See You In December

Today’s Happy Note: All your wonderful comments on the marathon!  Each one has been like a little gift in my inbox. 🙂

This post is ALL over the place.  I have a lot of random thoughts floating around, some blog-related, some not,  and I just need to get them out!  So here goes…

I am feeling pretty good by this point!  For the first 48 or so hours after the marathon my quads were super sore — I could hardly walk!  But today they feel fine, almost back to normal. My left knee is really bothering me though and something feels not quite right, so I am going to see my doctor about it tomorrow.  I have to talk about blood work and lab results and stuff too so I’ll be there anyways.  The Health Services offices are kind of my second home anyways.

My iron levels are still low and my INR is completely off so boo on that.  It seriously makes no sense: two weeks ago my level was in the normal range, now, on the same exact dosage, it’s way too high.  I thought science was supposed to be predictable.  Grrrrrr.

So: iron. I actually am not taking any supplements or eating iron-rich foods right now, while they do various tests to determine the exact source of the problem (although I think it’s pretty obvious: I am a woman of reproductive age who takes blood thinners.  Duh).

My appetite has been raging since the marathon.  I have been trying not to overeat and to just be mindful of my hunger levels and intake. I haven’t been explicitly “exercising” so much, although I did run 2.5 miles yesterday to try and loosen up my legs (it didn’t work, sadly) and today I had my easy yoga class then lifted weights for 30 minutes.  I’ll increase things slowly. I get really antsy if I don’t move around a bit anyways.

Some Thoughts on Marathoning!

I absolutely loved training for and running the New York City Marathon.  I worked hard and it payed off on a tough course.  I trained a lot– probably more than someone needs to for a first marathon in order to finish, but I am not a beginning runner and I also had a time goal.  I trained five days a week, and typically did yoga and strength once or twice a week as well.  It was, admittedly, exhausting.  In the future, I might do less speedwork and more yoga.  But overall, I think my plan worked relatively well.  I had peak weeks of 68 and 57 miles (although the 68 was sort of an accident, because I had two long runs in one week).  In the end, it feels so good to know that my hard work was all worth it.

My official time was 4:19.42, which is a 9:55 pace.  I am still sort of in shock that I ran 26.2 miles at a pace under 10 minutes per mile! A marathon is exhausting and exhilarating at the same time.  At the end I felt like I was going to collapse, but I also felt the happiest I have felt in a long time.  It’s sort of a strange duality!

At first, when I finished, I thought “that was really fun but also really crazy; I’m never doing another marathon again!” But I think I might have already changed my mind.  Four hours of intense pain isn’t really that bad, when you think about the benefits.  Even better is the feeling of accomplishment.  I want that feeling again.  I am already looking up marathons in spring!

I loved doing the marathon, but training for it was a complete and total time-suck.  I did not have as much time to focus on my studies as I wanted, and quite frankly, if I wasn’t running, I was usually eating or mentally exhausted — not studying.  I have some studying to catch up on and a veritable mountain of LSAT studying to get through before December 11th.  I took the October test and did well above average, but not exceptional.  In order to get into the law schools I am interested in, I need to significantly raise my scores.  I have a (very expensive) tutor, a mountain of practice tests, and books about strategies up the wazoo.  I have been trying really hard to blog every other day or so; I love it, it is a good outlet, and I love having so many wonderful blogging friends.  But with that said, it does take up time too.  I am going to take an extended break until the December 11th test. [Edited to Add: The test is  indeed December 11th.  I made a mistake the first time I posted this!]

Hopefully this will help me to reset some priorities, figure out my goals, have time for studying and LSAT review, and give me a break from some of the craziness that is happening in my life right now.  And I will come back a better, more dedicated, fun blogger!

By no means am I stopping blogging!  I just need to take some time off while I get through the bulk of the rest of the semester and this LSAT test.  I have big dreams for the next year (or three, wink wink) of my life, and a little work now will pay off a lot later.

I might have some guest posts between now and then — if anyone wants to do a guest post about anything related to mental health, physical health, running, eating, or whatever, let me know (email me at caronaeh [at] gmail.com)! I am also trying to talk my parents into writing a guest post.  I know it sounds boring, but they are medical professionals, and I think that the world of health blogs is, ironically, sorely lacking in perspectives from actual health professionals.  My dad might be writing about coconut oil (he thinks it’s bad; I think it’s good).

I warned you that this post was all over the place.  Hopefully I’ll be more organized when I come back from my break!  I don’t think I will be reading blogs, but we’ll see.  I am going to miss you all so much!  Feel free to email me — I’ll definitely still be checking my email!

Happy Thanksgiving!  See you in December!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sophia
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 00:31:18

    Wow, girl!!! Good for you!! That is a really good time on your marathon!!!

    Sounds like you’ve got lots in your hands….have a well-deserved break, check in from time to time so I know you’re still alive, and…be at peace, my dear! You’ll rock the LSATs.

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 08:34:03

    Girl, I completely understand the need for a break! One of the biggest reasons I blog is because I’m completely bored by school and don’t want to use my major in my career. YOU, on the other hand, have AMAZING goals and should absolutely give them the attention they deserve. Good luck studying and we’ll see you on the 4th!! Woo!!

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 12:46:37

    happy break woman! i completely understand. this time is always such a crap shoot with homework and school projects. i should be writting a paper right now but am chosing to blog read instead. sigh!

    enjoy life and see you in december!

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 07:00:45

    Marathon training can definitely be a time suck but I don’t think it NEEDS to be. When I trained last year, I only ran three days a week and did minor cross training on the other days…and I turned out okay. My knees just couldn’t handle more running and that was really that.

    Good luck with studying and getting through this next month! I will miss your posts SEVERELY but I totally understand. If you ever want to go for a study break, let me know!

    Reply

  5. A Sparkle A Day
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 11:48:23

    awww, enjoy your break and see you in December.
    will miss you!

    Reply

  6. Melissa @ TryingToHeal
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 12:11:39

    omg that is an absolutely awesome pace for the marathon! i am envious! i hope mine goes as well as yours!!!

    and i would love to see guest posts from med professionals! i think many people kinda just take the word of bloggers which isn’t bad, but not the truth all at the same time, ya know? I could do a guest post if you want too, but give me an idea of what you’d want! maybe i can help!!

    Reply

  7. Hayley @ Breath of Fire
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 16:57:33

    HUGE CONGRATS on your marathon! Wow wow wow so, so amazing. See ya soon!

    Reply

  8. Maura
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:12:59

    4:19? Holy Mother! Big congrats to you.

    Reply

  9. Shannon [Tropical Eats]
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:30:07

    you ran the marathon?!?! that is so awesome! major congrats girly.

    enjoy this rest and goodluck studying for the lsat! glad i met you the other day 🙂

    Reply

  10. rebecca lustig
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 20:41:18

    it’s almost december 🙂

    hope this break has been going wel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

