Hot, Sweaty, Heavy

Today’s Happy Note: Sometimes a silly little kitchen failure, like the one pictured below, makes me smile!  Needless to say, this batch of oatmeal was ruined.  That is indeed a sea of oatmeal soup.  I smiled!

What was hot, sweaty, and heavy today?  My run, unfortunately!  I woke up at 9 this morning and felt like a sack of bricks.  I took the day off work in the name of packing — yeah, that didn’t happen.  I’m moving tomorrow and have not packed one. single. thing. I haven’t even started my laundry.  For some reason I operate best at night though — I do my best writing, my best cleaning, sometimes even my best yoga, after midnight.  Weird.

So.  I got distracted (happens easily).  Back to the run.  I accomplished nothing all day; my body literally felt like a sloth.  Minus the hairiness part.  But I was damn determined to get out the door.  And you know what? Sometimes getting out the door is an accomplishment in and of itself. I had to bribe myself with the promise of a massage — sometimes I am so lazy it scares me. 😉  But admit it, you have days when you have to bribe yourself to leave the house too.  I know I can’t be the only one.

The run was muy sluggish, but I finished my 8 hilly miles in a little under 90 minutes. I hit up the gym for some much-needed strength training afterwards — I actually crave lifting weights sometimes.  I did almost an hour of arms and abs. It felt great.  And at the end of my epic little workout, you know what?  I felt amazing!  It is so true that you almost never regret a workout, but you almost always regret not doing a workout.

After reading this post on Runner’s Trials, I was inspired to make my own nutrition goals for marathon training!  But first, I want to show you my excellent eats from today — I think this is a pretty good example of what a day like today (8 miles) should look like, ideally, for ME (every body and every runner is different).

Brunch was another avocado-cinnamon-vanilla SIAB, topped with some flax PB, some honey roasted nuts, and a half a TJ’s PB granola bar, crumbled.

I officially declare that I like rice — I used to hate it passionately, probably because my mom always made brown rice when I was little and all the other kids had white rice.  I refused to eat brown rice because I didn’t want to seem any weirder than I already was (I was reallllllyyyy weird).  So, for the last 20 years, I have mostly eschewed rice.  But I really like a nice grainy brown rice.  I ate it with cinnamon, stevia, sunflower seed butter, and TJ’s dark chocolate covered ginger for an amazing afternoon snack.

More snackage.  I had about twice that much chocolate.

Romaine, carrots, peppers, broccoli, avocado, two apple chicken sausages, and TJ’s spicy peanut vinaigrette.  I love giant salads for dinner, but I can never have one and then be satisfied for the rest of the evening.  An hour or two later, I need a substantial dessert.  Enter….

This was a bowl of 2% Greek yogurt, the other half of the granola bar from this morning, a small spoonful (teaspoon?) of sunflower seed butter, and chocolate trail mix, which I had a few too many handfuls of while preparing this.  In my defense, I was frustrated because of the microwave oatmeal disaster, which had just occurred. 🙂

That’s everything, minus two werther’s candies and the unpictured handfuls of trail mix.  I sometimes eat an extra spoonful or two of nut butter when preparing anything that involves nut butter (okay, so that’s pretty much everything I eat…) but I honestly can’t remember if I had any extra today.

Marathon Training Nutrition Goals

1. Four to six smaller meals per day. Time and time again I come back to this way of eating because it works for me.  I would much rather eat every three or four hours than six or seven, thank you very much.

2. Do not be afraid of the whole grains! I can’t tell you how satisfied I felt after that bowl of brown rice this afternoon.  I also love oats and quinoa.

3. Less processed food, more “clean” food. My diet is pretty clean as is, but there are a few things that could stand to be eliminated.  I am going to focus on whole foods, like fish, chicken, fruits, vegetables, greens, some plain greek yogurt, nuts, nut butters, tofu, avocado, healthy fats, and grains, of course.  I don’t intend to eliminate protein powder (especially the simpler ones), but I do want to use it less.  My staples are as follows: spinach, frozen berries, carrots, apples, salmon, tofu, peanut butter, oats.  So simple, so nutritious.

4. Sugar in moderation. I feel better, think better, and run better when my diet is mostly free of processed sugar (i.e., granola bars, flavored yogurts/nut butters, non-homemade baked goods).  I fully intend to continue consuming honey, maple syrup, stevia, baked goods that I have made, good dark chocolate, and farmer’s market pastries (because they’re too damn good to give up).  Once I have a little bit of sugar, I tend to want a lot more, so Iam really going to try to be careful and moderate here.

