Workout/Eating Habits

Today’s Happy Note: I’m in tune with my body!  I noticed a lot of other women in yoga class really struggling to connect with their bodies and realized how close I am to my own body.  I wasn’t judging them or anything, just noticing.  I know where my joints are, the way things move.  I have years of gymnastics, running, swimming, and now yoga to thank for this.

Workout: Thought about kick-boxing, but my heart wasn’t in it, so I skipped it and did 30 minutes of seriously heavy arm weights and an hour yoga class at the gym.  I really enjoyed the yoga class at the gym, actually.  Sometimes the studio feels a  little pretentious and tiresome and elitist.  Also walked a mile or two.  I have a hard speed workout for tomorrow so I’m conserving some energy. 🙂

Workouts are not always going to be joyfully fun, but you shouldn’t ever force yourself to do something that you just don’t want to do.  I have so many friends who ask me things like, “how are you so healthy when you’re so busy?” or “how do you make yourself workout all the time?”

Well, first of all, I think we need to change the way we look at “working out” or “exercising.”  For me, it is not an hour of my day where I drag myself to the gym, force myself to get through a boring routine, and then come home and watch TV.  Working out is a part of my life.  It’s as integrated into the way I live as eating or writing or going to class or work.  Further, I would get pretty tired of working out too if I spent an hour on the elliptical at the gym everyday. I think it’s actually pretty easy to work some movement into your day: it might be an hour and a half walk in the evening or an early yoga class or half an hour of dancing in your room.

It takes anywhere from a few weeks to a few months to form a habit.  I am lucky in that I was very active in high school and carried that pattern relatively easily into college,so I didn’t have to start from scratch (like I have had to with my emotional eating patterns).  Many people struggle to workout in college — but I think of it as a little escape from the schoolwork.  When you look at it as an important part of your day that will help you focus better and think more clearly, you’re less likely to skip out.

Eats:

Look!  My lentils are crawling on my tofu like ants.  I couldn’t help but share my adorable lunch find with my coworkers.

Probably didn’t need the small bowl of granola pictured above right but whatever.  I have found that eating 4-6 (depending on my activity level) meals of about 400 calories each.  A 100-200 calorie snack is always too small for me, while a 600-700 calorie lunch or dinner feels too big.  I am really enjoying this way of eating — I don’t follow any rules or plans and don’t deny myself if I’m hungry.  This just seems to work, for now.  And when it doesn’t work, I’ll change things up.

Goodnight goodnight goodnight!  Time for me to sleep.  Even though I took a nap like five hours ago.  Don’t judge.

Happy Tuesday!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 01:56:32

    Enjoy a well earned sleep missus 🙂 I’d love to reconnect with exercise sometime and have a relationship with it as you do here. I think I’m very fearful of how I used to use exercise and in that sense it would be like starting from scratch…

    Happy Tuesday to you too – it’s art PhD day for me today wohoo 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. ~Jessica Zara~
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 04:37:20

    Granola included, it’s still a very light day of eats ~ I think you’re developing a great relationship with food as well as exercize and it’s wonderful to see how amazingly you’re progressing 🙂

    I think exercize tends to be very much an ‘all or nothing’ thing for a lot of people. And finding something you love and enjoy is definitely the key ~ I can’t stand the elliptical trainer for example, and hate being on the thing. I do use it sometimes as a means of keeping my muscles working without any impact, but that’s more of a maintainance of mobility thing than a fitness thing. And to be on there for hours every day? No thank-you. Switching things up is so much better…not that I’d be bored with running though! I think I much prefer to be outdoors in the fresh air in general ~ it’s why I hate the winter so much!

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 06:38:32

    I love your workout mentality! I agree, going to the gym for me is like eating dinner or going to sleep. Just somethign that’s a normal and natural part of my day.

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 07:00:07

    I’m glad to hear you feel so in tune with your body! I’ll admit, one of the big reasons I don’t like yoga is because my body feels so awkward while I’m doing it. As much as I LOVE working out, it’s more of a “mental awareness” time for me, and less of a physical awareness, if you know what I mean. This is a great post- it’s so true that it’s mainly a habit!

    Reply

  5. Elina (Healthy and Sane)
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 13:35:43

    Just found your blog and wanted to say hi 🙂
    It’s funny – I totally use the same example with doing the elliptical for whatever period everyday. I just can’t imagine it’s enjoyable. It’s fun to set goals and change things up. The only goal you can really set with an elliptical is going longer, and that’s just torture. Once working out is truly a part of your life, it’s impossible to go too long without it 😀
    PS – I’m hosting a couscous giveaway. Check it out if you’re interested!

    Reply

  6. Hayley
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 14:02:19

    So true! I admit that sometimes I feel just a hint of guilt (which I then tell myself is just silly) when I’m not doing a workout-workout, say, at the gym. Like today… the elliptical is taunting me but what I really WANT to do is go for a leisurely walk when the weather cools off this evening. So that’s what I’m going to do!

    Reply

  7. eatmovelove
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 14:17:14

    First time to your blog – I always see you comment on HEAB 🙂 Love the name – very unique! Very insightful post. I like how you say it’s not about an hour on an elliptical or (in my words) being a gym rat or killing yourself…a simple walk by the water can just. be. enough.

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:20:59

    yay! glad to hear you are feeling connected to your body. it is you after all! hope you had a wonderful day ladybug!

    Reply

  9. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 08:07:21

    Happy days are the best 🙂 I’m glad you’re in tune with your body today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

