My Body Can Do That!

Today’s Happy Note: Scoring some excellent loot at the farmer’s market!  There were some of the best offerings I’ve ever seen today.  I picked up skim milk, chocolate milk, yellow squash, bok choy, cucumbers, fava beans, apples, and cherries.  Most delicious!

Workout: I have been having a major workout dilemma lately!  I cannot get up in the mornings — I just can’t for some reason.  Then after work I feel too tired to move.  Literally, I feel like a slug — and usually it’s so deathly hot outside that working out would be miserable anyways.  Maybe this sluggish feeling will pass — hormones, stress, anxiety.  Lots of explanations.

I worry, though, that I’m just being purely lazy!   Also, evening workouts totally screw up my hunger/meal timing.  I ended up having a small afternoon snack and two late afternoon/early evening mini meals tonight before heading out around 8:00.  I will admit, part of the reason for my workout today was that I felt guilty about eating so many snacks.  I would much rather workout because it makes me feel good.  Blech.

I told myself to just run for a mile or two and then I could stop.  I ran five then lifted weights for 40 minutes — totally turned the evening around!  So I felt bad before the workout but much better afterwards!  That always seems to happen. 🙂

Morning power fluids: diet fake-sweetened snapple iced tea, chocolate milk, and water, of course!

Smeary PB bagel.  Thursday=treat breakfast day!

Farmer’s Market beauties.  Including purple beans!  Anyone know what they are?

Crunch.

Munch.

Forgot to take pictures of everything else, including dinner!  Oh well.  Snacks involved berries, peanut butter, coconut, flax, and coconut gelato.  Not all at once though.  Or maybe it was all at once.  I like weird combinations.

My Body Can Do That

I tend to feel depressed about my body at the gym — the mirrors upset me a bit.  Instead, today I turned my perspective around and thought “My body can do that….!”  I started filling in the blank with a bunch of different things…Don’t laugh.  I’m working on my confidence!

My body can…

  • run across a path, a street, or a block really fast and make me feel like I’m flying!
  • lift a 20 pound barbell!
  • hug my friends and family
  • lift and pull heavy carts of books at work
  • walk through CP
  • help me explore the best city in the world
  • catch fireflies with my sister
  • look for birds in the woods with my parents
  • carry me through ultramarathons
  • help me bake up delicious new concoctions
  • keep me going through hours of studying
  • dance and twirl whenever I want
  • let me travel all over the world

As you can see, my body is pretty damn good to me. 🙂  What does your body do?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shesarunner
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 00:03:57

    I love the farmers market…but have yet to go this year. Maybe next week…I keep putting off everything on my to-do list because I’m so stressed about everything that is going on right here and now. I need to work on that though.

    I really love what you wrote about what your body can do. It reminds me a lot of the Exposed movement that a lot of people did on their blogs a while ago…people took pictures of their bodies mostly naked (but still wearing bras and undies of course) and wrote captions on each body part about what it did for them and why they loved it. I thought it was really amazing. If you want to check it out, I think it originated at eatingjourney.com and there is a tab called “exposed” where the blog author links to people who have participated in the exposed movement. I found it really interesting.

    Anyway, thank you for sharing. It is always eye-opening to me when people love their bodies for what they can do.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 02:56:30

    Wow your body is pretty damn amazing! I especially like the part about hugging, exploring and catching fireflies. My body lets me draw, paint and create. It allows me to read books and absorb new ideas. It enables me laugh and it helps me to live life to the full. Ah bodies are such fantastic things…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Corie
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 07:21:06

    Purple beans = string bean variety! Unless they were lava bean sized, in which case they = cranberry beans.

    Reply

  4. blueeyedheart
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 08:03:02

    Those look like purple podded pole beans… which I believe turn green when cooked. 😉

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 08:11:48

    the farmers market pics are lovely! it is a shame but i have yet to make it to one this summer. i seem to busy when the ones closest to my house are open. sigh!

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 10:11:27

    Ohhh nice market. What are you going to do with the fava beans?

    Don’t beat yourself up for the morning tiredness…I think everybody goes through slumps like that.

    I love that list of what your body can do! We should tell ourselves such things every day. I have an issue with my thighs and when I’m feeling annoyed with them I do a list just like that…I love how it turns negativity into appreciation!

    Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 25, 2010 @ 10:57:53

      I think I will boil the beans, then de-shell them and make them into a summer Mediterranean pasta salad! That is, if I can find the energy to cook. 🙂 I have been feeling so dead int he evenings lately!

      Reply

  7. foodiefresh
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 22:16:56

    I have the same workout issue sometime. It’s usually just a week-long phase and then I snap out of it. Some things that help me are: getting in bed in plenty of time to get the sleep I need, putting out workout clothes as soon as I get home, downloading great music/snagging a good magazine to enjoy during the gym, thinking about how great I’ll feel after I work out.

    I love the quote, “You’ll never regret a workout, but you will regret skipping a workout.”

    Reply

  8. Rebecca
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 23:21:51

    I love fava beans!

    Also, I am going through the same thing with my workouts. Not being able to get up early in the morning for them and then being too tired after work in the afternoons! Ughhh! Your blog is so real and honest and I completely relate-Love it.

    Reply

  9. Joanne
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 08:11:17

    I definitely have those days where I just don’t want to work out…but what I’ve learned is that I never really regret a workout and it always makes me feel better to just go. It’s definitely been way too hot to run outside (even if I could). I’ve been hitting up the gym like it’s nobody’s business.

    I love your mentality towards your body! Go positive thinking!

    Reply

  10. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:29:22

    the purple beans are just “green beans” and when you cook them, they will turn green (if they are like the ones in my CSA that is :))

    My body can:
    grow humans

    nurse said human “baby” until a biological (not societal) normative age of nursing, i.e. 3 years ++

    compete as a vegan bodybuilder

    LOVE what your body can do, love this post , Caronae!

    xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

