Long Run Eats

Today’s Happy Note: Fall weather.  I may have already said this.  But it’s that awesome that I get to say it again.  I love the colors, the temperatures, the wind, and the leaves.

Hello friends!  Happy Sunday evening!  I should be reading for school.  Confession: I have not done one single ounce of schoolwork all weekend.  Nada.  I only have yoga and one “real” class tomorrow, but it’s in the evening, so I have all afternoon to study, right?  Right? 😉

I just finished watching a very moving video of HLS session on the impact of reading food/fitness blogs, led by Caitlin (of Healthy Tipping Point) and Gena (of Choosing Raw).  You can watch it here. I highly recommend it.  It made me think about what I get out of blogging and reading blogs and existing in this little sphere we call the healthy living blogging community.  It sort of cemented some thoughts that have already been floating around in my head:

  • The way that I eat and the way that I move is something unique to me.  I cannot compare myself to other bloggers (or celebrities or friends or whoever) in this regard because eating and exercising are endeavors that will be the same for no two people.  I will not be ashamed if I eat more than another blogger (or less).  If I eat more protein or more carbs.  If I eat more scones and muffins (I’m pretty sure I could trump almost any blogger on this one).  I will not be ashamed if I practice yoga less.  I will not be ashamed that I have struggled with depression for many years, or that I go to therapy.  In fact, I freely admit that I really enjoy therapy.  Basically, I will not be ashamed for being me in the only way I know how.
  • I have decided that I really enjoy having a “smaller” blog.  Less pressure, more fun and games and friends.
  • I have always been a little bit unsure of my blog’s content.  Sometimes I share stories/memories or other forms of writing.  Sometimes recipes.  Sometimes food pictures or running tales.  And sometimes I talk about a moment in which I really struggled with my mental health — in which my anxiety or depression or sadness took over.  This happened just last night, in fact.  I almost allowed the loneliness to take over, but I stopped it in its tracks by going for a run.  My point is, I have a lot of content.  I understand that the point of a blog is supposed to be focused, but I think that, in its own way, my blog is very focused.  I have come to realize that when I talk about my social life or share thoughts on therapy or describe what is working in my diet — all of this is related.  All of this comes together to form the bigger picture of “Caronae’s Health.”

Onto today’s long run!

It was twelve miles and took me a little over two hours.  It was decent, certainly better than the runs of weeks past.  I am still having the nagging pain in my back left hip, which is slightly worrisome.  It actually feels worse when I try to stretch it out?  I definitely had stretches in the run where I was able to speed up to a 9:00 mile pace or so, which was nice.  I did not feel nearly as dead as usual.  Overall, a success.

I signed up for a half-marathon next weekend on a whim a few days ago.  It’s called Grete’s Great Gallop and is entirely in Central Park.  That was a nice way of saying the course is going to be really boring, and hilly too.  My long runs are normally on Sundays, and next weekend was supposed to be 18 miles, so I’ll have to add in a few miles before or after.  But on the whole, I think it will be nice to have a “race” in this training cycle.  I say “race” because I will not be going all out.  My goal is actually going to be to maintain just under Marathon Goal Pace (which means that I would like to run the race at a 9:30-10:00 mile pace).

Enough running talk!  Onto food.  This is everything I have had thus far today, minus about two unpictured spoonfuls of crunchy PB.  I am doing this not for anyone else to compare but because it’s useful for me to keep track of what I have had on a long run day and see if it is enough and see if there are things that aren’t working. 🙂

Bad picture, but it’s a banana smothered in PB, eaten pre-run.

This was one of the best post-long run brunches I have ever had, because it was exactly what I wanted.  A glass of icy pear cider (amazing!!!!), pile of green grapes, and a warm chocolate chip scone with more PB.  Can you tell that PB and I are friends?

Gabriela and I went to Levain in the late afternoon.  We had delicious cookies and a lovely chat session!  We both agreed that these were the softest, thickest, most satisfying cookies we had ever eaten.  I bought one for USB for later.  It’s a surprise! 🙂

Thank you for the lovely afternoon Gabriela!

Dinner was a tasty sir-fry of onion, sweet potato, broccoli, tofu, salt and pepper, ginger, and TJ’s spicy peanut vinaigrette.  This was a really good combo!  I had some carrot ginger soup with a dollop of plain 2% greek yogurt on the side.  I have decided that I officially like stir-fries more than salads, fyi.

Might have some dark chocolate or cocoa or tea or an apple later on.  We shall see. 🙂

I actually don’t tend to eat a massive amount on long run days just because I often don’t have an appetite or don’t have the time.  I’ll probably eat more tomorrow, I suspect.

Fun blog announcement: I bought the domain name caronae.com yesterday!  You won’t find much of anything there just yet, but I am anticipating a switch-over to my own domain soon!  I’ll still be wordpress-hosted (it’s very convenient), but will have an easier URL.  I was rpetty excited that I could get my first name as my site.  How many other people can say that?  Hehe.

Goodnight friends!  I hope you all have a most wonderful week!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. It All Changes
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 22:23:33

    Yeah for just being you. I love that your url will be your name. Hello GOOGLE!

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 01:02:00

    i love your insights…smaller blog? enjoy!
    being true to your meals and moves and what you do and who you are? beyond wonderful..yes, awesome!

    your long run, way to go!

    meeting up with Gabriela? how fun and i have wanted to meet her, meet both of you, for as long as Ive known you 🙂 Both of you are amazing, intelligent, strong wonderful ladies!!!

    🙂

    Reply

  3. Ada
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 06:43:48

    That’s so funny, I live right around Levain Bakery. The owners are friends of mine and are super awesome triathletes. Those cookies are seriously the best things ever! I’m glad you got to enjoy one:)

    Reply

  4. Megan
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 08:44:29

    Just came across your blog! I’m also in college and love reading about other healthy college students. 🙂
    I look forward to reading more!!

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 15:04:49

    I loved all the introspection in this post. I think there’s no right or wrong way to blog. You should just do whatever makes you happy and the rest will take care of itself. I love coming here, the way it is, if that counts for anything.

    Sigh. I want to go to Levain. Badly. And eat mass amounts of PB. Constantly.

    Reply

  6. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 15:28:21

    I often feel the same way about my blog: it’s such a mish-mash of food, psychology, random musings, art and exercise. I often wonder about separating the elements into more than one blog but I suppose instead of feeling directionless I should accept that the blog is ‘me’ on a page. I think I’m just not okay with that because I’m not okay with the concept of ‘me’ all round 😉

    Wow, my long run eats are about double that, if not more! It’s so strange how some people’s appetites are knocked out by long runs and others revved up…or some people like me just want the excuse to eat extra food 😛

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 17:33:46

    I loved our little chat session too!! And getting to know you better 🙂 I’m still thinking about that cookie- thank you so much for that introduction!

    Love caronae.com. I never even thought to use my first name as my domain, but it’s definitely easy to remember!

    Reply

  8. Melissa @ TryingToHeal
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 19:34:29

    i too think having a smaller blog is a nice thing too, as it helps me get closer with my readers regarding my content.

    and good job on the run! plus i’m jealous of your visit w/ Gabriela! isn’t she awesome!

    Reply

  9. BIOCHEMISTA
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 10:21:23

    Thanks for your amazing insights! You are incredible girl!

    Please consider submitting a letter for my “Letters to Me” campaign. You always have such wonderful reflections and think your words could be very helpful to may others 🙂 Just a thought 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

