I Like Hitting Things.

Today’s Happy Note: Not hating my body at the gym! For some reason I felt strong and confident and I appreciated my height and my small waist.  There was no body-hating going on at all.  Score!

I took the afternoon off from the office job.  I had a boatload of important errands to do (such as going on a quest in search of the new Larabar flavors), computer work to do for the other job, a conference call, and a kick boxing class to get  to!  You can read about how the first  class basically changed my life here.  I missed last week since I had just gotten out of the hospital, but I was determined to make it today (although I was quite close to taking a nap instead).  So glad I did.

Apparently I just really love punching things?  It’s a good mix of cardio and strength and plyometrics and abs and just all kinds of different moves.  I did about a half an hour of weights beforehand.  I’m starting to feel like myself again!

Bad news though: my stupid stupid INR is still nowhere near high enough.  Sad face.  This means I have to keep doing the Lovenox injections.  Fun.  And increasing the Coumadin very very slowly (so that I don’t bleed to death).  This probably doesn’t make a lot of sense to most of you, but that’s okay.  My point here is not intellectual clarity.  It’s more that I’m rambling-venting.  To myself.  On my public blog.

I make so much sense.

Food I ate today:

Breakfast: TJ’s flax oatmeal made with half vanilla soymilk and half water, a precious farmer’s market peach, and a tablespoon of Justin’s (amazing) maple almond butter.

Birds’ eye view of lunch.

Giant salad with mixed lettuces, yellow squash with EVOO, avocado, and coconut maple tofu.  With a side of pear.

Afternoon snack involved a new protein powder find!  Designer whey chocolate carmel peanut.  I know there are artificial flavors involved, but it’s so good I don’t care.  I blended it with chocolate milk and ice and topped it with chocolate almond butter.  Mmmmmmmmm.

This kept me full for like five hours, which never happens!

Dinner was pretty swell.

A giant pile of baked plain eggplant, microwave steamed zucchini, meatballs, topped with smooth marinara, cheese, and dried basil.  All heated up so it was nice and hot and the cheese was melty, just how I like it.

Followed that up with avocado chocolate pudding!  Topped with coconut snow and two squares of Godiva raspberry dark chocolate.  This dessert was heaven.  On a baby spoon.

Perfect.

I have three doctors appointments tomorrow morning.  I have to leave at 8:30 or so and probably won’t get back until 9:00 PM.  Yikes!  Time to pack everything and prep lunch and snacks. 🙂

Goodnight my friends, sleep tight.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blueeyedheart
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 21:29:53

    I love hitting things. It’s very therapeutic!!

    Good luck with your appointments tomorrow!

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

  2. kaztronomic
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 23:13:18

    I never thought of kickboxing like that, but yeah, now that I think about it, I bet I’d like kickboxing, too. 😀 I need to see if my local gym has it, and if so, I want to give it a go.

    I hope you get your INR levels sorted out. ❤

    Your dessert looks like heaven! Omg! I wish I had some cocoa powder (forgot to buy it at the store, darn!) because I want to make it like, now. Yum.

    Reply

  3. ~Jessica Zara~
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 04:40:09

    Hehe, I like hitting things too. It’s incredibly cathartic…sadly I had to stop Body Combat (closest equivalent to kickboxing I’ve done) due to the high impact on my joints. It was between that and running, and I chose running. I do miss a good punching session though!

    Wishing you luck with the appointments and fingers crossed that the INR levels improve.

    *hugs*

    ~Jess~
    xxxxxxx

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 07:22:51

    Woot woot for having a GOOD body image day! You go girl! Kickboxing must feel so empowering…as soon as my stress fractures are healed I’m giving it a try.

    And going on a quest for larabars is the best reason to skip out of work. I need to try those flavors!

    I’m so sorry about your INR. Just keep chugging, you’ll get there.

    Reply

  5. Missy Maintains
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 09:39:49

    Glad you felt good about yourself at the gym!! I love having those days! Kickboxing is awesome. Which location do you take it at? I love the one in Queens (there is a really hot teacher too!!!)

    Reply

  6. therabbitrunner
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 13:12:23

    haha i always say kickboxing is an okay way of punching out your anger! Its socially acceptable 🙂 haha

    i hope you find those new larabars (the cookie dough is crazy good) and good luck at the doctors!! you are in my prayers 🙂

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 14:14:36

    Hope the doctor’s appointments are going well! I’m so glad to hear about your body confidence- that’s so wonderful!! Keep up that feeling 🙂

    I’m thinking of going to Caitlin’s (Healthy Tipping Point) appearance on the Today show next Thursday morning, if you’d like to join?

    Reply

  8. shesarunner
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 16:03:21

    I love kickboxing too! I have been doing it since I was 15 but not very regularly…when I first started I went to a weekly class and I loved getting out all that aggression. I’ve always been the little quiet one who never gets angry, I honestly don’t think I’ve ever raised my voice at anyone in my life, so it felt good to let out the pent up frustrations.
    I’m so happy to hear about your body confidence. I admire you- I hope to get to that place eventually. Keep up that mindset.
    Good luck at the doctor’s appointments…I’m sorry that you are still doing the self-injections, I really hope your INR rises soon.

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 16:07:52

    Eek! Good luck with all those appointments…and yay for not hating your body 🙂

    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

