Awesome Speed Workout/Awesome Food

Today’s Happy Note: finding pomegranate tea again!  Haven’t had any in so very long, and it is one of my favorite herbal teas.  It was accompanied by lovely conversation, more importantly!

I have to be a speed blogger tonight (haha, NOT my forte — I like talking, in case you haven’t noticed) because USB is coming to visit.  It is going to be such a nice night for a walk!

Marathon Training: I really wanted to do my speed workout and weights today, for some reason.  I knew there was no way both were going to happen before work, since I didn’t go to bad until after 2 (bad Caronae!).  I start work at 11 on Fridays.  This is sad, I know.

I tend to become more of a morning person as the semester wears on, oddly enough.  Anyways, I dragged myself out of bed at 10 and headed to the gym for a half hour of arm weights. Sometimes a half an hour is all you need to get your muscles nice and sore!

I followed that up with a delicious, steamy, spicy chai tea latte (made with soy — I was not feeling the dairy today) and an apple with honey PB:

A delicious bite of cinnamon roll from the guys at the mail room was also had 🙂

I am fully aware that the icing on my hands in this picture does NOT look like icing.  It is, I swear.

I had a late afternoon lunch-snack of a chocolate chip muffin, in honor of Cookie Friday.  Sometimes I think muffins are better than cookies.  I think they *might* be my favorite baked good!  Shhh, don’t tell the cookies that I told you that.

I came home after work and lazed around.  I just did not want to start my run at all.  I was feeling very grey, I suppose.  I finally had a Luna Bar and got my butt out the door around 6:00, only because I knew that if I waited any longer it would be dark by the time I finished and I didn’t want to get mugged in the northern end of CP (which is a wee bit isolated/quiet at night).

The run ended up being wonderful! I felt really fast and strong and smooth.  Some runs you just get into a rhythm and other runs…well, you don’t.  I definitely found my groove today, which was nice after Wednesday’s sucky run.

2 Miles warm-up (10:00-10:30 min/mile pace)

4 x (1 mile “Cruise” Pace, 1/4 mile easy)

2 Miles cool down, easy

I don’t know what the difference is, necessarily, between “fast” and “cruise” and “tempo” and “speed.”  And to be honest, I don’t particularly care.  I have a few paces: 8:30, 9:00, 10:00, and slower than 10:00.  I go based on how I feel.  I think that the important thing for me is just practicing speeding up, learning how to move my legs faster.  I definitely accomplished that today — I would say I was maybe running 8:45s?  Hard to tell, but I worked hard and felt fast on the miles, so I was happy! 🙂 Nine miles in total.

Dinner later on was the giant burrito that I wanted yesterday but didn’t let myself have!

What, you don’t have your giant burrito with a side of steamed broccoli and roasted carrots/okra doused in TJS spicy peanut vinaigrette?

Inside the burrito: green peppers/onions, pinto beans, barbacoa meat (beef), corn salsa, a little cheese, lots of lettuce.  It needed some spicier salsa, but other than that it was divine!  If you ask really nicely at Chipotle, they’ll let you have the peppers/onions (which are normally for the vegetarian burritos) instead of rice.  Rice+burrito+beans would be way too many carbohydrates for me to handle at once.

I love having the options of multiple fats at Chipotle: cheese, sour cream, or guacamole.  Do not fear the fats ladies!

I had a few squares of plain TJs dark chocolate after dinner (which I learned form Averie’s post today might be Scharffen Berger????), followed by about five gallons of water — I can always tell when I haven’t had enough to drink throughout the day based on how thirsty I am in the evenings!

Now onto a little activity inspired by the lovely Janetha G.! A few days ago she did a list of her favorite food for each letter of the alphabet.  I got really bored in Harlem Renaissance Literature the other day and started my own. 🙂

This is a really fun and oddly soothing thing to do.  I might just have to go back and expand the list one day so that I can include all my favorite foods.  For example, I feel like “avocados” and “almond butter” got left out on A.  I don’t want to exclude anybody!

A: apples

B: bananas

C: cupcakes

D: dark chocolate

E: eggs

F: fish

G: gaz (a Persian candy made with rosewater and pistachio and AMAZINGNESS)

H: hummus

I: Indian

J: jumbo shrimp

K: kiwi

L: linguine

M: muffins

N: nuts

O: oats

P: peanut butter (duh)

Q: quinoa (blended, preferably)

R: raspberries

S: spinach

T: tofu

U: upside down cake (it’s a tradition in my dad’d family — a tasty, tasty tradition)

V: vanilla

W: whey protein

X: xantham gum

Y: yogurt (especially2% plain Greek)

Z: zucchini bread

Thanks for the idea Janetha!

What is your favorite baked good?

How do you know when a run (or workout) is good?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mymulticolouredlife
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 01:50:55

    Giant burrito yay! Loving the fast paced energy of this post 🙂 Hope you had a lovely time with USB….and I like the idea of a food for each letter of the alphabet…ooh I’ll have to try that 😉

    Favourite baked good is probably flapjack…

    Have a lovely weekend

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 10:18:21

    J= jumbo shrimp = YUMMY!

    I just did the same in my blog, it’s so much fun 🙂

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 12:40:57

    Aww fun post! I love your food alphabet. I’m going to make homemade alphabet books for my future children. Brainwash ’em early.

    I did my first five mile run since the injury today – no pain! Oh how I missed CP. But not a certain hill…

    I’m excited for this USB business. Very. Excited.

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 21:50:51

    My favorite baked good goes back and forth between a salty sweet chocolate chip cookie and rich chocolate cake. I do not fear the fat, especially when it’s in the form of cheese or avocado.

    I know a run is good when i feel awesome the whole time or feel incredibly awesome afterwards (usually long runs). So glad you’re feeling the marathon training vibe. I’m there now too and it’s awesome. Here’s to no injuries and pushing ourselves!

    Reply

  5. Ksenia
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 11:45:46

    I haven’t done weights in weeks, so I am feeling a little guilty right now >..<

    Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 12:29:08

    YAYYY CHIPOTLE!! I’m glad you had that burrito…those things are absolutely delicious 🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful evening with USB. The weather this weekend has been perfect for walking!! I was actually in the courtyard of the apartments you said he lives in yesterday…made me think of you 🙂 We still need to arrange a bakery date!!

    Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend love!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

