All Grown Up

Today’s Happy Note: An excursion to the new Trader Joe’s in Chelsea!  It was awesome; spacious and calm and totally the opposite of the Union Square Trader Joe’s.  Not frenetic and crazed.  Loved it.

Pretty good day.  Busy but not overwhelmingly so — those are my favorite kind of days.  I won’t lie though: I may be 20 years old, a senior in college, and holding down two “real” jobs, but there are moments when I wish I was twelve again, reading in my backyard and running through the sprinkler all summer long.  I used to have the house all to myself everyday of summer from when I was about twelve on.  I would make brownies, reread the whole Harry Potter series, and dance outside when it rained.

I kinda want that back.  Being an adult is hard.

Today started with a brunch for Second Job, which ended yesterday.  I feel really sad about it actually.  Organizing and overseeing within the framework of a non-profit has been something I have truly fallen in love with.  My students are my babies, my coworkers are heroic.

Also: I love huevos rancheros.

Cookie the size of my head.

That is oats topped with chocolate and peanut butter.  I know many bloggers have said this before so it kinda isn’t original but: PB and chocolate is my favorite food combination in the entire world. No questions asked.

Other favorite food combinations: hummus and cheddar cheese, carrots and almond butter, mango and coconut, salmon and asparagus.

Your favorite food combos?

I ended the day with a nice little workout: 20 minutes of arm strength and a 6 mile run with lots of hills.  Currently watching movies, snuggling in bed, and thinking of fun things to do this weekend.  Any suggestions?

I need an Adventure!  This is my first free weekend in a while.

What are your plans?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 00:36:41

    I admire the fact that you do two jobs, work out, and manage to fit in blogging too! Wow…you put me to shame 😉 One of my favourite food combos at the moment…don’t know if this counts, but I love having chocolate, mid morning, with a nice cup of coffee. Simple, but blissful…

    Naturally I plan to do art this weekend, and at some point I need to bake my brother a chocolate cake given that he did me a favour last week 🙂

    Hope your weekend is lovely

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. ~Jessica Zara~
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 06:27:31

    I yearn for my childhood too sometimes, and the carefree lack of responsibility it brought. When you reach 20+ there seems to be a list of things society expects you to have accomplished, where as when you’re younger that pressure isn’t there. There are perks to being an adult though…I wouldn’t go back to my school days if someone offered me millions to do it.

    You are one productive lady! As Sarah said, I don’t know how you do it…I’d be falling asleep on my arm by the end of the day.

    Nut butter and banana is such a cliché, but it’s truly a classic combination. I also love the savoury taste of PB mixed with rice wine vinegar and soy sauce. I had some on my stir-fry last night but really just wanted a bowl full of the sauce 😉

    Art is in my future for this week-end too, as well as a lot of time staring at my thesis. It’s make or break time and I have 2000 words to cut! Fingers crossed for some pain-free running too.

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxxx

    Reply

    • caronae
      Aug 14, 2010 @ 10:39:30

      I love making stir-fry sauce with PB and soy sauce; I aqlso like to throw in some maple syrup and ginger! Good luck with the running and the thesis. You can do it! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Kate
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 07:41:06

    if you some how find away to go to that childlike state of no responsibilities, let me know!!!! being an adult is hard but at times really great. i wish i had a magic switch to for when i sick of adult life that would take me back to my youth.

    anyway, enjoy your weekend! i too am free of plans this weekend and refused to make any. i am going with the flow and seeing where it will take me!

    Reply

  4. leashieloo
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 14:30:58

    I love chocolate and caramel 🙂 I agree that being an adult is hard, at 27 it hasn’t gotten any easier. I still feel like a child at heart, I still get a flutter when I hear the ice cream man!

    Reply

  5. Salah
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 21:34:43

    chocolate and peanut butter is the BEST combo out there!!!! I really miss being a child….when I’ve been packing my lunches lately they’ve been looking more and more similar to my PB&J lunches that I had all the time when I was little

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 08:33:18

    I’m glad we are filling up your free weekend by seeing a movie together! Never too much Joanne+Caronae time. I’m totally with you on the PB+Chocolate. And on the mango and coconut. I just had a mango pina colada last night…amazing.

    Reply

  7. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 12:25:03

    My favourite combo is cheese with everything 😀

    Reply

  8. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 12:48:41

    Nice workout chica!!! 6 miles WITH hills is bomb!!!

    I ❤ PB + Chocolate too. My favorite new combo is Chocolate protein smoothies with some PB….Mmmmm 🙂

    Reply

  9. Marina
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 21:19:24

    I just went to the Chelsea Trader Joe’s too! I’ve been there a few times and I agree, it is absolute HEAVEN compared to the Union Square one!

    I miss childhood too. It is REALLY hard once you hit your 20’s, and there is really no amount of preparing that one can do to feel “ready” for it.

    Reply

  10. pen
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 14:46:05

    Being an adult can sometimes stink…and we’ll always miss the fun of being a kid. But, believe me, being an adult is, for the most part, totally worth it. As someone who grew up with family of origin issues, it’s freeing to know that this is MY LIFE now. The only person who can change my life to make it they way I want it to be and the way that will make me happy is me. And that is the most incredibly empowering thing about being an adult.

    My happiness and contentment is solely in my adult hands.

    That said, the hum-drum daily aspect of being an adult with all those adult responsibilities takes some getting used to, and I definitely did not feel the way I currently feel when I first entered the real adult world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

