Nut Butter Sneaking Habit

Today’s Happy Note: Napping.  Self-acceptance.  Let me explain: I have felt pretty sleepy and a wee bit lethargic this week.  Normally when that happens, I get angry at myself (“gee Caronae, why can’t you be more productive; you’re so lazy; you suck”).  Not this time.  I had a splendid afternoon nap and I just took it for what it was.  I am not a terrible person.  I don’t spend all my time sleeping.  My body knows when it needs a little extra love and rest, and I listened to it.  I am proud of myself for that.  Small victories people.  Small victories.

Something else I’m proud of: My run today! Tuesdays are speed work days.  I’ve said it before: speed work scares the crap out of me.  It’s really hard for me because my fast twitch muscles are kind of non-existent.  Because I know it’s hard, I work myself up into an anxious fit and then make it even harder for myself!

Not today.  The plan was 2 mile warm up, 4×1 mile @ tempo pace, 2 mile cool down.  I did 1/4 mile easy run/walk between each fast mile, for a total of 9 miles.

My tempo pace goal was 9:00 minutes per mile.  I crushed it!

Mile 1: 8:36

Mile 2: 8:34

Mile s: 8:30

Mile 4: 8:27

I was so shocked.  I worked hard, it felt hard, but I did it!  I love that amazing feeling you get after a good hard speed workout.  I enter into a state of physical, emotional calm and my body and mind become so content and relaxed.

I’m proud of myself indeed.

No Therapy Tuesday today because my therapist had an emergency and had to cancel.  I felt really bad for her; I could tell how stressed and anxious she was when she called; she seemed really upset and I actually felt like the inconsistency bothered her more than me!  Then, as I was walking home from work, I ran into her outside the grocery store. It was really weird to see her outside of the office environment (her office is actually in her apartment, which I really like because it seems more comfortable and less stiff)!  I could tell how completely harried she was; I was actually a little bit nervous that she was about to have a panic attack or something.  Anyways, I told her not to worry and to calm down.  Sort of a weird little reversal of roles.  We rescheduled for tomorrow.

I heart frozen berries.

And chocolate-topped smoothies.

Dinner was epic, not to mention that it took five minutes to prep.  I combined a can of tuna with a few spoonfuls 2% Fage, garlic hummus, chopped bell peppers, and guacamole.  Holy easy dinner.  Holy tastiness.

I just ate a weird iced tea slushy concoction.  It looks really weird so I’m not gonna share any pictures.  It’ for your own benefit, trust me.  It was iced chamomile tea (sweetened with stevia and honey) blended with a boatload (yes, that’s a word) of ice cubes.  Random, but I was craving something cold and icy, and this did the job.

Confession: I have a nut-butter-sneaking habit. I take pictures of most of what I eat, since it is helpful for me to have a record.  But spoonfuls of nut butter and tiny handfuls of nuts often escape the camera.  I don’t deprive myself, ever, but I also know that I don’t necessarily need those extra calories. So I’m making a promise to myself to photograph everything I eat; even those tiny spoonfuls.  I don’t share all my eats on the blog everyday (today there were maybe two spoonfuls of unpictured nut butter and a serving of TJ’s mini PB cups).  Can you tell I like PB?

I didn’t eat a lot today given that I ran nine miles (and maybe walked two more?), but I think it makes sense given that I ate more than I needed to yesterday.  I love how my body balances things out and really figures out what’s going on and what it needs or doesn’t need.  Bodies are so smart.

Be back tomorrow with Therapy Wednesday!

I hope you’re all having a most wonderful week.  Relax, smile, breathe!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 21:36:55

    Yay for self acceptance and body appreciation 🙂 Gosh I hope your therapist is ok, that must have been a strange experience with the whole role reversal thing..

    Congrats on the awesome workout!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 23:59:20

    I sneak PB too. Esp when I’m home alone…not that my boyfriend would ever judge me or anything!

    Reply

  3. kaztronomic
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 01:20:25

    I hope everything is okay with your therapist!

    Oh, I’m so glad you were able to enjoy your nap! I’m a “guilty” napper, and it’s a hard habit to break. You rock! 😀

    I’m always filching undocumented bites and tastes here and there: a bit of chocolate, a scoop from the nut butter. I’m a PB addict, too!

    Reply

  4. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:34:27

    Nice run! I totally get you on the speed workouts – I always kind of dreaded them too – not easy.

    Glad you enjoyed the guilt-free nap! I rarely get one but it’s just heaven when it happens.

    Oh I had pb & honey on toast this morning for the first time in ages – so very good.

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 06:37:25

    I sneak PB too. I don’t know if this will help since you live alone, but lately I’ve been trying not to do it when I’m alone, but when my mom or dad is in the room with me. It makes me so much more conscious of the spoonfuls I’m taking, while not depriving myself of the nut butter I want. Do you always stand up when picking? I think that sitting down with the PB jar might make you more conscious as well!

    Reply

  6. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 12:30:34

    Hi dear!!! TWO accomplishments!!!! Self-acceptance of what your body needs (I need to remind myself to do this too) AND some fantastic speed-work!! You rock girl!!!

    Now can you move to DC so we can crush SpeedWork Tuesdays together???? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

