to do right now, and I am firm believer that we should do things that make us happy.  If no one reads my blog, that’s okay — I just want it to be a safe space for me, more than anything else.
I have missed all my readers and other bloggers very much!
I am looking forward to a happy, fulfilling blog future.  Here’s to a new year and a new outlook, both for myself and the blog (but I’ll have to talk about that more tomorrow, as I have a very early appointment to interview my grandfather in the morning)!
Caronae
15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michal
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 23:28:18

    Happy new year Caronae! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Melissa @ TryingToHeal
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 00:02:42

    happy new year lady! glad you’re doing well and we miss you!

    Reply

  3. bakebooks
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 00:07:37

    Just found your blog!

    I like this post – very honest. I believe that you definitely should NOT label yourself or worry about others labeling you or your blog!

    Don’t worry about it! You can be so much more than just a Healthy Living blog. I’m the same way with mine – truthfully, I just want to WRITE. Write about whatever I want! About life, trivial things, serious things, food, books, movies, passions, dreams, cute boys…;) Hah! 🙂

    God Bless.

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 07:55:26

    I think you should include whatever you want. I like the label of you as a writer, too- your blog has always done a good job of including all parts of your life, and I love that about it!! I don’t think that means you can’t be a healty living blogger though. Healthy living touches all parts of one’s life- it’s a lifestyle, not one category. Blog about what YOU want to- this is YOUR space!!

    I’m glad you’re back love!! Happy new year!

    Reply

  5. Marina
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 10:29:52

    Welcome back! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Katie
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 13:09:41

    I feel the same way about my blog. I’ve never tried to fit in with any one genre – my blog is my outlet, and if other people enjoy reading it then that’s great! But even if I never got another comment I’d still write, because it helps me. So *insert appropriate curse word* anyone who looks down on cross-genre blogging, do whatever makes you happy 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sarah L.
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 17:55:20

    Glad to hear all your updates! I admit I really, really want to start a blog but don’t feel like what I want to write fits into a specific category or blogging community so I find what you’ve written inspiring and I’m excited to see the new directions your blog will take.

    Reply

  8. Jess
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 03:21:30

    I’m glad the break up was smooth and you are doing well!

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 07:57:26

    hey there! glad to hear from you again and that the semester wrapped up nicely. i am excited to read about your 2011!

    Reply

  10. Maggie @ Say Yes to Salad
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 13:11:42

    I’m glad you’re back!

    Reply

  11. Kelly
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:19:23

    I’m glad you’re blogging again, Caronae; I’ve missed reading your writing!

    Reply

  12. eternityisjustadream
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 00:21:11

    Caronae,

    The reason that I connect with your blog above other healthy living blogs is because you write about so much more than workouts and meals. I almost never comment, but some of your posts hit so close to home for me – you could have been writing about me. Please continue writing about your feelings and your journey through life ans therapy. If you find any good mental health bloggers or any type of blog that you appreciate, please share. I am always looking for new blogs that make me think, question, or inspire. I really don’t want to see another picture of oatmeal.

    Alanna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

