Adventures In Carb Lovin’ And Clean Eats

Today’s Happy Note: Got my blood work back and everything is roughly normal!  My iron and blood cell levels are all a bit low but that is to be expected at this point.  Nothing that requires hospitalization=a good thing.  I kept having nightmares last night that I had to go in and get a blood transfusion.

They are still doing tests to figure out what I actually have.  Probably some sort of creepy bacteria.  Yuck yuck yuck.

But wait.  There is more good news.  I can now eat things besides bread and plain noodles!

Exhibit A:

That, my friends, is melted dark chocolate.  Which may or may not have been on the list of approved foods.  But screw it.

Exhibit B:

Scone.  It had a weird texture (a bit dry) but a great flavor.  Tomorrow, I might venture into muffin territory.

Exhibit C:

This is pasta with a little EVOO and a lotta salt.  An inappropriate amount of salt.  And basil.  I’m supposed to be consuming salt like it’s my job, don’t hate.

Other things on the safe food list: bagels, toast, gatorade, vitamin water, dry cereal, and rice.  I can’t actually remember the last time I had a vegetable, which is scary.  I have been eating little bits of frozen fruit here and there.

I want meat.  Bad.  I want some ribs and some fish and some chicken.  And eggs.  And meatballs.  And cheese.  And hummus and sandwiches and peanut butter and waffles and tofu.  And protein ice cream and smoothies.  Not all at once though.  That would be weird.

I actually have no interest in dairy right now.  To be honest, I am a little grossed out by the idea of it.  I know it is hard to digest and supposedly mucus-producing; normally I don’t have a problem with 1-2 servings a day, but I think I’m going to skip out on it for a little while.  I read that sometimes even after a bad GI issue like this clears up, people can’t eat dairy products.

I have felt simultaneously very alienated from and intimate with my body these past few days.  A strange feeling.  I trust in my body and love it’s ability to recover but it is scary to think how sensitive we are; one tiny strand of bacteria can knock us out for days, or even kill us.  I already know how “dirty” the American food system is, but this just made me even more afraid.  How do I know that my lettuce in a bag from California never encountered bacteria, or that my milk is completely clean?

I guess we don’t really know.  Part of me wants to say “that’s why we should choose local, seasonal, and organic.”  Okay, but I already do that.  Literally half of the stuff in my fridge right now is from the farmer’s market.  In fact, I have a suspicion that that might be where the contaminated food came from.  I always wash my produce, but I suppose I could be better at it.  The frustrating thing is that there aren’t many answers here.  Short of growing everything I eat, it’s impossible to ensure my diet is perfectly clean.

I am honestly a bit afraid of food right now.  I hope this doesn’t persist; I like food too much to be afraid of it!

But what can we do?  How do we keep a food supply clean when we don’t know where most of it is coming from?  How do we ensure that bacteria or diseases don’t have a chance to enter our tummies?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 06:53:31

    How did I miss all of this sickness/craziness! I’m SO glad to hear you are doing better. I hate the idea of being scared of food as well, but it guess it’s always good to be a little cautious. Did they check your white blood cell counts? (Because that would be a sign of infection versus something else).

    Oh babe hang in there!

    Reply

  2. dmcgirl37
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 07:07:55

    I’m glad your feeling better and can get back to more familiar foods! I think im going to cut back on dairy a bit too. I eat some much Greek Yogurt and yesterday I just got all mucusy and gross. I really think it was the dairy 😦 No harm in trying for a little while and seeing how it goes! We’ll hey if your craving meat I hope your going to have some 😉

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. shesarunner
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 10:02:32

    I was out of town for a few days, so I didn’t catch the posts about going to the ER and how very sick you were…just catching up now…so sorry to hear it! I’m glad your blood work came back relatively normal though and I hope everything clears up soon. I’m sure once they figure out what it is, the whole thing will be less scary and hopefully they can give you something for it or it will clear up on its own.

    I do worry about contaminations and food borne illness. I do the best I can to avoid it, but I guess you can never know for sure. I don’t want to overthink it or get paranoid because I know myself and I have a tendency to fall into obsessions. And I really don’t think it is worth obsessing over. I try to buy organic and local produce and try to trust in the farmers…When you get something from a farmer’s market it is coming directly from the farm to you, and the less hands the produce passes through in order to get to you, the less chance for contamination, so I really like the idea of farmer’s markets. I hope you don’t worry too much about this- you can only do what you can do, take whatever precautions you can…but you can’t control everything, you know? That is something I’ve had to learn and accept. Don’t be afraid of food!
    And I really hope you feel better soon love.

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 10:42:03

    I’m so glad that the tests came back ok and that you are able to eat more foods now…I’m not surprised you’ve been left with some amount of fear after going through that, but you were unlucky, and maybe it’ll take a bit of time to get your trust in food back…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 12:19:34

    I think there’s a fine line between being careful and being paranoid, and there’s also a lot to be said for just doing what you can and screwing the rest. My house was never very clean growing up, we had a lot of pets and my mom never Lysoled or anything, and I have a crazy strong immune system. Obviously chemicals are different than natural contamination, but if eating some dirt from the farmer’s market produce makes you sick, it’s the body’s natural response to a natural contaminant, not its response to some crazy foreign object. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I hope you go for that muffin 🙂

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 19:32:56

    i agree with gabriela’s above comment. you never know what will effect and what won’t. i think you gotta pick and choose what you are going to get into. i usually buy the “dirty dozen” organic and worry too much about other produce. i buy organic dairy and eggs and meat (in the rare occasions that I actually purchase some). everything else is kind of a crap shoot. if the local organic brand is on sale, i’ll get it. if not, i won’t. so it is a little of this and a little of that.

    Reply

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 00:34:02

    oh this is such a fabuluos post and set of questions….

    we dont know anything is safe. my hubs got horricially sick, could have died, about 18 mos ago. We were farmer;s market, high raw vegans, CSA box, TJ’s and WFs and a little reg groc store. THATS IT. Nothing else. In white WASP’ey SoCal, the land of beautiful people and “perfect” food. Yet he got super!!! sick in the hosp for a week+ Lost about 20 lbs. Nightmare. Anyway, the food supply is far from perfect and i dont believe organic or local is any better in the sense of preventng illness. In terms of long term health, yes, it’s probably better. But in the short run, it’s not “safer” per se.

    I could go on and on and on. I dont have time but i have thought about all this TONS and have read thousands of online forum posts about the food safety in our country, etc. Anyway Caronae, so glad you’re on the mend. Do yourself a favor and stay off dairy. While your gut is re-balancing..no dairy. And probiotics to the tune of 3-4x/ the recommended dose. And coconut milk kefir, fermented foods like kim chee or whatever fermented foods you like to replensish your normal flora.

    xo

    Reply

  8. kbwood
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 13:51:36

    “not all at once tho”.. haha! thats funny.
    anyway girl go eat some MEAT!! I love meat. seriously. it will give u so much energy if u havent had it in a while!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

