Adventure Saturday: Yoga/Farmer’s Market and Fava Bean Pasta Salad

Today’s Happy Note: Everything!  It was just a very pleasant Saturday.  I need a list.

1. Turtles.  I found this little pond in CP with a small dock.  I ran down the dock and discovered that the pond was swarming with turtles — hundreds of them!  My favorites are the big old ones.  They’re such serene and graceful creatures.

2. Buying myself sunflowers!  See farmer’s market pictures below.  They are brightening up my dining room table.

3. Getting things done: lots of errands and tasks (calling grandparents, buying paper towels, letter writing, etc.).

4. One of my best random dinner creations ever.

5. Spectacular batch of protein ice cream (that I am currently eating).

6. Chatting with friends, even if only briefly.  Always makes my day so much better.

7. Catching up on Bethenny Getting Married, which is the best reality show ever.  I think Bethenny is really sassy and clever.  She is totally someone who I would want as my friend!

I had a spectacular Adventure this morning to a yoga class with live music.  I have never had a class with live musicians and it was fun, especially since the players were kinda cute.  I don’t think it really changed my experience but I did notice I felt a little more relaxed.  Like there was less stuff floating around in my head interfering with my practice.

I have been thinking a lot about compassion lately.  Yoga always reminds me to be kind: towards myself and others.  This is one of my favorite things about it, besides the obvious physical benefits.  After yoga, the Adventure continued to the Farmer’s Market.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera since I only had my running waist pack.  There was such a wide variety of vendors there today.  I wanted to try so many things — fresh goat cheese, blueberry jam, sprouts, lamb, herb teas, squashes.  I didn’t think I should spend my life savings at the FM though, so I had to drag myself away eventually.  My little trip reminded me of Averie!  I wish she could shop at the farmer’s market in NYC with me.  I know she would love it and we would be buddies!

When I was done shopping, I munched on a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie from Stone Arch Farms (my favorite baked goods vendor by far) dipped in my newly acquired cashew butter!  I had gotten a few things at WF beforehand. Sadly, the cashew butter was a bit disappointing.  It was sort of thick and goopy and slimy.  Cashews are my favorite nut too.  I don’t know where things went wrong.

Loot:

Peaches, cookies, banana chip bread, eggs, fava beans, sunflowers, cucumbers, sweet corn!  WF loot:

Basil, spring greens, almond milk, frozen mahi mahi burgers (!!!), raspberries, cashew butter.  Can you tell what I was thinking of making for dinner? Probably not.  Because only a few of the ingredients are here.  And only my crazy brain would think up the bizarre concoction that it turned into.

So what did dinner turn into?

Summer Pasta Salad (this is for one)

1 serving whole wheat noodles

1/2 pound fava beans (once shelled, you’ll have about 1/2 – 3/4 cups)

2 C spinach, washed

1 C fresh basil, washed

2 Tbsp EVOO

2 Tbsp hummus

Lemon pepper to taste

Salt to taste

Boil a pot of water and add a teaspoon or two of salt.  While it boils, remove fava beans from pods.  Add them into the boiling water for three or four minutes; meanwhile, prepare a bowl of ice water.  Remove fava beans from pot and submerge in ice water.  Add pasta to water and cook for ten to twelve minutes.  The fava beans actually have another shell that must now be removed.  I took them out of the ice water and, using a dull-ish knife (I didn’t want to slice my hand open), make a slice along one edge, then squeeze the bean out.  Once all of the beans have been shelled, toss into a frying pan with a little EVOO, lemon pepper, and salt.  Into a blender goes the hummus, the other tablespoon of EVOO, more salt and lemon pepper, and the basil.  Blend until creamy.  Beans should be sauteed for about five minutes, while pasta is finishing up.  When everything is complete, add pasta, beans, and sauce to a bowl.  Toss together thoroughly, then add the spinach and toss again.  Serve with cheese, sunny side up egg, more basil, or other fresh herbs.

The Bean.

This was such a fun dinner!  I was  *this close* to not cooking but decided I wanted to do a little kitchen experimentation.  So glad I did!  It’s creamy yet tangy yet not overpowering.  I will probably make a version of this again.  I need to buy more favas next time!

Do you have a favorite easy summer recipe?

Outside of my yoga/farmer’s market adventure, I also ran and lifted today.  I did about seven and a half miles then twenty-ish minutes of arm strength.  I was proud of myself for that distance.  It felt surprisingly easy, considering that I have run all of five miles in the last two weeks.  I think I should be back up to my regular weekend long runs in no time at all.

Tomorrow will, hopefully, include more Adventures.  I think that’s what weekend are all about

What Adventures are you having on this lovely (albeit sticky) July weekend?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 00:01:39

    Well, it’s winter where I am, and we’re ahead in Australia time-wise too, so it’s already Sunday afternoon! 😀 But regardless of those silly minor differences, I absolutely love your pasta recipe – it’s precisely the kind of pulled-together meal I love! Plus, favas are one of my favourite veggies right now (though admittedly I get them frozen. Stupid seasonality :P)

    Thanks for visitin gmy blog, too – we chocolate lovers have got to stick together, right? 😀

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jul 11, 2010 @ 00:03:43

      Hehe, we DO have to stick together! Especially us real chocolate lovers. You would not believe how many Americans believe that m&m’s are real chocolate…

      Reply

      • Hannah
        Jul 11, 2010 @ 00:07:56

        Having lived there for a year, unfortunately I do! All that Hershey’s mockolate hydrogenated oil ugh…. 😛 But you Americans also know how to make amazing chocolate! I miss Chuao and Askinosie and *sigh* 😀

  2. Sarah
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 01:38:12

    Sunflowers are my favourite type of flower 🙂
    Nice to hear that you are feeling more upbeat…I do so like to hear about your adventures!
    After reading the other comments I want to chime in and say that I think us Brits make the best chocolate. I’ve been to America a couple of times when I was much younger and have to say on comparison I prefer the British selection 😉 hehe

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 07:42:43

    Yay! i TOLD you that you would be running again in no time 😛

    Love your FM finds! i didn’t get to go yesterday and am really sad about it. I want some local summer squash!

    Your pasta salad looks absolutely scrumptious. Hummus sauce is a great idea.

    My favorite easy summer recipe is pasta with a raw tomato sauce and little mozzarella balls. Total. Yum.

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 18:10:01

    wow you have had a busy day!! yoga, lifting, market, you go girl! please take it easy though and remember you are still healing and will be for many weeks so just go a little easy ok!!

    probiotics..the kind in dairy are pretty much going to do you more harm that good. dairy = inherently inflammatory and hard to digest so probiotics in the dairy is really not something that “great”. I would say use coconut milk and make some kefir, I have a recipe on my blog, easy, countertop, 3 ingredients

    OR pickle anything (i know you said you hate pickles) but anything you can stand to ferment for a few days in raw unfilitered apple cider vinegar, i.e. bragg’s will rebalance your gut. I could go on and on but anyway hon FEEL Better!!

    glad you weeken’ds been great!

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 19:15:01

    love the sound of your dinner! i think my favorite easy summer dinner is tomatoes, basil and mozarella with balsalmic vinegar and a some good bread with a glass of vino! does that count as cooking?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

