Checking In

Today’s Happy Note: Drinking blue Gatorade.  Forgot how good it actually tastes, in a sugary electrolyte-y way, since I never really have it. It’s helping me rehydrate right now!

Just a quick check-in.  Things worsened a lot last night; I was up every half an hour or so doubled over in pain.  There were a few times when I just went to sleep on the bathroom floor.  This pattern continued today, with a bit less intensity, however, I started becoming much weaker.  My parents and I agreed that it would be best if I went to an ER.

I have never been to an ER before!  Well I have, but never as a patient — I have been to plenty of hospitals with my parents (both doctors).  I used to get to play games at the nurses station.  Today, however, was a bit scarier!

I was by myself and had never been there before.  I checked in and then waited.  And waited.  And waited.   I saw some nurses; after two hours I saw a doctor.  They agreed that it could be a more serious condition such as salmonella or E Coli, but that we have to get it out of my system.  I had to pee in a cup (ewwwww!) and was shocked when I saw that my pee was basically brown!  I was given IV fluids while lying down for another hour and a half or so.

I am not afraid of needles and I don’t think getting shots or IVs hurts, but they make me nervous because I usually pass out.  Thankfully that didn’t happen today.  I did start crying though!  The nurses were really nice to me though.  They knew I was young (I was actually in pediatrics!) and by myself.  I will be following up with my regular physician tomorrow.

Not sure if I’ll be able to work tomorrow.  The doctors told me to wait at least a week before running or trying to really workout again.  That makes me nervous, but it is also good news for my exhausted body.

I feel a bit better now; rehydrated and in much less frequent pain.

Being sick like this sucks.  I hate being stuck in my room, stewing in my own boredom and weakness.

Sorry for the graphic post; just wanted to share my experience of visiting an ER.  Definitely health-related…

What is the sickest you’ve ever been?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 23:34:23

    Caronae! OMG I am sooo happy you’re ok! Super worried about you but seems youre ok!! Please know I am wishing you the best for a speedy recovery!

    As for the sickest Ive ever been…oh I have gotten really wickedly sick traveling outside the USA. Nuff said.

    xox

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 00:23:58

    Oh chick I’m glad you went to the ER in the end, that sounds awful. That’s a scary experience to go through alone, and I hope you recover swiftly. Take time off work if you’re still feeling yucky, and give yourself plenty of rest and TLC.

    I’m sending lots of super-soothing recovery-boosting hugs your way 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. B
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 05:49:06

    Hi Caronae. I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and really enjoy it. I’m sorry to hear you’re sick. You’re quite the trooper: blogging while you’re sick. I always look forward to your blogs and hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

  4. Kate
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 07:51:42

    oh my goodness woman! i am so glad you went to the doctor to get that checked out. hopefully you can get some more answers today when you visit your normal doc. i think the not know what exactly is wrong with you is sometimes worse than the physical pain. i invent all these scenarios about what could be wrong. ish!

    if possible, enjoy your time to be a sicky, couch bum! read heaps of books and enjoy some day time television 🙂

    Reply

  5. sophia
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 09:35:56

    Oh gosh! I’m so glad you are okay! What a scare! Going to the ER is pretty surreal, isn’t it? I’ve been a few times…none of it was a pleasant trip.
    Now, rest up, and please get better!

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 10:29:39

    Glad you got it checked out – sounds dreadful. Hope you get some answers soon and are on the mend. Take care of yourself!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Marathon Training Thoughts + The Best Thing I Ate Today « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

