Blog Meetup And Happy Yoga Feelings!

Today’s Happy Note: Alicia Keys’ song Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart — it’s just got a really soothing but also penetrating rhythm and oddly makes me really happy.  I’m listening to it on repeat. 🙂

I swapped today’s eight hilly miles for tomorrow’s rest/yoga because it was blazingly hot/human today!  I did walk about four-ish miles over the course of the day and took a really nice advanced flow yoga class at my favorite studio.

Part of my walk today was with Maggie (Say Yes To Salad)!  Lynn of The Actors’s Diet was in town and we had a lovely little meet-up with some of my favorite bloggers, including Ada (NYCollegeEats) and Gabriela (Une Vie Saine).  We had The Lite Choice then strolled then chatted at a new to me cafe where I had a tasty orange carrot juice.

I was having so much fun I never got a group picture!  Above is Ada, Lynn, and reader Danielle.  I love meeting fellow bloggers because we already have something in common and they are almost always sweet, kind, and caring. It’s sort of like you already know one another and genuinely care for one another.  Blog friends are real friends! 🙂

I loved getting to know everyone better today.  Gabriela and I have gotten to see each other several times now and Ada and I ran the ultra together! I had not met anyone else previously.  I think blogging had really helped expand my social circle, in a good way.  If you’re a blogger (or a reader!), have you made new friends through blogging?

I had a really nice moment in the cafe: I couldn’t decide between an iced tea or a juice.  I had a very tiny appetite at lunch and was starting to feel hungry again (it was late afternoon).  At first I thought to myself “I should just have a plain unsweetened iced tea; why do I deserve to consume extra calories at this time of day for no reason?”  But then I said to myself, damn it, I want a carrot-orange juice.  Not only is freshly squeezed juice full of amazing vitamins and nutrients, it tastes good and I wanted some sustenance.  So there.  Take that, crazy brain.

Sometimes I feel like my silly brain gets in he way of just letting me live.  I am learning how to let go of being so obsessive about everything.  I find that my body fits into its natural size and shape perfectly when I do the least obsessing.  Yoga has taught me that.  I went into class tonight feeling sad and angry (not for any particular reason — they were just random moods) and came out feeling calm again.  I love that my practice constantly reminds me to do the best I can — and that I can only do my best.  Miracles can happen, too, though.  Yoga has given me a nice balance and perspective.

Okay, no more seriousness.  I promise!  Onto some rather delicious eats from today…

This is an almost-empty container of fage 2% with about 2 tablespoons of sunflower seed butter, a handful of grapes and a tablespoon of flax peanut butter.  I have decided that sunflower seed butter and I are in love.  It’s like frosting only better.  I had another several spoonfuls straight from the jar after this bowl.  It has this creamy, full, earthy flavor.  It does sort of taste “healthy”, but in a good way, I think — like raw tofu.  But then again, not everyone loves raw tofu.

I get the weirdest health-food cravings sometimes: in addition to raw tofu, I also crave plain steamed broccoli, spoonfuls of sunflower seed butter, avocados, brown rice, salmon, spinach, and plain nuts.  My body really does know exactly what it needs most of the time.  I like that about myself.

What are your “health-food” cravings?  Or junk food cravings! I don’t judge!

This just might be the best dinner SIAB (Smoothie In A Bowl) I have ever made.  It consisted of a cup of vanilla soy milk, a whole lotta ice, half a banana, a scoop of vanilla whey/soy protein, cinnamon, and half an avocado.  Topped with TJ’s honey roasted nuts (aka crack).  The avocado/vanilla/cinnamon combo is amazing.  Move over sunflower seed butter.  I have a new lover.

I’m feeling surprisingly content right now considering the number of things I have on my mind.  Hmmmm.  I like having a clear head, I suppose — it’s a good feeling.

Goodnight friends!  I hope you all have a most happy Friday.

And thank you for your sweet comments/thoughts yesterday. 🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 01:22:41

    Yes! Blog friends are indeed true friends, and I’ve discovered that on so many occasions. I’ve always had such brilliant times meeting fellow bloggers, and one day I’d love to venture further than the UK to meet some overseas bloggers 😉

    I’m enjoying reading about how you are honoring what your body wants, with the juice for example. I still have a long way to go in terms of breaking out of my routine with this, but you are inspiring me that it’s possible to eat intuitively.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 02:03:27

    I wish I lived a bit closer to have blogger meet ups with my fabulous bloggers friends 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 08:20:48

    bloggie meet ups are the best! and what a cool group of women to spend time with. yay!

    my cravings lately have been for iced coffees around 2pmish. i also had a fierce bacon craving yesterday after trying a bacon dark chocolate bar at work. see yesterday’s dinner post! def had to have bacon 🙂

    Reply

  4. sahra
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:02:28

    Why don’t we have this kind of food in Scotland?! You should come here and reinvent my diet. Though you’d be hard pressed with the ingredients. Could you come up with something tasty out of haggis? They don’t have trader joe’s and even finding decent peanut butter is hard. Nuts are crappy and expensive here- I always have to get family to bring me yummy california almonds…
    Good to hear you’re doing well. Hopefully see you in Ottawa- my whole little family will be there from Dec 24th to Jan 2nd!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:47:49

      It sounds like I would have a very difficult time living in Scotland! I need good food! Can’t wait to see you and Wahid and Cyrus. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Ada
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 11:58:10

    Yesterday was so much fun!!! I hope to see you Sunday as well:)

    Reply

  6. Vicky @ eat live spin
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 14:54:04

    Yellow cherry tomatoes are usually my craving! I was supposed to meet you guys yesterday but I had a job interview at 2!

    Reply

  7. julie
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 15:05:21

    mmm! love your bloggie meetup 🙂 i had TLC last night toooo. the brownie and cookies & cream combo i had was to dieee faww!

    Reply

  8. ~Jessica Zara~
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 15:26:33

    The region where I live is very much like Scotland: bereft of yummy food options! Although I have managed to order some Sunflower Seed butter (unsweetened) online so I can’t wait to try it. Extortionate postage though…and I adore your SIAB. Never thought to put avocado in one but I’m always lusting after the raw choc/avocado puddings I see. Sadly I always have a bad reaction to the wonderful avos.

    My cravings typically involve Sun Warrior, Kabocha or Butternut Squash, chickpeas, peas, tomatoes, carrots, apples, pears and bananas! ‘Junk’-wise I am a chocolate fiend, but only when it’s raw or dark!

    So happy you were able to enjoy the juice 🙂 And there’s nothing better than a blogger meet-up. I have met the most wonderful people through blogging and prior to that I was a complete hermit. I may not have any friends in ‘real’ life but that’s because I just don’t connect to most people my age. Bloggers are always open-minded, non-judgemental and in general the best people on the planet!

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  9. BIOCHEMISTA
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 16:54:42

    Good call on switching running (w/ hills) for yoga today! It’s nassssty outside (at least in DC!)

    I’ve never met anyone in person from blogging but really want to!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

