Day 2: Adjusting

Today’s Happy Note: I had an interesting class this evening!  Score.  So far I have felt mostly sleepy and bored in school, but I think it’s just my body/mind transitioning back into student mode.  The one this evening was called Narrative and Human Rights.  Cool, no?

I only had two classes today.  I have three, normally, but Iyengar Yoga doesn’t start until next week.  I’m pretty excited about it!  Confession: I feel asleep about eight times in my seminar this morning.  It’s the same slightly crazy prof I wrote about yesterday.  I have the pleasure of having him for two classes.  Happy happy joy joy.  He seems interesting though, and most definitely knowledgeable.  The problem is that he is so knowledgeable that he spends the entire class talking about the background to the background of the history of the material he’s teaching.  That doesn’t even make sense but I swear that’s what he does.

Harumph.

Marathon Training: Wednesday’s are usually an “easy” day on my plan.  Today consisted of four sloooooowwwww miles with 6×100 meter strides in the last mile.  I took advantage of my very open day to squeeze in 40 minutes of weights at the gym too (arms/abs).  I always forget how much I walk during school days.  I probably did about 3 miles walking today as well.

Eats:

Gloppy-looking 1/3 cup of oats with a fresh peach and an invisible scoop of sunbutter (~2 tablespoons).

Snacky day (also had another spoonful pb).

Lunch!  Don’t let this innocent looking smoothie fool you; it has four servings of produce!  Frozen berries, half a banana, spinach, and cucumber slices (plus almond milk and vanilla protein powder).  I really liked it, but it needed ice.  This is one of the great dilemmas of my life: my mini fridge freezer is too small for an ice tray. I need ice in my life.  I crave it — I chew on it (I know it’s a terrible habit) and think it makes smoothies infinitely better.  I can easily go through a whole tray in one smoothie.

So now my life (and my smoothies) are iceless.  I don’t know what to do.  Help!  Anyone have any ice-making solutions?

I did indeed bring my own nut butter to The Lite Choice (in my defense, I only had the AB in my bag because I was on my way back from WF).

Stir fry leftovers (shrimp, rainbow chard, yellow squash, broccoli,  yellow pepper, coconut, peanut dressing) with brown rice for dinners.  Just had some hot cocoa to end the day, with a little dark chocolate melted in (my favorite way to eat it).

I feel like this is a good, healthy intake for a day of moderate exercise.  I can never tell if I am eating too little, enough, or enough. Eating is a funny thing because every body is different. I am proud of myself, though, for trying to figure out what works for me.  I feel pretty good right now, like I had enough but not too much.  I don’t want to fall into the comparison trap, so I try to think of my eating only in terms of myself — also, I need to remember that most of my friends and peers are not training for a marathon and running 40-50 miles a week right now.  So when I’m with friends and they don’t snack after dinner (or after lunch, or after breakfast, or after snack, or…), I need to not freak out and think I’m being weird or overeating.  I just need to remember to listen to my body.  It gets easier everyday that I do it. 🙂

I hope you all had splendid, happy Wednesdays!

FYI, L has been on vacation so I’ll be at therapy on Friday this week.  Thereafter I *think* I’ll be switching to Thursdays for the rest of the semester.

Goodnight friends!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mymulticolouredlife
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:34:01

    Aw, I think I’ll be falling asleep at college today…it is hard transitioning back into student life, and you are training for a marathon on top of that too 😉

    Have a great Thursday!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 03:54:11

    I think school makes me antsy and not pay attention due to the need and pressure to be sitting and focusing on one topic for protracted periods of time: I have ADD issues when it comes to that, particularly when I’m used to being up and pottering about. Good to hear that you’re adjusting to it though!

    And the reason you need more snacks is because your meals are so light! Also, are you with your friends 24/7? A lot of people eat a tonne more than we think but they do it in secret, or when they’re alone…or they drink a lot of calories booze-wise! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I think you have a totally appropriate intake for your activity level…even a little under on some days.

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:13:02

    crappy professors are so bothersome. there are times i have been tempted to ask a prof or two for a tution refund as their class was so useless!!!! frustrating!

    Reply

  4. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:21:56

    Ha! I used to fall asleep in my Uni classes too. I’d try so hard to be alert but the head would inevitably start bobbing 30 minutes or so into class!

    Re ice: not an environmentally friendly option but when I lived in Europe and had a tiny fridge/freezer I used to buy ice cube bags. Very small and flat but they fit in any sized freezer.

    I too think your eating level is spot on for your needs. I really don’t think you can go wrong if you listen to your body and ensure you are taking in enough to fuel the massive amount of exercise you do.

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 16:09:34

    I’ve had a couple of classes where I feel like I doze off all the time…I like professors that know their stuff, but a lot have a tendency to talk too much!!

    I know that the Broadway Panhandler on University Place makes smaller, square-sized ice cube holders, so I feel like they’re around other places too. Just keep looking!!

    Reply

  6. sophia
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 00:49:11

    I’m glad you’re becoming more in tune with your body! It certainly doesn’t happen overnight. It’s just a gradual process of learning how to listen and respond to it.

    Heh heh. I fall asleep in a lot of my classes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

