Birthday/Marathon Weekend

Today’s Happy Note: Cake with friends.  That’s what birthdays are all about.  I had a large slice of Cookies n’ Cream from Make My Cake with six of my closest friends and USB.

I will admit, I am nervous for the marathon.  Scared, excited, panicky.  But I know I can do this.  I have trained so hard for this.  So what if it takes me five hours.  I am ready.

Yoga and abs for fifteen minutes on Thursday, three and a half easy miles yesterday, and two miles today.  My legs felt nice and light today.  Let’s hope they stay that way!

Okay, got that off my chest.  Now let’s have some fun!

Expo!

Best brunch ever.  I treated myself to it this morning (I turned 21 today): scrambled eggs and a wheat waffle with maple syrup, bananas, peanut butter, and bacon.  Seriously, an amazing combo.

A wee little spot of bad news.  I found out the results of my blood tests yesterday — I had a lot of tests done.  One major problem: I’m a bit anemic.  Nowhere near enough iron in my blood, and my cells are shrinking.  Uck.  It will take months to build my iron stores back up.  I am taking iron pills now, so hopefully I’ll feel less weak and tired during the race.  Eek!

Mom.

And me.  At the finish line.  That I will hopefully cross tomorrow.

And there was cake.

With friends.

In a few hours I will be up, heading South to Staten Island.  One of the biggest days of my life.  And I’m terribly nervous — more nervous than  I thought I would be, actually.  Hopefully I’ll be able to manage it.  I’ve come a long way since being in the hospital in July and running 12 minute miles in August!

If you’re running, good luck!  If you’re spectating, I can’t wait to see you!  I will probably have my name in tape on my shirt.

Goodnight friends!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. It All Changes
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:36:55

    You will do amazing! Put that hard work to good use 🙂

    Reply

  2. Fit Chick in the City
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:41:09

    Good luck and enjoy it as much as possible!

    Reply

  3. Erin
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:43:23

    Wow, what a packed weekend! Have a fun and safe race — can’t wait to read all about it! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Dori
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 21:44:34

    Good luck!!! I know you will cross that finish line! I volunteered at the expo today.

    I used to be borderline anemic, and it corrected itself when I became vegetarian. Strange I know, but thought I should share.

    Reply

  5. Michele @ Healthy Cultivations
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 08:05:05

    I am INTENSELY excited for you! If there could only be one thing on my Bucket List, it would be to run the NYC Marathon.

    Reply

  6. Ilana
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 08:25:42

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Jess
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 11:33:41

    Happy birthday and good luck! you can do it!

    Reply

  8. Maggie @ Say Yes to Salad
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 11:43:23

    Good luck! See you at the end!!

    Reply

  9. Cindy
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 12:17:46

    Happy Birthday and GOOOOD LUCK

    I’m thinking about you!

    sending you all my good juju my friend

    Reply

  10. rebecca lustig
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 17:31:29

    BEST OF LUCK pretty girl!

    Reply

  11. Vicky @ eat live spin
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 17:54:47

    I hope it went well!!!!! Happy Birthday! Is the infamous USB in your birthday picture??

    Reply

    • caronae
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 18:05:02

      Thank you everyone for the good luck and birthday wishes! Race went well. I will do a post tonight, hopefully! And no, USB is not in that picture. He took it. 🙂

      Reply

  12. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 18:20:56

    Happy belated birthday love!! I’m glad you had fun celebrating with your friends and mom. Running the NYC marathon is such an amazing way to commemorate your 21st birthday- you’ll remember it forever!! Can’t wait to hear about how it went love!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

