A Thing About Cravings.

Today’s Happy Note: Well, you might say that I am msot definitely caught up on my sleep….

I went to bed at eleven last night, planning to get up at 7:45 for a run and be at work by 10.  When my alarm went off, I decided to sleep in until 8:30…okay, no problem, I would still get to work on time.  8:45 rolled around and I dragged myself into the kitchen for a pretty awesome smoothie (Silk vanilla soy milk, 1/2 scoop chocolate/peanut/caramel protein powder,loads of ice, and half a banana.  All topped with Kashi heart to heart and some crunchy PB).

And then I went to my room to check email and promptly feel back asleep…until 2:00.

I have not done that since high school!  I would wake up every hour or two and think, okay, it’s time to get up now, but it was like I was in a stupor.  It was the deepest exhaustion I have felt in a long while.  So I basically slept for 15 hours.  I know I am still “sick” on the inside, so I guess it kind of makes sense, given that I have been doing a lot in the last week or so.

I made lunch when I woke up and did work on the computer (for the other job) for a few hours.

I had a mild freakout at lunchtime, when I realized that all I wanted was oats.  Carbs?  At lunchtime?  Never!!!!!!  But.  I wanted the damn oatmeal, with a fresh peach, cinnamon raisin PB, and melty dark chocolate.  This lunch proved to me how important it is to eat what I want: my body knows what it needs.  Oatmeal at lunchtime is not going to make me fat. I know this.

I might lose the weight a little bit faster if I ate salads for every meal, but I can guarantee that I would be a pretty miserable human being. 🙂

Lunch dessert (what, you don’t have lunch dessert?!?!):

Coconut popsicle and baby dark chocolate truffle.  This was eaten so late, I never had an afternoon snack.

I finally left the house around four.  At first, my brain went in to extreme mode and thought “geez Caronae, you have already been so lazy and immobile and gluttonous (that one’s not even true!) today that you should just stay in.  Just make yourself more miserable, you don’t deserve to go out for a walk or get to the gym.”  This is utterly ridiculous.  Does anyone else do this?  I hate my all or nothing mindset.

But I got out anyways!  I walked to the gym and lifted for about 45 minutes, then took a class called Sports Conditioning.  It was really fun and a great workout!  Not quite as good as my beloved kixkboxing, but still awesome.  We did lots  of cardio/strength mixtures, with jumping, abs, and running thrown in.

I was happy that I got out of the house (apartment) and did something.  No effort to move is ever too small.

I did some house tasks before dinner.  We started here…

And ended here:

Yes, that is the biggest pile of sauteed rainbow chard (and spinach!) man has ever seen.  I ate about half of what I cooked.  It was pretty spectacular.  Topped with two sunny-side up eggs (I love love love runny yolks) and bell pepper strips.  With a peach on the side!

This dinner was pure love.  I was craving some fresh veg and protein.  The chard and the eggs were from the farmer’s market.  Can’t wait to go restock my veggies (and chocolate milk of course) tomorrow!

Funny thing about dark leafy greens: as we all know, our greens are good for us.  They are rich in Vitamin K and I actually really enjoy them; cooked, raw, in omelets, stir-fries, smoothies, salads, wraps.  But.  Vitamin K interferes with the coagulation coefficient of the blood thinners I have to take (namely, the Coumadin).  In the past, Coumadin patients were advised to totally avoid greens and other veggies rich in Vitamin K.  But then, people like me, for whom that would not be possible, came around.  Okay, so maybe it’s not that simple, but you get the point.

The solution?  I can either eat no dark leafy greens at all or eat lots.  I chose the latter. 🙂  That way, it will still interfere with the drug, but they can simply give me a higher dose consistently.  My dosage is still creeping up; we’ll see how high I have to go.  I am not giving up my chard, bok choy, spinach, collards, arugula, etc.  Never!

I made a giant batch of iced tea and have already had two huge classes.  I use chamomile tea bags, a packet of stevia, and a few teaspoons of honey.  Summer perfection.

Dessert was of course consumed:

Raspberry chobani with Godiva raspberry dark chocolate and a tablespoon of Justin’s chocolate almond butter.  There are no words.  This was like a decadent ice cream sundae.  I’m in love.

Another thing I have learned about cravings: if I don’t eat what I want for dessert, I will end up overeating/emotional eating afterwards.  So I ate this “big dessert”, but now I know I won’t be raiding the cupboard in an hour or two!  So simple.

I hope everyone is having a most wonderful week.

Here’s to hoping that my 15 hours of sleep last night means I am wide awake tomorrow!

