Worst 20 Miles Ever. And USB!

Today’s Happy Note: Udon noodles!  Much more fun than spaghetti. 🙂

Marathon Training: Today was, to put it nicely, a run from hell. It was absolutely horrendous.  Not horrendous in the sense that I couldn’t finish or didn’t want to do it.  Horrendous because I literally felt dead for about 3/4 of the time.  Literally dead.  Ghostly.  I couldn’t feel some parts of my body and other parts hurt so much that all I could do was tell myself to put one foot in front of the other.

Did I mention that it was 20 miles? Miles 8-15 felt pretty good, but before and after that…ugh.  I almost don’t want to write about it because it is bringing back terrible memories.  Oh, and you want to know something really fun?

When you’re on blood thinners you can’t take ibuprofen.  Awesome.

And I’m allergic to narcotics.  Yes, I think this situation requires the strong stuff.  If I could take it.

The worst parts were my hamstrings, stomach, and bladder.  Yes, my bladder hurt.  The whole thing took about four hours, but I stopped to pee and/or refill my water bottle and/or stretch at least five times.  My pace really went downhill only for the last five miles.

And you know what was even worse than the run?

How I felt afterwards.  I literally started feeling sick as soon as I finished — like I have the flu or something.  I couldn’t eat for hours afterwards and felt like I was going to pass out.  Now my lower eyelids are all sunken in, which is a major sign of dehydration.  I’m trying really hard to drink, but even water seems nauseating right now.  I just had some brothy soup, so hopefully that helps.

I would rank this in my top three worst runs of all times. And the only reason I say top three instead of number one worst is because…well, there is no reason.  This actually might be the worst.

Reading this over, it sounds really negative.  But that’s the truth: sometimes marathon training is not pretty. Sometimes you feel like you’re half-dead.  Sometimes it takes you an hour to run four miles.  There is chafing and blood and pain.  And the sweat, oh the sweat — I was more soaked today when I finished than after last weekend’s 16 miles in the pouring rain.

And I almost peed my pants.  Multiple times.

My life is so glamorous.

The only good thing about this run is that it’s over. And even that isn’t so good considering how drained it left me. Thank God next week is a cutback week — my long run will only be 10 miles!  Hallelujah!

Okay.  Rant over.  Onto happier things.  Things like USB.

I figured that I should introduce you guys!  I told him about the blog but he doesn’t read it, at this point.  Anyways, here’s the need-to-know on USB!

  • USB stands for Union Square Boy!  We met there at the Saturday farmer’s market about a month ago.  I was eating a chocolate chip coconut scone next to a monument.  He was drinking some sort of smoothie thing from Whole Foods.  He came around the corner and  I thought he was cute.  We started talking about the monument and history and life.  We talked for over an hour.  I was so unbelievably nervous but I also felt like it was clear that we both liked each other.
  • Our first date was super epic: we started at one coffee shop then moved onto another and met some of his friends, then we saw a movie, then we had dinner and danced at a Cuban restaurant and then we walked.
  • He is Kenyan.  He likes running, but not very long distances, and not all the time.
  • He has nine siblings.
  • He is 29 years old, a little over eight years older than me.
  • He loves good film, especially independent movies.  He does not like romantic movies at all but he knows that I do and brought us some to watch the other night.
  • He likes non-fiction and reads a lot more of it than fiction.
  • He is very romantic and gentlemanly — he always offers me his coat or his umbrella or his arm.
  • He is super cuddly.
  • One of his fingers is bent out to the side at the tip, and I think this is perfectly beautiful.
  • He loves doing volunteer and charity work.  He is a generous soul.
  • He likes outdoor adventures almost as much as I do.
  • He is not in New York from Monday through Friday, sadly. 😦
  • He doesn’t notice the ten billion imperfections in my body that I obsess over.  He makes me feel good about myself the way I am.

That’s all for now.  Goodnight, friends.  Have a most excellent week!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. It All Changes
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 23:31:40

    I think you are smitten. This is a very good think and I’m so happy for you. Yeah for a great guy who will watch romantic movies even if he doesn’t like them (though secretly he may even if it is just for your company 🙂 ).

    Reply

  2. mymulticolouredlife
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 23:56:36

    Aw he sounds lovely, and what a wonderful story of how you met 🙂 Wishing you a speedy recovery from that tough long run…

    xxx

    Reply

  3. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 04:07:56

    Bad long runs can be so disillusionning, but it sounds like you’re bouncing back from it very well 🙂 And 20 miles is the longest run you’ve done since being in HOSPITAL ~ remember how recent that was!!! Seriously, I can’t believe how quickly you’ve got your running mojo back and please be careful that you’re not pushing things too hard.

    I loved hearing about USB: he sounds like a great match for you and I wish you all the happiness in the world together 😀

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  4. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 08:04:53

    USB sounds like a great guy! I’m glad you have found him and that he makes you feel so good 🙂

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 08:21:04

    Sorry to hear about the bummer run! I’ve had my share of bad ones too, and they only make you stronger. You finished it, now go give yourself some TLC girl!!

    USB sounds great 🙂 I’m so happy you’ve found someone to share your time with!! It took me awhile to open up to Mike about my blog, but he’s been super supportive. I’m sure USB will be just the same if you ever decide to share it with him!

    Have a great start to your week love!

    Reply

  6. greensandjeans
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 09:00:36

    I’m so sorry your run was such a downer! At least you have a lovely boy to make things better!

    Reply

  7. glutenfreemuse
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 10:43:53

    So sorry to hear about your run 😦 I can relate, but in an 10 miles less kind of way! I always get a weird upset tummy after running more than 8 miles or so. It doesn’t matter what I eat before hand or what I don’t eat, it still gets all jostled and upset. Hope you have healed!!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 19:58:42

    sorry to your run was crappy. granted the longest i’ve gone it four miles, i totally know how sucky a sucky run can be.

    and love hearing about USB! he sounds like a quality dude and i love how your guys met each other. smiles all around!

    Reply

  9. BIOCHEMISTA
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 16:31:15

    Sorry about the poopy run, but you DID RUN the 20 miles. That’s success in itself, right?

    And loooove hearing about USB! ❤

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Thoughts On Running Long And Strong « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