5. Say no sometimes and recognize hunger vs. not-hunger.  I do not have to eat anything, ever, if I do not want it.  Training for a marathon does not mean that I can (or even should) eat when I’m not hungry.  I can say no to food at parties, extra food on my plate at restaurants, late-night snacks, etc.

6. Above all, listen to my body.  If my body is saying “feed me a giant pile of veggies!” I shall listen.

I should probably start this whole packing monstrosity now.  Blogging is so much more fun though!

My nutrition goals are really just guidelines.  I think that one of the most important things is not to get mad at myself if I have an off-day.  It won’t kill me.

Do you have general nutrition goals/guidelines/thoughts that you live by?  And does anyone out there happen to be an expert on losing ten nagging pounds while training for a marathon? If so, please share. 🙂

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janetha
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 22:46:44

    haha, kitchen disasters make me smile too! i just shake my head at myself. hope you enjoy the weekend! ❤

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 00:36:56

    Good luck with the moving – and as for the oatmeal soup situation…I have seen this many times before when I try to make instant porridge in the microwave…sigh. No wonder I stick to cereal hehe 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 04:03:16

    Heh, kitchen disasters! been there, done that. Usually there is nothing left to do than laugh at yourself and move on to plan B 🙂

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 13:12:05

    Great post! I’m so proud of you for getting out there even though you didn’t necessarily want to. I occasionally have days like that but when I think about how upset I’ll be later when it finally hits me that I didn’t go…I get my butt out the door.

    I love your nutrition goals! Currently I’m trying to lose the weight that I gained while not being able to run (yeah, I kind of let myself go, I think out of a slight depression). I’m trying to focus more on fruit and veggies and less on mindless snacking. GO US!

    Reply

  5. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 13:41:51

    I have ruined many microwaves with oatmeal that way and have since stuck to the stove top…though I usually manage to make quite a mess there as well!

    Getting out the door is 99% of the battle in scenarios like that and I think your intake for the day looks perfect: so balanced nutritionally and I honestly can’t think of a single thing you could ‘improve.’

    My goals at the moment are simply to heal my relationship with food, in whatever form that may take…to eat to live, not live to eat. That was such a lovely comment that you left me and I have indeed spent most of the day trying to get my thoughts out through my art…a wonderful piece of advice as it gave me some focus other than the panic and self-loathing in my head. Sadly I can’t swim because it aggravates my injury but at least I managed a little walking in the sunshine today…

    Massive congrats on your run again.

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  6. kaztronomic
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 15:51:56

    You’re more mellow than me. If my breakfast overflowed, there would be a tirade of words, not smiles. 😉

    Your nutrition goals sound great! I’m the same way: I like smaller meals, I don’t like having to eat when I’m not hungry (wish I could do that, but being in school changes my eating schedule) and sometimes I want a big bed o’ veggies, and other times, I want a cookie. I try to moderate my sugar, too, since it triggers “false hunger” with me, and makes me feel slow and sluggish. I want to learn to honor my body, too. Good luck! You can do this!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 20:02:05

    Those are great nutrition goals…very similar to the way I try to eat!! Sugar is really hard for me to pass up too. I especially love #5. For so long I’ve told myself to eat whatever I want, because I’m trying to eliminate fear foods, etc. But I’ve realized recently that I’m messing with my goal of intuitive eating by eating just because I feel like it, not because I’m hungry. I’m trying to eat what I want, when I’m hungry for it!

    Reply

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 00:19:39

    re losing weight, you’re gonna have to feel hungry. which is in direct contradiction to what our bodies are hard wired to want to do. caloric deficit = losing weight = you will feel hungry. Sucks but that’s the size of it. For the record, you look great as you are right now!

    Saw the pics of you on Gabriela’s post and what a fun meetup!!!!!!!!

    I hate when i explode things in my micro. Takes 2 secs to happen, 15 mins and a half roll of paper towels to clean up. Ugh.

    xoxoo

    Reply

  9. runnerstrials
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:08:59

    Yay, glad you have some goals for the month! I try to listen to my body for hunger cues but also make sure I eat enough variety. And I’m trying to cut back on the sweet stuff. Good luck 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

