Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Walnut Bread

Today’s Happy Note: Baking.  I love baking.  Never fails to make me feel better.

Marathon Training: I did my yoga class and 4.5 miles with strides on Wednesday.  Yesterday I started the 30 Day Shred and then USB got here so I didn’t finish.  Today I did 20 minutes of hip-opening yoga before work, and 6.5miles after work.

For the first time in a long time my legs felt great!  It felt like I was gliding along.  I felt light but also strong.  Win.  I did 6×400, two per mile for miles two, three, and four.  It was spectacular!

I am starting to think that all of my hard training may have paid off!  Hopefully the rest of taper keeps going this smoothly.

And now, a recipe!  It’s been a while since I have come up with anything.  And to be honest, I didn’t exactly create this myself.  It comes from my Uncle John!  So, thank you, Uncle John!  It’s in our family cookbook.  It’s really cool!  It has pictures of my grandparents, an extended family tree, and recipes from everyone!

Caronae’s Pumpkin Walnut Chocolate Chip Bread

Adapted from John’s Banana Nut Bread

  • 1.25 C Wheat Flour
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 1 C Oats
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 C pureed Pumpkin
  • 1/3 C melted Butter/Earth Balance
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 C Milk/Soy Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 C chopped Walnuts
Mix all dry ingredients together.  Add in wet ingredients.  Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake it all at 350 for about 50 minutes.  Let cool before removing from pan.
It’s pretty!  Look!
I shall be back with deeper thoughts tomorrow!
Any exciting weekend plans? I plan on a trip to the farmer’s market, some pumpkin carving, and lots of friend time!
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 08:51:48

    your bread looks super yummy! i love the idea of a family cookbook too. i would love to make something like that for my family. is yours in a binder or professionally bound or….?!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 08:56:22

      It’s not really professionally bound. It’s in a spiral binding — you know those little black twisty thingies? I’ll take a picture of it and post it tomorrow!

      Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 13:35:46

    That’s really cool that you have a family cookbook!! Haha I feel like ours would be full of blue-frosted cupcakes and mini hot dogs. My mom’s side is classy like that. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Reply

  3. Alexia@ Dimple SnatcherA
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 23:32:33

    nope, no exciting plans except catching up on sleep, laundry, etc.
    glad training is going well 🙂

    Reply

  4. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 05:53:15

    Your bread looks very good, I’m not a fan of baking but for some reason I liked baking banana (which turned out as muffins) a while a go 🙂

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 14:04:39

    I loved your comment on my blog because baking is totally the only thing that relieves me from school stress as well! I’m so excited for you for this weekend! The race runs right my apartment and I’ll be there cheering! I’m going to sign up to have your times delivered to my phone. So I can keep tabs on you 😛 THe pumpkin bread looks delicious. I need to buy more chocolate chips and then I will definitely be trying this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

