Middle of The Week Blues

Today’s Happy Note: Free food.  Seriously, what is better in this world than free food?  Okay, I will admit that I am kind of a free food snob — I won’t eat anything that looks suspicious, greasy, etc.   But still.  There are a lot of options.  Today alone I garnered a piece of pineapple cake, hors d’oeuvres, and a fudgy brownie.  I am a free food expert.

Ooof.  I am suffering from those middle-of-the-week blues.  I can’t seem to get in gear.  My brain feels foggy.  My body feels tired.  For some odd reason (warning: sarcasm ahead), I have no interest in wading through 800+ pages of Ibn Khaldun…

But enough of my complaining!  When I am feeling down or overwhelmed, I remember how many good things I have going for me. Here are a few:

  • I have a pantry and a fridge stocked with delicious, wholesome foods.   Right now I am loving TJs sesame honey cashews, frozen blueberries, and fresh mozzarella (not all together though!).
  • I got an A on the first paper of the semester that I have gotten back.  I never get A’s on papers, so I was super thrilled about this.
  • My laundry is clean.
  • Lovely fall weather.
  • I am going to be running a very exciting marathon in less than two weeks.  I have two legs that do amazing things!
  • I have kind, sweet friends and a loving, thoughtful boyfriend.
  • I have an awesome, if a little bit crazy, family.  My mama might be coming to visit me for my birthday/marathon weekend (I turn 21 on Saturday November 6th and run the ING NYC Marathon on Sunday November 7th)!
  • I’m resilient!
  • I write well.  I’m working on an essay right now about the color red.  The entire thing consists of different ways of saying “red”.
  • I have a lovely long weekend to look forward to, full of baking and friends and USB and five whole days of no school.
Much better. 🙂
Marathon Training: Yesterday as a rest/cross training day, as Mondays always are.  I was too antsy to rest, so I did Level 1 of the 30 Day shred in the evening followed by 10 minutes of kettlebell swings and yoga.  Easy peasy 30 minute workout.  I love reminding myself that sometimes, it is so not necessary to spend hours working out.  Today I did 7.5 miles: 2 warm-up, 4 Tempo, 1.5 cool-down. The Tempo part went really well, and I felt like I was flying.  Afterwards I felt dead though.  The cool-down was pretty much a joke.  I looked like a dying animal staggering home.  Meh.
It’s taper, and weird things happen during tapers, so I’m not going to worry about it.
Food time!
I have been craving a ton of snacky food lately — I’d rather have a handful of nuts or yogurt with pumpkin and blueberries than real meals.  Sometimes I wonder if I should try eating less frequent, bigger meals, instead of constantly being snacky all day.  But at the same time, I like being snacky: it means I get to eat a wider variety of delicious things more frequently!
Hmmm,  decisions, decisions.
I don’t really plan on doing any fooling around with my diet until after the marathon, so I have a week or two to think things over.  I’m seeing endocrine soon (FINALLY) and can’t wait. I don’t like being poked and having tests done and whatnot, but it will be worth it to figure out what’s going on!
I know I promised a post about the way I eat last week.  Stay tuned, I promise it’s coming this week!
Oh, and the jeans I mentioned the other day.  I figured I should share (by the way, I am morally opposed to mirror pictures and would never take one outside of the context of trying to show you guys what something looks like when no one else is around to take the picture.  I hope you will forgive me):
They’re super comfy and make me feel confident.  A winning purchase, in my book.
Anything you want to complain about?  Middle of the week got you down? Let me hear it!
What do you have going for you?  How do you make yourself feel better when you’re feeling blah?
14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie @ Say Yes to Salad
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 23:48:26

    You look hot! I’m serious. You do. You have a beautiful body.

    I am going to be handing out water at the 25th mile btw 🙂

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 27, 2010 @ 00:14:20

      Wow, thank you to both of you! I do admit, I like them quite a lot. 🙂

      Seeing you at the 25th mile is going to be AMAZING Maggie — seriously, you have no idea. It’s going to be a lifesaver!

      Reply

  2. Jess
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 00:03:59

    You look awesome in those jeans!

    Reply

  3. Sahra
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 02:46:37

    What’s this about a crazy family?! I was with shasha and my mom this week and hysterical with hearing the saga of the new fridge and mj and bj’s house. And a boyfriend? How come no one tells me anything? Well cuz, you look great and I am amazed with your marathoning and passion for food- it’s great. Cyrus sends you a big smile.
    Xxxx

    Reply

  4. Erin
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 06:28:27

    There’s nothing better than free food! It’s especially fun when it’s a product you wouldn’t normally buy but have wanted to try. I was able to try a couple of Amazing Grass and other more expensive products at a vegetarian festival last month, which was neat.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 07:36:07

    i have been in a blah state this week too. i think the fun newness of school and the job have worn off a bit but the excitement of the holidays isnt quite here yet. must truck on and get through the slump…..

    anyway, eating candy corn has been making me quite happy lately!

    Reply

  6. Cindy
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 10:50:43

    YAY for jeans that make you feel like a million bucks…and YAY for beautiful CURVES! Rock it lady!!!

    and Maggie at mile 25 too???

    I think your week is turning up!
    I am a zombie. baby is not sleeping. I am not eating enough carbs to fuel a gnat and I am starting to really feel SLUGGISH. hehe

    I am going home early today and taking a nap (well, if the baby lets me)

    The week is on the downward turn and I am totally in awe that you are running a marathon. I can’t even imagine getting that far but you give me hope!!!

    Happy Wednesday

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 27, 2010 @ 11:05:00

      To be honest, I am not sure if I would be able to run a marathon if I had a family. It is very time-consuming. I am glad I am doing it now, at 20, instead of in 10 years. My point is that you are a mom, wife, and runner — you have way more commitments than me! Don’t beat yourself up — you are doing AWESOME!

      Reply

  7. Laura VV
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 21:22:12

    Yes—I don’t like how my biochemistry teacher teaches! He is a nice person, but not very efficient! We spent 15min in class today (the entire class is only 50min long) talking about whether we should have our test be this friday or this monday! He put it to a vote, twice! and both times it came out majority for monday. BUT the people who wanted it friday said “wah, i already have another test on monday!” so he was okay, friday it is. But what about those who already have an exam this friday?!!?!? ARG!

    Thanks for giving that chance to share. It really isn’t that big of a deal. I just didn’t like how he went back and forth. oh–yay comf jeans! I found a pair I like but I’m wearing them out too fast and will now have to look for another.

    What makes me feel better? crunching on tasty celery. 😀

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 27, 2010 @ 22:01:12

      Haha, seriously, venting is so healthy. Always makes me feel better. 🙂

      And celery never makes me feel better because I hate it getting stuck in my teeth!

      Reply

  8. mymulticolouredlife
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 07:15:16

    I’ve always thought that you look lovely, and I’m actually quite taken with your green top in that picture too 🙂

    When I’m feeling blah I find doing something incredibly silly helps! It’s been a while since I smashed a plate….hehe

    Sarah x

    Reply

  9. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 10:45:50

    I love free food! it’s the best, especially if it’s really good 🙂

    My weekend is full of relaxing, a bit of hot yoga and dining out with bf. Lovely!

    Enjoy your weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

