In A Day’s Eats

Today’s Happy Note: I was feeling a lot of anxiety last night and sent my therapist a rant email and she sent me back a very soothing message.  She really is a major comfort.  It’s pretty sweet that she is there for me even on the weekend.

Thank you everyone for your kind, insightful comments yesterday. One thing that a lot of people pointed out was that I am still me, regardless of my size.  Additionally, most people on the beach are not looking at me at all!  They have better things to do than pay attention to the minutiae of my body. And in fact I have better things to do than pay attention to the minutiae of my body!

I feel like I have been lazy today.  The weird thing is that I can’t decide if this is actually true.  I mean, I did stuff, I just feel like it wasn’t enough stuff. I feel like Sundays should be devoted to getting-things-done.  I didn’t even workout (although I did walk maybe two or so miles).  Meh.  I guess maybe some Sundays are meant for total relaxation, perhaps?  What do you prefer — crazy busy Sundays that prepare you for the week ahead or lazy Sundays?

I did manage to pick myself up off the couch for a quick Adventure to the farmer’s market and the Cathedral. Fresh local peaches from the farmer’s market in summer are truly heavenly.  They might be my favorite food, ever.  I can’t even eat store bought ones anymore.  Other finds: crunchy cucumbers, rainbow chard, pea shoots, and mixed lettuces.

Started the day with a giant, real NY bagel (seven grain) with walnut raisin cream cheese (which, by the way, is cream cheese perfection).   I feel like bagels are a traditional NY Sunday brunch, so how could I say no?  I went with the family.  I am not a big bread person, but I really like a good bagel once a week or so.  And the cream cheese is wonderful because it’s so full of fat and keeps me full for hours.  I had this around eleven and didn’t even begin to think about eating again until after four.

My late afternoon snack was a SIAB made with vanilla soy milk, a splash of kefir, vanilla hemp/whey protein powder, lots of ice, frozen blueberries and frozen cherries.  Toppings: kashi heart to  heart cereal and Justin’s maple almond butter.

I also had a tiny bowl of cereal afterwards to satisfy my  giant cereal craving.

At some point between this and dinner I had a tiny handful of nuts and a piece of chocolate.

Dinner=meat. Dear meat, I love you.  I will never, ever leave you.

This is a multigrain wrap stuffed with home made meatballs (from farmer’s market ground beef), jarlsberg cheese, and baked yellow squash.  I made my meatballs with EVOO, salt, lemon pepper, garlic, and dried basil.  I had lots of cukes and carrots on the side.

At this point in my life, I know that eating meat (of all varieties — red, poultry, seafood) is the right choice for me.  I physically feel so much better with it in my life.  I have more energy, stay fuller longer, and I feel healthier on the inside too.  I try to eat red meat once or twice a week, along with a few servings of fish/chicken/turkey/shrimp, etc.  I know that some people may have trouble digesting meat or they just don’t like it or it does not work for them in some way, and I absolutely respect that.  But I crave and need protein.  And not just any protein: meat protein. And if I have learned anything about my relationship with food in the last few years, it’s that denying what my body wants is asking for trouble.

Phew, glad I got that out.  After dinner I had two spoonfuls of Maranatha dark chocolate peanut spread before making my real dessert.

Coconut peanut butter protein ice cream!  Topped with dark chocolate.

So pillowy.  I also had a Godiva dark chocolate truffle.

I won’t continue posting all my meals for long. It’s just something that I think I need to do for myself for a few days. I am getting used to “closing the kitchen” after a small-ish dessert, and not mindlessly munching my way through the evening.  I am hoping this will become a habit!  There are so many other things I like to do in the evening instead, especially reading.  There is never enough time for all the books I want to read, sadly.

I am a little nervous about working again full time this week.  I have lots to do, but hopefully I will give myself a break if need be.  I also need to make sure I get enough sleep.  Goodnight friends!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 00:38:00

    Ooh that bagel looks divine – the last time I went to NY, in 2009, ED ruined any chance of eating, and it has been my dream ever since to go back and have a traditional NY bagel…I want one just like yours when I go 🙂

    I’m with you on the meat – I’ve found it to be the best source of protein for me right now, and it’s included in many of my favourite recipes.

    Glad you reached out to your therapist, and are realising that you are you, whatever happens and whatever you weigh. Gosh and you are going back to work full time already? Take care of yourself chick and take a break if you need to…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. kaztronomic
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 00:43:02

    I think, for some people, an omnivorous diet works best, and it seems that you’ve found your happiest self through eating meat. =) I’m glad you talk about it, though, because I think some of us do struggle with admitting to our cravings and desires on our blogs in order to fit into a niche. I talked about it once, how an elitist vegan made me feel bad about myself. I can’t be vegan, though, with my food issues. I’d become weak and sick and frail if I did. If the time comes that I need to go back to eating meat for my health, then I certainly will.

    Whew, look at me hijack your blog here! Hah. 😀

    Long story short, kudos for you for embracing who you are and eating what works best for YOU and not anybody else! =)

    I’m glad you have your therapist there for you to comfort you. She sounds like she is very good for you. =)

    I’m hooked on SIABs right now, too. Smoothies are just more fun to eat with a spoon, aren’t they? 😀

    Reply

  3. blueeyedheart
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 08:03:52

    There’s no reason for you to feel like you need to “justify” eating meat — if that’s what works best for you, then that’s reason enough!

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 09:32:06

    Thanks for the comment on my blog…now I have another new blog to read! I love reading about health and exercise and getting tips from other people who are passionate about the same things.

    I just wanted to say I second your comments about meat!! I LOVE meat! I have decided to (try to) give it up for 1-2 days/week…but that’s all I’ve got in me. I try to eat lean meats when I do eat it, but I can’t go w/o.

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 10:56:03

    Real NY bagels are the best, aren’t they? If you’re ever at Zaro’s in Penn Station or Grand Central, you have to try a stragel- it’s a baguette-shaped bagel that is SO perfect on the outside and SO doughy on the inside. Plus, it’s optimal for dipping 🙂

    Girl, if you crave meat, eat meat. Everyone’s body chemistry is different! Never let anyone make you feel bad for enjoying what you want. What you put in your mouth is YOUR business and YOURS alone, and it’s clear that you make good choices, so trust your judgment!

    Hope you’re having a great start to your week!

    Reply

  6. foodiefresh
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 12:14:09

    It’s so nice to hear that someone else eats meat. I totally understand vegetarians and vegans point of view and respect them for that. I’m more of a flexitarian and go weeks sometimes without having anything more meaty than fish. But sometimes I feel like I’m one of very few bloggers who still eat meat, but maybe it’s just the ones I read. Anyway, it’s refreshing to hear that I’m not the only one.

    My Sundays usually involve getting a bunch of things done like domestic chores and cooking, but I actually enjoy it. It’s a relief to get it done when you know you need to do but never have the time during the week.

    Reply

  7. fitandfortysomething
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 13:08:27

    so glad that your therapist is there for you when you need her…….i think you should eat what you want and do not justify it. hope you have a good day…..

    Reply

  8. Mari
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 14:09:49

    YUMS I have not a realy NY bagel in FOREVER!!!! I think I am going to treat myself to one, in the near future =) ohhh with some hot cocoa! yums

    I’m glad you are feeling a little better

    Reply

  9. shannon (The Daily Balance)
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 20:50:01

    glad to hear your mindset is looking up – you certainly deserve it!

    xo 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

