Veinte Tres

Today’s Happy Note: Completing the third longest run of my life!

(photo credit goes to Ada)

So. Today. (Hint: “Veinte Tres” means 23 in Spanish):

I have eaten multiple pumpkin smoothies.

I have spent most of the day in bed (but wait!  Some of it was productive because I was cuddling with USB!)

My hips and ilio sacrum are not happy with me.

I have a headache.  And I have to pee.

BUT most importantly I FINISHED.  More accurately, WE finished.   Yup, I had a special friend to do this run with!

Ada!!!!!!

Seriously, this run would not have happened (or I would have wimped out by mile ten) without the lovely Miss Ada. She was a lifesaver.  I always forget how nice it is to run with someone.  We chatted, motivated each other, and just generally collaborated.  It was spectacular!  She even knew a really fun route that I have never done before: we went down the West Side of Manhattan, along the Hudson, around South Street Seaport, back up the East Side to the Brooklyn Bridge.  We then crossed the Brooklyn Bridge into Brooklyn then came right back into Manhattan on the Manhattan Bridge (such creative names, really genius).  Then we continued up the East River to the Williamsburg, crossed that into Brooklyn and continued North in Brooklyn towards the Pulaski Bridge.  We crossed the Pulaski into Queens, ran to the Queensboro Bridge, and made it back into Manhattan.  We then followed E 61 street to Central Park and headed Northwest to West 72nd.  We ended at 72 and Broadway.

Total: 23 miles.

Time: About 4.5 hours (we did a few breaks)

That description probably makes no sense if you don’t live in NYC.  You can get a rough idea of the layout of the bridges and the boroughs from this map:

One of the best things about this run was that a lot of it followed the route for the NYC marathon (which is officially less than three weeks away!!!!).  So now I feel like I have more of an idea of what to expect in the outer Boroughs.  Yay!

Overall, I was really happy with this run.  I had already run 46 miles this week so my legs were pretty tired (I ended up with 69 miles — easily the highest weekly mileage of my life).  And you know what?  They still performed.  They still worked.  They were sore in some parts and creaky in others, but they carried me through.  Thank you, legs.

The last five or so miles were tough, but not undoable.  They could have been much, much worse.  I am right on track to make my goal of covering the whole 26.2 in just under 4:30.  🙂

I think I did a good job listening to my body in terms of food today.  I ate what I wanted, when I wanted.  And most of it was pretty clean, delicious, simple food.  Some of today’s epic eats (FYI: this is most definitely not everything I ate!):

I ate toast with PB and banana (I have discovered I can eat a small amount of PB before running) before starting.  I ate one package of shot blocks during the run and two diluted gatorades (bought one during the run).

I find myself insanely thirsty during long runs — like, I drink five or six bottles of water thirsty. Is this weird?

This cheddar and spinach panini was FREE.  And it was tasty.  A winning snack, in my book.

Many of these (leftover cookies!) were consumed.

I made a delicious dinner for USB and I.  The above was for both of us.  I am very poor and only own one plate.  I know, sad.

I cooked salmon with peanut/maple/ginger sauce, roasted cauliflower, and steamed delicata squash topped with cinnamon and avocado.  It was all really good but I only wanted a few bites — most of the avocado, some cauliflower, some salmon.  I have leftovers.

USB is 29 years old and has NO idea how to cook.  It’s kind of cute, actually.  I’m teaching him.  He is a very good learner and is quite useful in the kitchen!

I saved room for dessert a few hours later though.  This was a pumpkin/peanut butter/banana smoothie topped with more PB, chocolate chips, and a crumbled cookie.  It was epic.  That is all.

Lots of exciting things on the horizon this week:

-How I Eat Post

-Therapy Thursday

-Something involving bacon, I suspect (I have been craving it obsessively lately)

School is pretty light this week, which will be a nice break.

See you all tomorrow night!  Thanks for being in my life, bloggies. 🙂

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 00:50:48

    Congrats! That’s awesome. I can’t even imagine doing 23 miles!

    Reply

  2. Ada
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 05:37:08

    Thank you sooo much for running with me yesterday, it was such a blast!!!! Judging from yesterday, you are totally gunna rock the marathon:) I hope that Columbia ends up travelling to the start as a group so we can go together.

    I hope you enjoyed your pumpkin jamba juice and time with USB!
    Also, feel free to take any of those bridge pics from my blog, I didn’t send them to you because they were so crummy lol.

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 07:25:47

    Congrats on the 23 miles!! That seems so freaking FAR- you should be proud of yourself!!

    I love that the two of you ate from the same plate. I steal so much food from Mike that we might as well…though I don’t think one plate would be sufficient for all his meat and all my veggies, haha.

    Hope you have a wonderful Monday!

    Reply

  4. Kyle
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 10:43:01

    Maybe I’m a douche but…wouldn’t it be veintitrés? ❤ 😀

    Reply

  5. A Sparkle A Day
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 10:45:10

    thank you legs indeed!
    that is an INSANE amount of milage. I was marveling at my 10 miles this week.

    gosh I have a long way to go.

    and I was laughing at your description of your run…sounds romantic.

    I ran around the mall.

    yes…I have a long way to go!

    and you look so relaxed in your picture. unless that was like mile 2…I am totally impressed! (okay I am impressed anyways)

    Viente tres…OYE
    I skipped the viente!
    Happy Monday!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 18, 2010 @ 10:49:46

      Hmmm, I think that it was taken around mile 14-16 maybe? And the only reason I look relaxed is because I wasn’t expecting the picture. I think I’m actually gritting my teeth, trying to make it up that hill, lol. I was NOT relaxed!

      Reply

  6. ~Jessica Zara~
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 11:46:14

    Wow! Congrats on the amazing run. I’ve never run with another person myself, but I’d imagine if you’re a similar pace and friends anyway it makes the miles fly by 😀

    You’re going to rock your marathon, I know it!

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 12:39:50

    What a feat! I could not imagine running 23 miles. Way to go. 🙂

    Reply

  8. mymulticolouredlife
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 12:53:26

    WELL DONE!!!

    xxx

    Reply

  9. Joanne
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 16:21:10

    Woohoo congrats chica! 23 miles is SUPER long! I never went more than 20 when I was training. Using the bridges during long runs is such a great idea. I’ve done brooklyn and Manhattan before but I’ll have to add on those other ones that you mentioned.

    And serious WAY TO GO for listening to your body. And cooking that awesome dinner for you and USB. I’m impressed.

    I live right by where the marathon goes on the UES. If you want someone to run with you for a bit on Marathon day then let me know! I would be more than happy to jump in!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Oct 18, 2010 @ 17:44:00

      Haha, I think that it’s illegal to have non-marathon runners run with you on the course. I’ll definitely send you my tracking info so you can watch me run by and cheer if you want!

      Reply

  10. marathonmaiden
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 17:31:58

    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! so awesome with the 23! you look so good in that picture. seriously. i don’t even look that good when i’m posing hahah. major congrats. way cool that you got to run along the course. you’re totally going to be ready for this 🙂

    thanks for stopping by my blog too 🙂

    Reply

  11. Kate
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 08:00:05

    congrats on your long run! woooohoooo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

