Protein+Fat=Happy Caronae

Today’s Happy Note: Crossing things off my to do list.  I still have a lot to get done before this insane weekend, but I’m getting there. 🙂

PS — Does anyone else add things to their to-do list that you have already done, just so you can experience the joy of crossing it out?

Marathon Training: Yesterday I did four and a half miles, with an easy mile and a half warm-up, 4x (400 fast/400 easy), and a mile cool down.  It wasn’t terrible, but I just felt weak.  Today, even more so. I feel lightheaded,blurry vision, etc. No idea what is going on, but I’ll be sure to monitor things and be careful.

I had my super easy yoga class today. We literally sat on chairs half the time and stretched.  I’m taking it very easy this week, so this was perfectly acceptable.

I never told you about my endocrine visit on Monday! The doctor was extremely nice and extremely knowledgeable.  She also seemed obscenely young (early thirties?) for a faculty practitioner (meaning she is a professor) which made me a bit nervous.  She was very thorough.  We talked about everything — diet, exercise, hormones, habits, genetics, blood sugar, endocrine/metabolic systems.  She is running a really broad panel of tests to see if there is something significantly wrong.  If nothing is found, then the “answer” is simply going to be that I have a little bit of a weird metabolic/hormonal system.

I am not freaking out as much as I was before though because of two things:

1. She basically told me that my weight “problem” actually isn’t a problem.  Because of my healthy diet and exercise choices, being a few pounds over the recommended weight for my height isn’t a big deal.  She was actually really soothing/comforting in this regard.

2. I have been making a conscious effort to eat more fat and protein lately and have lost seven pounds.  My period just ended, so some of this might be hormonal/water weight.  But still, seven pounds is a good chunk of my overall body weight.  I am hoping that continuing this eating pattern will help me lose a few more pounds.  But if not, I am not going to freak out.

I promise. 🙂

So what have I been eating of late?

One carb I REFUSE to get rid of is oats (above: 1/4 C with 1/2 serving vanilla protein powder, 1 C vanilla soymilk, chopped apple, and walnuts).  Other than that, I am not eating too many grains.  And I am not giving up carbs entirely either.  I kind of love them. 😉  I’m just making sure to reduce them and then pair them with more fat and protein.

One trap I have fallen into in the past is eating more protein without reducing carbs.  That just results in more overall calories, which isn’t going to help anybody.  Unless you are trying to gain weight, obviously.

Other eats:

Squash “pizza.”  In reality this was actually a squash bowl stuffed with veggies, ground beef, and cheese.  I cut it into little slices and ate it like a pizza though, which made it 10x more fun.

Really random lunch with two mini corn tortillas (which aren’t that good; I wanted wraps and thought these would be good since they were smaller, but they are dry), almond butter, carrots, and a protein cake (a la April) made with peanut flour and cocoa powder with PB.

Dinner was full of fat, veggies, and protein.   Exactly how I like it!  I used a base of pumpkin puree, topped that with ground beef/mushrooms/carrots and brussel sprouts/broccoli cooked in EVOO.  Enough to feed one small army OR one hungry Caronae.

I have heard a lot of different research about diets higher in proteins/fats.  Some of what I have seen has indicated that a diet high in protein/fat, even of the saturated variety (think whole milk, meat, butter) is not harmful.  I tend to agree with this with the caveat that people have very different metabolic/digestive systems with very different needs (I talked about my wants and needs with  my diet in Monday’s post).  I think that it isn’t animal fat or protein that’s killing us/making us obese, but processed crap full of chemicals, like candy bars and pop and snack foods.

I think that there is evidence on both sides of the spectrum, at the moment.  In my opinion, this just furthers my conclusion that different people are suited to different diets.

On the horizon the next few days: CRAZY INSANELY BUSY Caronae.  I promise to post before the marathon though.  Is anyone interested in tracking me/coming out to cheer and wants to know my number?

If so, email me!  I know a few bloggies have already mentioned that they would like to know, but I have lost track.  So please leave a comment/email me and I will let you know.

T-4 days!  Ahhhhhh!!!!!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sophia Lee
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 22:29:14

    Hahaha! I do that too. I add the most random things to my “to-do” list just to be able to check them off. It’s that feeling of satisfaction!

    I also disagree with the phobia for animal fats and dairy. Generally, people just have a very processed diet and sedentary lifestyle. I think carbs is necessary though. About 70% of my diet is mainly carbs. But I suppose each body processes it in different ways.

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 07:24:11

    You must be so stoked for the marathon! Yay!!

    I understand where you’re coming from with the protein because I’m the same way with carbs. Throw protein into the mix and I’m not as satisfied, which ends in me eating way more. Each person has their own way of doing stuff!!

    And I totally write things on my to-do list just to check them off too 🙂

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 11:31:06

    oh girl…you are not the only one who is happy because of fat and protein.

    I am full. Energized and feel GREAT.
    we are all not created equal and you are so right. we each need to find what works for us.

    oh my gosh I would SO track you and cheer you on. can you send me a plane ticket to NY????

    dang.
    I keep trying!
    good luck…get some rest first.

    I’m having eggs and avocado for breakfast! how bout you?

    Reply

    • caronae
      Nov 04, 2010 @ 12:26:27

      Mmmm, eggs and avocado sounds so good! Unfortunately I am out of both. 😦 I had 2% Fage greek yogurt with pumpkin, penaut flour, and peanut butter. Divine!

      I’m sending you an email with my number — you can still track me online!

      Reply

  4. rebecca lustig
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 22:33:13

    lets be serious, who doesnt love the thrill and satisfaction of crossing htings off a to do list?!

    Reply

  5. Laura VV
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 01:19:29

    You are right about the processed chemicals–I think it was Princeton that studied the effects High fructose corn syrup had on rats versus what normal table sugar does. They found the rats feeding on high fructose had higher weight gain than those that fed on table sugar with a higher concentration.

    You are an athlete, you eat healthy, and you have kick-ass running work-out—please accept how your body wants to be

    Good luck in the Marathon!!

    Reply

  6. alanna
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 02:30:49

    I’m volunteeting at the Aid Station at mile 20 (or maybe 21?). I’d love to scream your name and say hi!

    PS – I also mean to respond to so many of your posts. More so than most bloggers I follow, your words ring true, but I’m kind of shy and not a great writer and I never get to it. If I post a comment on an older blog post of your, are you notified?

    Reply

  7. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 15:36:36

    I wish I lived close enough to come and cheer for you but I’ll have to do it virtually 🙂

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 08:28:41

    so i calculate things correctly, tomorrow should be marathon day. whoot! good luck woman!

    and i totally agree, animal fats are not making people fat. processed stuff is far more harmful in my opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

