Marathon Training Thoughts + The Best Thing I Ate Today

Today’s Happy Note: Rain!  I love rain — my favorite type of weather by far.  It makes the air cool and grey and calm and lovely.

Marathon Training: So.  My alarm went off at 6:05 this morning.  I felt like a slab of concrete — there was no way my body was getting any further than the end of my bed to turn off my alarm.   I figured I could sleep another two hours and then do the 12 miles after work.  Got home from work and listened to my body, which wanted a snack and a nap.  I rarely genuinely feel like not running.  A lot of times I am just being lazy, but I really don’t think that was the case today.  I just could not move.  I ended up sleeping for another two hours and woke up still exhausted.  My body was telling me something.  I still wanted to move, just not run.  I headed to the gym in the late evening for an hour vinyasa yoga class and a half an hour of arm weights. It was exactly what I needed.

Do you get obsessive about exercising a certain way everyday — like if you don’t follow whatever is on the “plan”, something terrible will happen? I used to be like that but realized how unhealthy and restrictive it was.  Not to mention that it was just annoying and boring to feel like I had to do a certain thing for a certain amount of time on a certain day.  There is a fine line between following a training plan for a race (in my case, the NYC Marathon) and becoming obsessive about things.  It can be a little hard to figure out what works, but I think I am getting there by both listening to my body and making sure that I keep my training plan in mind.

Thoughts?

I have decided that, for my mental and physical sanity, I am going to take a macro-view of my marathon training plan, like Caitlin. I still fully intend on getting all of the runs I have planned for any given week done, I am just going to be flexible about it.  If I need to switch things around a bit, it is not the end of the world.  As long as I don’t end up with two long runs in a row I will be fine.

I do fully plan on attacking this baby tomorrow though!  Wish me luck — this will be the longest I have run since before I was in the hospital the first time.

Just realized none of my pictures from today uploaded.  Grrrr.  I am far too lazy (and tired) to do it again.  Which means this post is officially pictureless.

I will tell you about the best thing I ate today though.  Because I can do that.

Fage 2% yogurt (NEVER going back to the fat-free version again; low-fat Greek yogurt will change your life, if it hasn’t already) with a spoonful of honey, cantaloupe and a drizzle of Justin’s cinnamon peanut butter (I think it has been discontinued — this was an old packet).

I used to not use honey that often.  But I think it might be my favorite sweetner.  I’m pretty sure it isn’t going to kill me.

Fun Caronae fact: I am actually deathly allergic to bees/hornets/wasps/yellow jackets.  But I could eat honey all day long!  Other allergies: mollusks (NOT shrimp), nickel, and narcotics!

What are you allergic to?

Alright.  I’m going to sign off before this post gets any more random.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 22:13:09

    Hi, great post. Yes, I used to be really obsessive about exercise… I ran competitively in high school, and then cycled competitively during my first three years of university. If I ever missed a workout, I’d feel like my whole day was blown. And I’d start to obsess about my fitness slipping just cos I didn’t do that one workout that day. Crazy, I know. Very stressful too. I was very hard on myself, and you’re right that it was very unhealthy and restrictive. After a while, I no longer enjoyed the sport, because each day, it was like I “had to” do that workout. I didn’t run for the fun of it, or cycle for the fun of it. Each thing had to have its goal-related purpose, y’know? I’ve quit racing, and am now trying to listen to my body, run whenever I feel like it, and not get stressed/upset/whatever if I don’t.

    I think it’s great that you listened to your body and how tired you were, and also that you didn’t beat yourself up for sleeping in. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 01:47:22

    This is a great post, given that so many people become obsessive about their workouts, especially when training for a big event like a marathon, and I think it’s really good that you are honouring your body by being flexible about when you do what.

    I don’t have any allergies, but I used to think I was allergic to pears after eating one brought me out in a rash when I was little, but I’ve had them since with no problems, which is good since I rather like pears!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 03:26:07

    Vinyasa is great! I miss yoga, it’s been a few days since my last session.

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 06:57:39

    Yes! Be flexible and listen to your body! Although I concede that is absolutely easier said than done. I can definitely get into the restrictive obsessive mode, but I KNOW it is more important to go with your intuition.

    Mmm fage. Did you ever go back to Whole Foods and get those Justin’s packets, by the way?

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 07:39:02

    I have no food allergies!! I’m a lucky duck, I know. There are certain foods that make my intestines a little pissed off though, if you know what I mean…

    I loved Caitlin’s post on macro views and I’m glad you’re taking that approach in your training!! We all want to do well, but let’s face it, sanity and rest is more important than finishing in X amount of time. Hope you have a wonderful day love!! xoxo

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:02:21

    Ohh great post. This really resonates as a few months ago I basically just let my rigid exercise schedule go. While it was necessary, to a degree, to train for the half I was driving myself crazy with it and felt a level of failure for every missed workout. I much prefer to now just go with what I feel like doing on the day. Not to say I won’t run a race again and follow a schedule at some point, but there has to be a flexibility and bending involved. And no guilt.

    I had food allergy testing recently and bananas and apples came up. We decided it was a false positive though as I’d never had any type of real reaction. Intolerances? Now those I would like to get tested.

    Reply

  7. Angela
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:43:57

    Love this post. I’ve been struggling with my exercise routine. I’m usually really rigid but I don’t care as much anymore, and I’m beating myself up internally. I need to give it a rest because the best thing to do is listen to your body and forcing exercise can lead to injury and bigger issues.

    As far as I know, I’m not allergic to anything, but recently the doctor thinks that I might have Skeeter syndrome (an allergy to mosquitos). Every time I get stung it ends up with cellulitis, which is a horrid skin infection.

    Reply

  8. Vicky @ eat live spin
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 15:13:13

    It’s been a couple of rainy days in the city! I was actually stuck walking my dogs in the downpours on Sunday! This morning was great and grey, perfect day to sit in my local coffee shop and relax for a few minutes… I love when the city gets a little cooler!

    As for allergies… as a five-year-old I was allergic to strawberries, but that passed and now I eat them all the time.

    Reply

  9. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 19:35:32

    Obsessive? Oh, lord yes…I have to watch myself otherwise I’d do the exact same exercise every day. Which I realize is silly! There’s a reason we should vary our exercise! Our muscles need to recharge!
    Good luck on your marathon training! Also, I had the same reaction when I switched from low-fat yogurt to whole milk…dairy-gasm!

    Reply

  10. Hayley
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 22:48:45

    Justin’s cinnamon PB discontinued? this is horrible news!
    But good news is your flexible workout routine. I too find I am much happier that way 🙂

    Reply

  11. Runners Passion
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 15:02:46

    I think you definately need to be flexible about your training plan. Some days are just not going to happen and you have to roll with the punches. The important thing is to have more good days then bad. If you are just not feeling it then it is probably best that you took the day off from running. A good book about flexibility with training is Run by Matt Fitzgerald.

    Reply

  12. BIOCHEMISTA
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 22:04:01

    It’s great that you listened to your body. I too sometimes obsess that I didn’t get in the *right* or *scheduled* workout. But in the long run, all that matters (specifically for marathon running) is that you use the plan as a *guide* and not set in stone. There are TONS of marathon training programs so if you stray a little from yours because that’s what your body needs, then you will be just fine. Kudos for doing what’s right for YOU 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

