In Which Caronae Has Fun

Today’s Happy Note: Raspberry herbal tea — just bought some the other day (it’s Stash); it’s somehow creamy yet subtle. Also, I made my evening a mini spa event — got a 15 minute massage after work and just made myself an oatmeal face mask using this recipe. It felt really wonderful and scrubby.  It would be great for a girls’ night.

Social Life: I went out again last night, to a friend’s birthday party.  What has come over me?!?!  I’m having fun, being social, being open.  This is crazy, but in a good way.  I am pretty sure I’m being a normal twenty year old.  It’s summer.  I was talking to someone important to me the other day and all the sudden realized (out loud) “fun is allowed!”  Being with friends and connecting with the people in my life is really important right now.

Marathon Training: Yesterday was a rest day — I ended up with three miles of walking and 20 minutes yoga.  Today was a speed workout on the track.  I put it off all week because speedwork overwhelms me.  But it ended up going really well!

2 mile warm-up

4 x (1200 “fast cruise pace”, 400 easy)

2 mile coo-ldown

I did the 1200s in 6:15, 6:16, 6:13, 6:15.  I was happy with that, especially since these were not all out by any means. It totaled 8 miles. I also did weights this evening for 30-ish minutes.

Eats:

Just got a new batch of sweet cherries.  I have been loving fresh fruit this summer!  Faves: blueberries, peaches, cantaloupe, raspberries, and cherries.

We had a birthday party at the office yesterday!  I had a cupcake yesterday and today.  I wasn’t weird about it at all! I didn’t agonize over eating the cupcake nor did I eat one and proceed to eat ten more.  I had one yesterday and one today, because, well, there were leftovers and I couldn’t let them sit there over the weekend, could I?

I have been trying to lose about 10 nagging pounds that crept on over the summer, especially while I was in the hospital.  I think I have maybe lost 2?  I am stressing a little bit about it and am not really sure what to do.  I refuse to go down the obsessive path — it does NOT work for me.  I have been working on eating intuitively.  I don’t think it is making enough of a difference in my actual food consumption for me to lose weight, but it has helped me feel better emotionally.  It’s nice to sit down in the evening and realize “okay, I want a few bites of chocolate and that’s it” or “hmmm, I just made a giant bowl of oats but I don’t think I am hungry for these last few bites.”  These are small accomplishments.

Another thing: I really want to switch up my healthy fat consumption. Confession: I had a smoothie and several spoonfuls of sunflower seed butter for dinner tonight.  When I crave nut butter like this, it usually is because I am in need of some fats.  So I’m going to make it a goal to diversify my fat intake: avocados, EVOO, 2% yogurt, lowfat milk, raw nuts, eggs.

Anyone have any favorite healthy fats suggestions?

Time to get to bed.  I may or may not be going out again tomorrow!  Crazy.  I think I like this side of me. 🙂

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 22:18:42

    Butter!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 23:03:13

    Salmon? I’m not sure whether that’s something you would eat or not…but I’ll suggest it anyway.

    It makes me really happy to see you embracing life like this, and gives me hope that maybe I can become more of a social butterfly than stay at home hermit 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 04:22:00

    I love pumpkin seeds, they’re so versatile! try them on a salad 🙂

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 06:39:35

    I LOVE this side of you and I’m so happy that you’re going out and having fun! This is the way life should be. Agony free and absolutely delightful. Fun is absolutely allowed.

    Can we lose those nagging ten pounds together? Make some kind of support group based on intuitive eating/not binging or giving up because we’ve had one “bad” thing (yes I am SO guilty of doing this)/not restricting and allowing ourselves to have that one “bad” thing without guilt?

    Reply

  5. Simply Life
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 06:42:30

    oh that tea sounds great!

    Reply

  6. Isaac
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 07:36:30

    When I trained competitively, I used to drink 2 table spoons of orange-flavored fish oil a day and eat a few servings of fish (i.e. tuna, salmon) a week. Other great-tasting healthy fat options include almond butter (expensive but so worth it), hummus, and regular olive oil and vinegar drizzled over a salad! Bon appetite 🙂

    Reply

  7. ~Jessica Zara~
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 09:43:10

    Those are not small achievements, they’re huge! Would you rather have lost more weight but still been plagued by negative thoughts and bingeing urges? I always think that the psychological relationship with food is far more important than weight, at both ends of the spectrum. As long as you’re making progress with your mindset, I think you’re doing the right thing. Getting out of the diet/binge/overexercise trap is something hardly anyone manages to do, and I admire you hugely for the steps you have already taken. I wish I had such strength as you do!

    And you’re clearly doing something right: that was one amazing speed workout!

    What’s wrong with nut butter as a fat source? It’s certainly my favourite!

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself ~ you’re fantastic with or without the additional weight loss.

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~

    Reply

    • caronae
      Aug 28, 2010 @ 09:59:35

      Thanks for reminding me that the psychological side of our relationship with food is more important than the physical side most of the time — I think you’re right!

      Reply

  8. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 16:54:58

    I just posted about healthy fats!! My favorites are nut butter (duh), avocadoes and mixed nuts 🙂

    Yay for going out and having fun!! I alternate between being a homebody and a social butterfly- it all depends what mood I’m in. There’s nothing wrong with liking to be alone, but it’s always nice to be with other people sometimes!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 08:10:37

    congratulations on your cupcake win! yayayay! you are right, little accomplishments are where it is at.

    so i am a bit behind on my blog reading but would like to make a little guess about what you’ve been up to. did you get asked on a date at the farmers market?!?!?!?!

    Reply

  10. kaztronomic
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 15:24:27

    You call your victories “small” and you’re not giving yourself enough credit. That’s a HUGE victory! To know what you want, to acknowledge that craving, and to know when to stop and not let it turn into a binge? That’s great! You are doing this right and I think you’re awesome for achieving that!

    Sorry. I think I may have abused an exclamation point or two there. >.>; Hehe.

    I love coconut milk/coconut butter as a fat, too. Flax (which contains phytoestrogens, which might be a concern to you) is also a fat that some people enjoy. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

