What Healthy Means…

Today’s Happy Note: Today was just a really happy, full-but-not-too-full Sunday; a perfect day to close out the summer.  I ran, talked with friends, had a blog meetup, unpacked, decorated, talked on the phone with mom and then with USB (Union Square Boy), rested, cleaned, ate delicious food.  Productivity+Relaxation=Good Sunday.

Taking care of me=healthy.

Marathon Training: Yesterday began with 5 easy miles and an hour long vinyasa yoga class.  The run felt sluggish, but whatever, it was only five miles so I didn’t really get that worked up about it.  I spent the rest of the day moving, which is always a workout in itself.

Today began bright and early (kidding — I had to drag myself out of bed at 9:30) with a long run!  I was feeling anxious about the 15 miler I had planned.  Not so anxious that I couldn’t get out the door, but anxious enough that I felt physically “tight.”  That went away after the first mile or two and I ended up feeling wonderful!  My legs and lungs felt strong and I maintained a 10:00-11:00 minute per mile pace.  I think there were times (especially towards the end, oddly enough) where I was between 9:00-10:00 minutes per mile.  I conserved energy in the beginning, which was definitely a wise choice.  There ended up being some construction along my planned route — I remapped it once I finished and discovered I had actually covered 16 miles. Go me.

Long Run=Healthy (for me).

I have a tiny but nagging pain in the back of my right hip — almost under my butt.  It’s hard to describe.  It feels like a simple overuse injury that can probably be cured with sufficient ice, rest, and stretching.  I’ll be careful, I promise!

After the run, a shower, and a giant brunch, it was time to head off for a blog meetup with Meghann.   Some of my best blogging buddies were there as well — Gabriela, Ada, Ashley.  Love these girls!

We met at Stogo, a vegan ice cream place in the East Village.  The East Village never fails to impress me — there is something new and unique and exciting around every corner.  We all spent a good ten minutes staring at the options and sampling and, of course, photographing before deciding.  I got a scoop of key lime (coconut base) and a scoop of peanut butter fudge (soy base).  Both were excellent and surprisingly creamy!

Socializing=healthy.

We match!  Left to right: Ada, Ashley, Me, Gabriela.  I had a lovely time, as I always do with blog friends.  I truly love blogging, and making (and meeting) new friends is one of the best parts about it.

We had a wonderful, refreshing conversation about ways of eating.  We basically agreed that food and eating and healthy living are such individualized things. We all take care of our bodies in different ways — and this is okay.  It sounds silly, but it is important to remember that no two bodies have identical nutritional or activity needs.  Some individuals might need to eat more than me, some less.  Some people run more, some less.  Some people don’t run at all.  Some people walk.  Some people eat more vegetables.  Some people eat more fats.  Some people have not struggled with mental/emotional health in the exact ways I have.  All of this is okay — I love the healthy living blogging community for exactly those reasons — we are each unique and exciting.  For example, I love the way Kath lovingly prepares delicious, home-cooked dinners so often.  But I also love my own, easy, student-friendly dinners, which often consist of combining just a few things.   And I also love  Mama Pea’s awesome family-friendly vegan creations.  Or Sophia’s hearty, meaty dishes.  Or Gena’s inspired, fresh raw cuisine.

My point here is that being healthy is a journey.  A delicious, fun, active journey that is unique to each person.  So thank you, ladies, for reminding me of that this afternoon! 🙂

Stimulating conversation=healthy.

A lot of my things arrived from storage today.  I had to unpack and set up my whole room (I slept in my sleeping bag last night).  I don’t have the best sense for design, but  I think I did a decent job.

For newer readers/anyone who is curious: I am about to start my senior year of college!  I study history and human rights and creative writing.  I live in NYC. 🙂

But before the unpacking could begin, I had to set up my fridge, of course.  I didn’t have time to do a full grocery run today, so I just picked up the essentials (pictured above).  Priorities, people: peaches and apples from the farmer’s market, spinach, yogurt, a muffin, and dark chocolate.

I could have done worse. 🙂

Good (nutritious and delicious) food=healthy.

