Eating Things In Jars

Today’s Happy Note: Lots of time talking with an awesome friend tonight. 🙂  Sometimes that is exactly what you need!

Looooonnnngggggg day.  Started at 8:00 AM and ended at 10:00 pm.  In and out of the apartment, at the store, at the office, on the phone, frantically emailing, on the bus, to another store, picking up bagels, on the computer, entering data into spreadsheets, organizing last day of classes for second job, crazy, crazy, crazy.

Mental Health Note: I practically didn’t have time to breathe.  But I have learned something really valuable about myself in the last year or so: when I have days or moments like this, frantically, overwhelmingly busy, I tend to wind up sad, anxious,  and depressed.  I tend to get riled up and never get un-riled.  So I like to plan out something nice for myself in advance!  okay, so I didn’t really plan today.  But  it worked out, because I got to spend some quality time with two great friends.   Talking and giggling and wondering and smiling and just knowing each other.  I love that.

No time for a workout today!  I thought about getting up at 6 to run but I wasn’t in bed until 2.  I slept in until 8 instead, which was definitely the better choice.  I was on my feet all day though; definitely walked several miles.  And lugged around several pounds of juice and bagels all over the city.  This is what my job entails.

I made a most excellent food discovery today!  You all know I love my OIAJ.  Well, introducing…

Stir Fry In A Jar!

Last night I wanted something easy to make and portable to take.  I had an almost-empty Mighty Maple pb jar in the fridge.  The cogs in my head started moving…I love maple and peanuts in a stir fry.  I had everything I needed on hand: tofu, salt, EVOO, lemon pepper, green bell pepper, carrots and rice.  I sauteed everything together and steamed the rice then combined.

Holy moly this was wonderful!  Like, maybe life-changing-wonderful.

I would do this with regular PB or perhaps even AB as well.  I want to try it with pad thai next.  Yum yum yum, nom nom nom.

Also eaten in a jar: dessert.

A bit of coconut gelato and various chocolate pieces.

I shall have to experiment with eating more things in jars!  Ideas?  Thoughts?  Do you like food in jars?

Goodnight friends.  Happy Friday!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ilana
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 23:08:59

    I have a massive and ever-growing collection of jars that is cluttering up my whole life. But yes, everything in a jar!!

    Reply

  2. shesarunner
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 23:58:31

    That’s such a creative idea! It sounds so good. I’ve honestly never tried oats in a jar. It’s one of those blogger trends that just never caught on with me. Maybe if I tried it I would like it, but I never understood what was so good about it? I kind of enjoy food in bowls…but maybe I’m just being stubborn. I mean, if everyone likes it so much, I guess there might be something to it. Either way, the combination sounds amazing!! Have a great night.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 02:56:54

    Ooh things in jars! Something I’ll have to try 🙂 I know what you mean about being busy, and I’m glad you are thinking proactively about your mental health…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Simply Life
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 09:58:23

    I love that idea! Looks great!

    Reply

  5. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 12:29:21

    yum! Something about that white rice looks really good to me…
    and OMG are those petit ecolier cookies!? LOVE.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

