Hot Running, Frozen Treats

Today’s Happy Note: Top Chef!  Anyone else watching this season?  I have never watched it before this summer, but it’s a lot of fun (except Padma’s voice is really annoying)!

I raaaaaaaan today!  Happy face.  I set out for 3-5 miles and ended up doing 4.  At first, I let the angry/bad thoughts come up (“you suck, you’re only doing four miles”, “you’ll never be thin and beautiful when you’re this lazy!”), but then I said, you know what “shut up self” and realized that for me, right now, 4 miles is an acocmplishment.  And I am proud of it.  It may have taken me 50 minutes, but it was also 90 degrees at seven AM and I was pretty tired.  I would love to run again tomorrow; we shall see.

I also did some strength training tonight since I have no idea when else I would be able to do it this week.  I lifted for about 40 minutes, doing leg, arm, and ab exercises.

The heat. Oh the heat.  If you live in the NYC area, you know what I am talking about: the dripping bodies, the sweltering, deathly subway stations, the cracked hydrants.  For everyone else: it’s been 100+ degrees the past few days.  I have had to do work stuff in the afternoon, which has meant being outdoors in the middle of the day.  Even if only for very brief periods of time, being out has been unbearable.  And I sweat.  And sweat.  And sweat.

There is no point to this anecdote.  Other than reminding you all to be careful when walking around or working out in the heat!  Which you all know anyways so I’m being silly.

Thanks for your comments yesterday.  Blog friends never fail to make me feel better. 🙂  I love blogland because it’s like a whole new social network of friends and comrades and supporters!

I have had no less than three delicious frozen treats today.  Two smoothies and one “frozen dessert” from The Lite Choice. Speaking of TLC…





TLC people are so nice!  They’re doing a promotion with Scoop Street, who features local businesses.  They have a special flavor throughout July called Scoopstachio, made from pistachio flavor and ground peanuts.  I think that it sounds tasty!  Anyways, if you go to a TLC you can sign up for more info, win prizes, try the new flavor, etc.

My other frozen treats:

Breakfast (and dessert tonight!): Peanut butter peach protein smoothie!  Frozen peaches, ice, vanilla almond milk, vanilla protein powder, and a giant scoop of PB.  This was perfect.  It filled up that giant 32 ounce water bottle almost all the way!  Had to eat it with a spoon on my walk to work. 🙂

I had an afternoon meeting for my other job.  I brought a hummus/cheese/spinach wrap with greenbeans and blueberries.  But when I got to the meeting it turned out they had provided lunch: pizza.  I tend to be afraid of pizza, but it actually is something that I really enjoy, every once in a while. At first I was going to eat my wrap in the corner while everyone else ate their pizza.  But then I decided that if I really wanted it, I should just enjoy it and save the wrap for dinner!  And that’s exactly what I did.  I had one slice of mushroom and one of pepperoni, with my green beans on the side and blueberries for an afternoon snack.  Alongside this, of course:

Half mint and half chocolate with oreos!

Just ate an unnecessary bowl of cereal.  Meh.  Need to practice some of my self-soothing techniques I learned form this book.

Alright friends, I’m off to start compiling my therapy posts into one monster booklet for L!  Happy Thursday!  Almost the weekend!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 00:13:43

    you’re famous:
    http://www.seriouseats.com/2010/07/oiaj-oatmeal-in-a-peanut-butter-jar.html

    Congrats!

    Thanks for the awesome comment today and every day 🙂 And so glad the community rallied to support you and make you feel better yesterday!
    xo

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 01:28:45

    Yay! You sound happier today, sounds like your run rejuvinated you 🙂 And good for you enjoying that pizza – pizza is fab…which reminds me I must add it to my list of things to have in my newfound try-all-foods crusade 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 06:39:51

    4 miles is definitely an accomplishment! Slow but steady. Besides think of all the people out there who only DREAM of running 4 miles. Your body will get there. I promise. But the 100 degree weather I’m sure isn’t helping either. I can’t even think about walking outside. I really can’t imagine how I trained for a marathon last summer in this heat. I must have been crazy.

    I love TLC! Have to check out this Scoopstachio business. And go you for eating what you WANT. 😛

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 07:09:29

    Congrats on both the run AND the pizza!! Four miles in this heat is intense…I’m coming back into the city tomorrow and I’m absolutely dreading the subway. And pizza is still a definite fear food for me, so I’m proud of you for conquering it! I always love your froyo bowls…you have good flavor/topping taste 🙂 Hope you have a lovely day love!!

    Reply

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 09:23:23

    i watched top chef last night!! good jbo w/ the pizza- that is awesome. I still struggle mentally with pizza & i’m not sure why…. it makes no sense. Every time i’ve eaten it i’m still the same person! haha. froyo is making me hunnngry 🙂 I feel you w/ the heat- i honestly can’t do anything active outside because of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

