NYC Marathon Announcement

Today’s Happy Note: Lots of fun social time this weekend with two of my best friends.  Long meals, walks and talks, hugs. Friends never fail to improve my mood and happiness.

So.  Beautiful friends.  I have some very big (and exciting) news.  If you follow me on twitter or we’re facebook friends you probably already know.  But I’m so excited about it that I’m going to go ahead and make a big, dramatic announcement all over again.

I got into the 2010 ING NYC Marathon!

This is the marathon of marathons — the marathon that all marathoners dream of running.  Everyone dreams of running New York.  I’ve wanted to run it since fall of 2007, when I was a college freshman and got to see it in person. The fall weather, the juxtaposition of the boroughs, the bridges, the camarederie.  I said to myself, that very day, that I would run New York some day.  And now I am.

Let me explain: I did not get  in through the traditional lottery (which is pretty hard to get in through) nor did I do the NYRR 9+1 program.  My school’s running club gets a certain number of guaranteed entries; I originally thought I would get one, because I have done two ultras and will be a senior, so it’s my last opportunity, but by the time June rolled around and I hadn’t heard back from the club, I assumed all hope was lost.  I was pretty devastated, but thought I might try the 9+1 program next year.  But, the other day, lo and behold, I got an email from the club president saying I had a spot!

I have exactly fourteen weeks to train.  Many marathon plans are longer than this, so I will have to use my time very wisely.  I plan on putting special focus on speed work (mile repeats, tempo runs, hills) and long runs.  I have been working on creating my training plan this weekend.  I did yoga Friday night, 6 miles on Saturday (this is a “long” run for me — I am still building back up my running speed and endurance), and weights + a 6 mile walk today.

I am sure you’re going to be hearing about my training (the highs, the lows, the meltdowns, the eating, etc.) a LOT until November 7th.  You have been warned. Fun fact: the marathon is actually the day after I turn 21!

I know I need to build up my mileage slowly but I also need to get up there; July has been pretty quiet in terms of running.  I know I’ll be okay starting between 20-25 miles per week because I have been higher than this level consistently for a few years.  I would like to peak between 50-55 miles.

Many people who are relatively healthy gain weight while marathon training.  I am going to have to be extremely careful.  I need to remember that “I ran 8 miles today!  And I ran 8 miles yesterday too!” doesn’t mean I can mindlessly, endlessly snack.  I think I’ll be okay as long as I genuinely listen to my body.

Training for a marathon is probably not something that people on blood thinners (and with a history of PEs) do very often, but it is okay. The only danger would be if I fell really hard and/or hit my head — I will bleed internally or externally very quickly.  I am clumsy and trip all the time while running, but have never had a serious fall; I don’t see one happening now.

Time for me to go chop veggies for the week and fold clothes!

I promise there will be pretty pictures and stories tomorrow.  For now, I’m tired just thinking about training!

1. Have you ever run a marathon?  What was it like?

2. Have you ever run the NYC marathon?

3. Anyone running NYC this year?

4. Don’t worry non-runners, I have a question for you too!  What activity makes you feel the most free and happy and clear-headed?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 00:00:40

    Wohoo! Congrats 🙂 I’m so excited for you…I bet that will be such an awesome marathon to run. My little secret…I ran the London Marathon when I was 19. Probably for the wrong reasons! As you know I don’t run anymore, but I shall look forward to reading about your progress, and they often screen it here on TV in the UK, so if they do I’ll be watching 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Ilana
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 07:57:34

    Awesome! I really want to run the NYC marathon but that would involve, well, you know, me actually knowing how to run. My uncle and my stepfather each run it every year – my uncle runs for the children’s ward team at Sloane and Kettering (he’s an oncologist so it really means something to him) and my stepdad runs with the Michael J Fox team for Parkinson’s research (my stepgrandfather has Parkinsons). I’ll probably go to cheer the runners on! See you there 🙂 I want to start training by the end of this year so I can run next year’s marathon, though!
    I like to walk and do Pilates to clear my head – it really puts me somewhere else!

    Reply

  3. blueeyedheart
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 08:10:03

    Congratulations, that’s amazing!! 😀 The closest I’ve ever come to the NYC Marathon is getting annoyed that I couldn’t cross the street because of it. 😉

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

  4. dmcgirl37
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 08:24:44

    Congrats!!! you must be so excited 🙂

    Happy for you!!
    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  5. shesarunner
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 10:46:39

    Congrats! That’s amazing. I’m excited for you!
    I’ve never run a marathon, but I know I will one day. It’s definitely one of my goals. Good luck with your training!

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 20:05:22

    congratulations! very cool accomplishment!

    Reply

  7. Michal
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 19:41:00

    Congratulations girl that is so exciting! 🙂 I cant wait to hear all about your training!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

