Anti-Anxiety Plan of Attack!

Today’s Happy Note: Reading in the park.

Mental Health Note: I was so wound up when I left work today that I could barely walk in a straight line.  I have no idea where this came from.  I guess part of depression is feeling inexplicably sad, lonely, or confused.  That might be it.  It was a pretty straightforward day at the office.  Very routine.  Normally the routine soothes me, but today it just unsettled me.  Maybe because I couldn’t stop thinking about all the other things I had to do.  On my way home, I devised an anti-anxiety plan of attack!

  • Take a few moments to myself to walk through the park, look at the trees, breathe, and read.  I rarely leave the house without a book, and today was no exception.   I had “The Gift of Therapy” by Irvin Yalom with me.  Yet another book borrowed from L.  I am devouring it.  It is most wonderful and calming.  Not in a creepy way, but it reminds me of L, which reminds me to stay calm; that someone nearby loves and appreciates me unconditionally is an instantly comforting thought.
  • Make a list of specific things bothering me and plan out howto deal with each thing (i.e., just do it, shelve it for later, ignore it, etc.).
  • Don’t worry about a workout.  I like to take one weekday rest day each week and I purposely don’t plan it ahead of time precisely because of days like this.  The idea of traveling to the gym or the gymnastics center or the yoga studio or dripping with sweat in the 90 degree heat was unappealing.  I work out enough that responding to a day of stress by not working out actually makes sense.  I did do about three miles of walking.
  • Take extra time to write in my journal.
  • Don’t stuff my face, but do have exactly what I want for dinner…

Which leads me to these masterpieces:

I was craving frozen fruit all afternoon/evening!  The first bowl has frozen cherries with one spoonful AB and one spoonful PB.  The second one is Talenti coconut gelato topped with dark chocolate, frozen berries, unsweetened shredded coconut, and a few mixed nuts.

Coconut, berries, nuts: I could have done way worse.  Definitely plenty of sugar.  But oh so tasty.  Sometimes food needs to serve both a physical, nourishing purpose and an emotional, satisfying purpose.  I think I successfully accomplished both here! 🙂

Don’t worry, other eats of the day involved veggies and protein!  Like lunch:

Giant tuna mess with hummus, herbs, snap peas (nom nom nom!) and peppers.

Off to do work and clean my room!  Neither of which I especially want to do.  Sigh…

What do you do when you are inexplicable feeling down?

Favorite frozen fruit?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 21:52:18

    Ha! MIght be a giant tuna mess but it looks tasty! When I am feeling down I dance around to crazy music and buy new shoes!

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 06:48:03

    I’m sorry to hear that you had an anxiety-filled day but it seems like you had a great plan of attack. Walking tends to really calm me down also. It lets me just think and reflect. I find the park really soothing, as well.

    Your eats are EXACTLY what I would want if I were feeling stressed. I tend to bake whenever I’m anxious. Right before a test…not the best time. But it makes me feel better!

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 07:41:15

    We all have those days when we’re not feeling our best for absolutely no reason. To tell you the truth, my fool-proof method of getting out of a bad mood is to watch Titanic. It’s been my favorite movie since I was seven, and it just cheers me up in a way nothing else can. My love for that movie is something no one can take away from me!

    My favorite frozen fruit is probably blueberries. I just love berries, and it’s the only way to eat them in the winter!

    Hope today is better for you- maybe try catching a movie by yourself next time you’re feeling down? I do it occasionally, and it sounds lonerish, but it’s actually really fun and relaxing!

    Reply

  4. Ilana
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 09:37:03

    First off your food looks fabulous, and second, it seems like you took a really smart approach to dealing with anxiety. I wish I were as organized about it!

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 10:55:00

    Times like these are so hard, especially when there seems to be no obvious explanation. I guess it’s important to be accepting of ourselves when we are like this, that this may be part of what it means to be human for us, as individuals. The book sounds interesting – funnily enough I’ve found reading motivational/soothing books a good strategy recently…I’m reading one about self esteem at the moment, that I save for just before each McDonalds shift 😉

    Also, it’s especially hard to sooth when you are feeling rubbish, because part of that (for me anyway) evokes feelings of worthlessness and not deserving anything nice. I think it’s really good that you are learning to sooth yourself and be more accepting of these moments.

    May tomorrow be a brighter day for you 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  6. Rachel (tea and chocolate)
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 12:01:42

    Looks like you have a good plan to deal with anxiety. I especially like the list idea–I’ll keep that in mind.

    Yum, love all the frozen fruit! My favorite is probably strawberries or mango. Great line about food having a physical purpose and an emotional satisfying purpose. So true. 🙂

    Reply

  7. therabbitrunner
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 18:07:28

    i really like your idea of journaling when you have anxiety – I do the same thing and I really feel like it helps just to write it all down. maybe you can see a pattern?

    Reply

  8. Mari
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 18:20:56

    Whenever I am feeling down, I have a Sex and the City Marathon =)

    I have been issues getting up to workout too. This morning I told myself that I could not eat breakfast until I worked out lol…I sat on my couch for 30 minutes in my workout clothes and finally did something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