The room before, strewn with suitcases (notice the sleeping bag on the bed!):

And after (left side, then right side):

Much better.  It feels homey already.  I don’t have quite enough shelf space for all my books, but I think I did pretty well.  I get so comforted by the sight of books. I have them organized into sections: poetry/prose, fiction/novels, history, writing/academic instruction, Middle East, human rights, and cooking/baking.

The kitchen space, so far:

There are approximately 25 people on my floor.  There are seven cupboards in the kitchen.  I have usurped two of them.  BUT I don’t feel that guilty because no one at my school cooks.  Literally no one.  Last year I think I saw three other people in the kitchen the whole year.

It’s way too small.  Le sigh:

So that is the living situation right now.  I am glad to be settled in, to have a roof over my head, and to live in a consistent space that is mine and mine only.  I am very grateful — many, many people in my own city (not to mention the world over) do not have such nice accommodations.  It may seem small to me, but it is clean, warm, and safe.  I have lovely clothes, books, a bathroom, a kitchen, and a soft bed.   I am grateful.

Gratitude=healthy.

What are you grateful for right now?

Anyone else out there about to head back to school, or just moved in?  Tell me about it!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mymulticolouredlife
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 00:43:20

    Sounds like a lovely Sunday, and you look beautiful in your dress 🙂 Ah your cosy little room reminds me of my own university days…as for health, I’m still trying to figure out exactly what it means to me, but I’m closer than I’ve ever been before. And for that I’m grateful, as I am for the opportunity to start college today wohoo!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 07:48:42

    It was so great to see you again yesterday!! I loved our conversation too…health is such an individual thing, and I think bloggers are great examples of that!!

    Right now, I’m grateful for my wonderful parents who make it possible for me to live in this city. And I’m grateful for blog friends!! Hope you enjoy the holiday!!

    Reply

  3. Ada
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 09:40:03

    It was so nice to see you again yesterday! I hope that we run into eachother often on campus and that we can do some long runs together. Your dorm room is absolutely adorable, and pretty big too! Have a great first day of classes:)

    Reply

  4. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 09:50:41

    I too am comforted by the sight of books! I absolutely love to read- A LOT. I am a total bookworm, and I’ve always been that way! No matter how much reading I have to do for school or what other commitments I’m busy with, I always make time to read for pleasure 🙂
    How interesting to see what you’re studying! Human Rights- I had no idea! I graduated with a minor in Women’s Studies- lots of human rights issues there! I loved it.
    I like your dorm- it looks super cozy 🙂

    Reply

  5. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 04:45:11

    16 miles…nice one! It’s brilliant when we’re feelin’ it, in the zone and don’t even notice the miles whizzing by. I was in that ‘mode’ a couple of weeks back when I ended up doing 17.5 miles as opposed to 15. Unfortunately, the rest of my body wasn’t quite so happy about it! Be careful with that injury: it sounds a lot like the piriformis problem that struck down the uber-fast Skinny Runner and put her out for four months: here’s her description of the symptoms and also her blog posts related to it: http://skinnyrunner.com/2009/05/04/pcrf-cinco-de-mayo-half-marathon-recap/ and http://skinnyrunner.com/?s=piriformis. Just a thought anyway, but I don’t want you to end up stuck in the same position I am with injury!

    I am grateful for every mile my body lets me run, even though there aren’t very many of them at the moment…

    Hope you’re having a lovely Tuesday 🙂

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 06:21:22

    Dude be seriously careful about that pain! you don’t want to end up like me! (Although it’s probably just one of your gluteals or your piriformis so I wouldn’t worry TOO much.)

    Blogger meet-ups are the best! Healthy is definitely a personalized thing. Everyone’s version of it is a little different and it’s so interesting when you get a bunch of generally healthy bloggers together to see just how much variation there can be!

    I like that USB has an acronym. That’s serious.

    Reply

  7. Meghann
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 09:53:11

    It was great meeting you on Sunday!!! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 11:51:10

    I just started evening classes, so I kind of went back to school!

    I’m also comforted by books, a room without book seems always so empty 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

