Guest Post From Laura

I have a guest post for you all!  Isn’t that exciting?  I’m still buried in school work (I am currently wading through 900 pages of Ibn Khaldun) and LSAT practice, sadly.

Oh, and happy three month anniversary to me and USB!  I know it isn’t much, but it means something to me.  I have never sustained a relationship before, and have rarely been so happy.  Thank you for three months of love, kindness, respect, fun, and pushing me to step outside my comfort zone USB!

Today’s guest post is from one of my oldest friends.  We have known each other since first grade, I believe, although it could have been a year or two before that.  Basically, for at least the last 16 years!  She is on the track team at a university in Michigan, and sent me some really insightful thoughts about her training and the way it seems different from “standard” workouts.  I really appreciated this post since I have been getting into non-running workouts so much lately.

Here is Laura!

~~~~~~

When I’m reading your blog, I think of how my track team is training here at Western. For each event we train so differently–yet the runners think the throwers do not do as much work. I’m a thrower and we definitely have a different work-out than the long distance runners or the sprinters. It just makes me think how there are different types of athleticism. Yes, throwers may not run as much, may not be able to jump as high, or go for long distances, but that certainly doesn’t mean we don’t work hard. We lift heavy weights three times a week — a majority of the lift is Olympic lifts, always pushing at your threshold weight. We work on agility, plyometrics, and core strength, all on top of practicing each event’s specific technique. A thrower’s best weapon is speed and quickness in the ring. Throwers don’t need to be large–it is a misconception. All different sizes of throwers have won Olympic events and yet not one had a perfect form. Though throwers will have more muscle mass than your average jane. Why? Strength is important to heave those implements aways.

There definitely is a cathartic release when you squat twenty pounds heavier than you did last week. You make your last rep just barely and hook the bar back on the rack and get that rush of endorphins. You feel in your hips, your lower back, and hamstrings the exertion and you feel strong. In some ways, don’t laugh at me, but I feel more like a woman. Like I could keep up with the men–an equal.

It’s mentally uplifting to cheer on teammates as they break their goal in a distance when throwing–you feel so happy that they have broken that limit.

Some day I’ll run a marathon, but it will have to be after I’m done with track. Because I’m focusing on a different set of strengths right now.

~~~~~~

Thank you so much Laura!  How are you all?  I miss you so much!  I’ll be back in about two weeks!  Please update me on your lives!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 22:24:24

    Hope the LSAT went well! If you are still looking for suggestions for post topics, I’d be very interested to hear about what your study practices were like, especially as I myself am planning/hoping to take it next year.
    I liked this guest post because I had many friends on the track team when I was in college, but never knew a thrower. Neat to hear about a different sort of workout.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Dec 12, 2010 @ 22:57:30

      I will definitely think about ideas for a post on how I prepared for the test Ellie. Thanks for the suggestion, and I am glad you enjoyed Laura’s perspective!

      Reply

  2. Sarah L.
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 09:54:14

    Miss you Caronae! Hope you’re back to blogging soon. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

