Thoughts On Yoga

Today’s Happy Note: Best. Yoga. Class. Ever.

I know that not everybody is into yoga, and that’s fine, but it really has been life-changing/saving for me.  I can enter class seething, panicked, distraught, weepy, or in pain.  And leave relaxed, smiling, calm, joyful, spiritual.  Today we did a lot of inversions, balances, and twisting, including one pose I have never done before that I could not find any name for or picture of online.  It is basically what the top person is doing in this photo, only upright, with back foot and hand on the ground:

Hangle Dangle

Source

Anyone have any ideas?

What I loved most about class today was that my emotions started coming up, uncontrollably.  As my body physically opened up I could feel the things in my heart pouring out as well. I have heard Averie (who is giving away some awesome hemp products here) and other yogis talk about this before but have never felt it.  Well, I have news for you: this is not one of those crazy newfangled yoga things.  It really happened — I was alternately smiling and crying during class.  It was wonderful and soothing to let things out of my body like that.

I think yoga has made me more spiritual and more comfortable in my own body.  It calms me down and lifts me up at the same time.  It helps me realize that I do indeed know God, in some guise or other, and that I have this wonderful, amazing body that I need to treat well.  I run because it makes me feel clean and strong, in heart and body and mind, but yoga adds an element of spirit, I think.

Have you tried yoga?  It seems like most healthy living bloggers either love it or hate it.  I am definitely in the loving it camp.  I do recommend trying a few different classes, styles, studios, gyms, or videos before giving up; each experience is different and you really need to find what works for you.  Polly’s videos are always a good place to start!

My absolute favorite studio in NYC is Yoga Vida. Highly recommended, and relatively inexpensive.

The eats:

Diet snapple iced tea and plain oats with soymilk and PB.

Tuna made with plain yogurt and hummus, giant pile of steamed veggies.  I know everyone thinks they’re boring, but sometimes I lover plain and simple lightly steamed veggies.

Two afternoon snacks is the way to go.  PB and chocolate chip Larabar and a basically empty AB jar with plain 2% Fage (I’m in love  — the fats are pretty much miraculous), frozen blueberries, and Justin’s chocolate PB (didn’t really go with it, taste-wise).

I realized that recently I have been falling into the blogger-comparison trap.  I think, “healthy living bloggers should have one afternoon snack, dinner, then a small dessert, or two afternoon snacks and no desserts — I must be overeating!”  BUT this is what works for me.  And I never eat (or want a morning) snack, and I keep main meals a bit smaller.  So there.  I can have two afternoon snacks and a dessert if that’s what my body wants.

Random WF bowl.  It had arugula, walnut/grape chicken salad (my favorite kind), a few bites of potato, black bean udon noodles, shredded zucchini/summer squash, and marinated kale salad.  I am NOT a kale girl, but I really liked this one.  It had shredded carrots, cabbage, and lots of balsamic.

Blurry raspberry protein shake: vanilla soy milk, half a banana, handful frozen raspberries, lots of ice, half scoop of vanilla whey/soy protein, and a few spoonfuls of coconut sorbet.  Topped with dark chocolate and chocolate PB.

A good day of eats — lots of variety, lots of nutrients, good portions that kept me full but not too full.  My belly is a happy belly right about now!

Some days I feel like all my meals/snacks involve nuts or nut butter.  I really truly believe that, if it came down to it, I would say PB is my favorite food.  Oats, Greek yogurt, apples, and carrots are all tied for second place. 🙂

What’s your favorite food?

Thoughts on yoga?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaztronomic
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 01:42:16

    I never tried yoga, but I think I’d like it. For a girl who never stretches or anything, I’m actually pretty limber. And when I do stretch, it’s actually feels so good that I groan. 😀

    I try not to fall into the comparison trap but I, like you, like to eat. And I like to snack, and I love dessert. So what if I nibble my afternoon away, eat a light dinner, then a hearty dessert? We’re all unique and what works well for them may not work as well for you. You’re smart to honor your body. =)

    My favorite foods? Peanut butter and banana. 😀

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 02:10:48

    As I’ve said before, although I’ve never tried yoga, I would like to one day. I’d like to do a class rather than a book/DVD to make sure I was getting the most from it (and getting out, meeting people too) but it’s finding a class and the money. I reckon when the time is right I will give it a go. It’s always inspiring to hear how great people find it, especially in a spiritual sense.

    And as for food…one thing I like about you is you don’t follow others in your eating – you eat for YOU and YOUR body, and do this in a creative and fun way.

    Sarah x

    Reply

    • caronae
      Aug 21, 2010 @ 14:28:47

      Yes, it is good to start with a class. There are usually donation classes once a week or once a month at many studios – they are very low cost! I can imagine you really enjoying yoga. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention Thoughts On Yoga « Run. Write. Therapy. Life. -- Topsy.com
  4. ~Jessica Zara~
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 09:32:27

    I wish I could find a decent yoga class where I live. Unfortunately they’re all too sedate…to me, yoga isn’t about lying on the floor for an hour and a half doing barely any poses! I’m so envious of all the more active types of yoga available in the US…I just make do with power yoga DVDs! I do find that it’s wonderful to stretch out from running, and also very centering.

    Does Sun Warrior count as a food? If so then it’s my favourite 😉 I’m also loving hazelnut butter, watermelon, apples and squash at the moment…ooh, and carrots and pears…and tomatoes. There are just too many to choose. Roasted courgettes…peas…okay, I’ll stop now!

    Your meals are so tiny that I’m not surprised you need more snacks! You’re eating in the way that’s right for you and that’s all that matters.

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  5. Ameena
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 09:34:14

    Getting into yoga is one of the smartest things I’ve ever done. I love it and can’t believe I waited 30 years before I tried it! Me and yogadownload.com are best friends. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 11:24:41

    Favorite food…man…i just like food in general! Peanut butter, mango, avocado, shrimp, froyo….these are a few of my favorite things. 🙂
    I’m totally with you on yoga. A really good class gives you such a rush!

    Reply

  7. julie
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 12:30:06

    whenever i read other bloggies write about yoga it reminds me how much i should REALLY get to a class! it always feels awesome when i’m done but it’s just getting there that’s the hardest for me!

    glad you had such an awesome class though!

    Reply

  8. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 17:14:32

    Just read your last post, and I especially loved when you said that “hunger is not a character flaw.” Hit the nail on the head…AMEN!!

    Favorite food = chocolate. Surprise, surprise 🙂 As for yoga, I’m not a huge fan, but it’s nice to get a good stretch in every once in awhile!!

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend love!!

    Reply

  9. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 03:29:06

    I love yoga! it’s the one and only sport I have ever loved and I will never give it up, it makes me feel so good.

    I started with hot yoga classes at a studio and after 3 months of that I tried podcasts from YogaDownload and have loved doing yoga at home. You can do it whenever you have the time and energy, spontaneously and FREE!

    Reply

  10. Lisa
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 18:29:42

    My favorite type of yoga is Anusara. I was always getting hurt when I used to do power vinyasa (usually heated). I over-stretched, and was sore for days! Anusara is totally mindful of biomechanics (I’m sure other types are too), but I changed my yoga goal from getting a great sweaty workout to feeling great (strong, bendy, and relaxed) when I leave. This is way better—I know exactly what you’re saying regarding the emotional release!
    Lisa
    p.s. your food looks great, and I don’t follow anyone else’s healthy eating schedule either!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

