A Post From The UK

Today’s Happy Note: Receiving lots of fun things in the mail today, including a sweet stack of magazines from my aunt and uncle!

No, I’m not in the UK.  But I did receive some post from the UK!

The highlight was a special letter from my special friend Sarah. Sarah and I decided to do a little writing exchange about a month back.  We both wrote about our favorite summer memories and then mailed them to each other.  It was the most fun I’ve had in a while; there is something so joyful about writing a letter, knowing someone is writing one to you too.  I loved reading Sarah’s piece — she wrote about childhood trips to a seashore.  I had vacations to Northern Michigan exactly like that!  Crazy to think that two girls, living on different continents, can have such beautiful, shared experiences.  Makes me think that people across the world have more in common than we think, sometimes.

Look how pretty her letter and card are:

It’s Royal Mail!

Thank you Sarah for such a delightful activity!

Workout: Today marks the beginning of marathon training — I am creating a day by day plan for the next 14 weeks, based largely off of this plan from Runner’s World.  I’ll let you know more about the plan as I work through it.  Mondays are actually going to be rest/cross-train days (depending on how I feel).  Obviously, I wasn’t too tired today. I did my usual two mile walk, thirty minutes of yoga, and kickboxing (boxing?) class. I love punching things.  So much.

Tomorrow should be six miles.   Excited!

Today’s Eats:

Frozen blueberries with cereal (kashi H2H) and Ronnybrook Farm milk: heavenly breakfast simplicity.

Lunch: giant salad with refried beans and hummus as a dressing.  More blueberries (fresh this time).

Afternoon snack (also had a few spoonfuls of PB and a chunk of cheese before dinner because I waited too long to start cooking and was super hungry).

An egg (sunny side-up!), a veggie sautee (avocado squash and purple pepper) along with baked eggplant with cheese. Random but yummy.  I love dinners like this, with a few different components that work together really well.

Protein ice cream: milk, chocolate-peanut-caramel protein powder, lots of ice, topped with chocolate and maple PB.   I have been craving chocolate a lot lately.  I blame my screwed up hormones.

Good news: my INR is finally high enough! I will have to get it tested weekly or monthly from now on to make sure it stays high enough (i.e., that my blood is thin enough).  I am kind of afraid I look like an IV drug user right now, so it will be nice not to have IVs so often!  Although I do have two more this week.  Awesome.

Goodnight friends.  Tell me about your weekend!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaztronomic
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 22:34:16

    I LOVE the idea of a writing exchange! Getting mail is always so fun and exciting, but it must have been extra cool to have come from overseas! 😀

    Congrats on getting into the NYC Marathon! I think you are so awesome for not letting unexpected life situations hold you back, and I know you’re going to do great. =)

    And congrats on getting you INR up high enough. I’m relieved to hear it. =)

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 01:21:22

    Aw thank you for the lovely mention – I would love to do it again…we shall have to think of some new themes, maybe go with the seasons again and do something related to autumn? Or ‘fall’ as you guys call it? 😉 I will probably be able to fit it in again soon, because it actually makes a really nice break from doing art.

    Yay that your INR is finally behaving itself 🙂 and I’m excited about following your training progress for the marathon.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 07:36:19

    I absolutely LOOOVEEE getting mail so this sounds like SUCH a fun idea. Mail is even better when it’s international. I’m convinced.

    Congrats on the NYC marathon! I have decided to do the Disney World Marathon with Team In Training in January as they asked me to mentor. Even if I have to walk it…I WILL be doing it!

    Woot woot on the INR! Keep up the good work love!

    Reply

  4. Mari
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 12:36:30

    I love when I get a package or letter in the mail…it is much nicer than getting bills lol

    Reply

  5. ~Jessica Zara~
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 12:55:13

    Brilliant news about the INR!

    And I am so pleased that you got into the NYC Marathon (while being rather jealous at the same time!) Can’t wait to hear more about your training. I’m actually hoping to do the Newcastle Town Moor marathon this November (it’s on the 21st) so I’ll be pressed for time on training too as I won’t be able to start ‘properly’ until my injury sorts itself out.

    I’m always amazed by how much bloggers can have in common despite living miles apart…but I think the greatest thing you and Sarah share is your collective kindess, creativity and strength.

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  6. kbwood
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 20:54:41

    congrats on your INR being high enough girl!! that is AWESOME!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