Goodnight!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Opal
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 22:22:03

    lol i love you Caronae

    Reply

  2. shesarunner
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 23:55:54

    Yes, I have black and white thinking ALL the time. It is awful! I am so happy for you that you were able to beat it, tell it to shut the eff up, and go to the gym anyway. I do the same thing- thinking that if I can’t be absolutely perfect then why bother. The thing is that we will NEVER be perfect, we will never be enough for ourselves if we continue thinking this way, because there will always be something that is not how we would ideally like it to be. We just have to learn that it’s OKAY. It doesn’t have to be perfect. It doesn’t have to be black or white. There are shades of grey. We just have to do the best we can in any given situation, and that is enough. Good for you for getting past those thoughts today! Very admirable.

    Reply

  3. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 00:25:29

    Ahhhhh I love sleeping in! And yes I’ve slept that much more times than I’d like to admit 🙂

    I also struggle with an “all or nothing” mindset. I think it’s the biochemist in me (biochemical reactions are also known ‘all or nothing’ reactions because they either happen or not at all–just in case you wanted some geeky trivia 😉
    But yeah, I have to tell myself that there IS a grey area. Ex: say I really want to run 6 miles but only have time for 2.5. I constantly struggle with not throwing in the towel but rather getting out there and doing the 2.5 because 2.5 is better than 0!

    Anywhooo, enough rambling 🙂 Have a great night XOXOX

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jul 29, 2010 @ 08:39:38

      OMG I have the EXACT same problem with running. I tell myself that 3 miles isn’t worth it so why bother, but you’re right, even that little bit can make a difference!

      Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 01:15:52

    That dinner looks very artistic 🙂

    It is so nice to see you appreciating your body and what it wants. Sometimes I think the biggest problem for all of us is just trying to listen to ourselves. What do we need? We spend so much time trying to impose rules on ourselves that it’s easy to lose sight of what the body is really trying to say.

    Also thanks for sending such a lovely email – am just off to reply to it now 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. Chelsey
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 06:20:38

    Thanks for stopping by the blog girl!! I commented on your mental health page – you are truly amazing.

    If I could, I would eat oats at breakfast, lunch, and dinner – and possibly a few snacks here and there. 🙂

    I am so glad you are listening to your body. I usually do not squash a craving because it’s usually my body trying to tell me something!

    Reply

  6. Michal
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 07:18:54

    Sleeping in can be so nice 🙂 Ill have days like that too sometimes where i just cant motivate myself to get out of bed and go workout. If im having a day like that i know my body needs rest and i sleep and sleep till i cant no more!

    Reply

  7. Ilana
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 09:19:20

    It’s actually not true that you’ll lose the weight faster if you only eat salads all day errday – oatmeal is GREAT food for sustaining weight loss because it keeps you so full because of the complex carbs, and your body processes the fiber and eliminates it quickly. Great for lowering cholesterol too! So you for sure deserve a round of applause for listening to what your body WANTS!
    I’ve definitely been at the “Well you’ve already been unproductive all day you may as well keep it up” thought processes, and it’s pretty hard to break out of, but clearly you’re on a good path – every day is another day to start again, screw it, every moment is another chance to start again. I like to work out at night for that reason – even if I have been utterly unproductive all day, at least I know I’ll accomplish something by the end of it!
    xoxo keep on writing I love to read it! I’m not great at commenting all the time but I definitely always read!

    Reply

  8. kaztronomic
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 15:00:42

    I think your approach to eating is so healthy and normal, and I’m both jealous and admiring. 😀 I still struggle with the “good” food and “bad” food mentality, and some things I hesitate to “allow” myself to eat after a certain hour. I love how you eat what you want and don’t apologize for it.

    Your dessert looks amazing! I wish I could eat yogurt, just so I could eat your raspberry-on-raspberry chocolate nutbutter bliss. -drool-

    Reply

  9. ~Jessica Zara~
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 16:03:15

    I’m not surprised you fell asleep! I’m still astounded by how quickly you have bounced back from your recent health scare ~ just shows how strong that body of yours is and how worthy of the great way you’re treating it right now it ALSO is 🙂

    Of course carbs are needed for lunch! Think of all the healthy living bloggers who eat them: they’re slim, toned, healthy and active. Healthy carbs, particularly yummy ones like oats, are crucial for satiety and never made anyone fat. They aren’t the devil!

    And you might not lose weight faster on just salads! You have to keep that metabolism going too, and underfiring it isn’t a good idea or particularly sustainable.

    Congrats on the workout…I know that I have an all/nothing mentality too. I’ve injured myself again and think ‘if I can’t run (or walk right now!) what’s the point in doing anything? But I can lift weights so lift weights I shall.

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  10. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 21:27:24

    I feel you on the dessert front. I ALWAYS want dark chocolate, and if I don’t let myself have it, I end up eating the whole kitchen instead. The chocolate/pb combo sounds heavenly. YAY for lots of sleep, it sounds like you needed it! I’m glad you’re feeling better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

