Weekend Workouts + Cold Foods + Things to Look Forward to

Today’s Happy Note: Food Network!  There are a few shows on FN that annoy me but for the most part I’m fascinated.  I love Ace of Cakes and Next Food Network Star.  I tend to be a much simpler cook than most of those on FN, but it is nice to be inspired sometimes, even if the dishes are a bit complicated for my tastes.

Lots of great workouts this weekend!  I wanted to do a long run but just was not in the mood to run in the heat or to do a long/continuous/boring workout.  I was actually going to be doing another ultramarathon around the island today (with the same guy I have done the last two with) but, when I realized it was going to be 85-90 degrees all afternoon, I passed.  I am NOT a heat/humidity runner at all.  Send me out with four layers in a ten degree blizzard and I’m fine.  But the heat?  I just sort of wilt.  The sun exhausts me!  I would have loved to do an ultra today but I knew it wasn’t going to happen.  I’m glad I listened to my body — I just had these terrible visions all morning of me lying in a hospital bed dying of kidney failure.  Not a good image to go into a race with.

Anyways.  My actual workouts: Yesterday I did a 4 mile run followed by 15 minutes HIIT on the elliptical and 10 minutes weights.  Today was split up into three sections: Three mile walk, 30 minutes kayaking (!) and 30 minutes yoga/kettlebell.

I must say, it is quite refreshing not dragging myself through long, monotonous workouts when I don’t want to!

What do you do for a workout when you don’t want to do something long but you still want to sweat?

Kayak pictures:

Dragging my hands and feet in the water definitely lowered my core body temperature a good ten degrees.  To a normal level.  Or so.

Lots of cold eats. Seriously, I think all of my meals today involved yogurt.  I don’t like to eat more than one or two servings of dairy a day since it can be harder to digest.  But there are just not enough cold foods on this earth.  Especially now that my blender is broken.  I do not know how much more of summer I can handle sans blender.

Anyone have any cold food suggestions that don’t consist of yogurt or frozen fruit or require a blender?

I saw someone make a list of thing to look forward to for the week the other day.  I thought it sounded fun and decided I want to participate. 🙂

  • Gymnastics class (assuming I find time this week)
  • Friday night yoga
  • Long run
  • Spin???
  • Meeting the students I’ll be working with for my non-profit job
  • Getting paid (hey, it’s important)
  • Therapy (I’m weird; I do indeed look forward to my time with L)
  • Working on my book of poems
  • Ocean swimming this weekend?

Sounds like plenty of fun!  What are you looking forward to?

Mental health note:  I have become really good over the last few weeks at identifying stressful situations.  This sounds obvious, but sometimes when you’re in a moment of panic — the internet stops working or you find out your great uncle is dying or anything really — it can be hard to talk yourself down.  I’m proud of myself for beginning to institute my self-soothing and destressing techniques.  Go me!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pen (pen at peace)
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 21:44:27

    Congrats on self-soothing! That really can be a very hard skill to learn–you have to learn to notice when you need to self-sooth, you have to have the skills to self-sooth, and you have to have the ability to implement those skills in a time of stress. I can’t tell you how long it got for me to be able to self sooth in times of anxiety. And, well, I’m still learning. Everytime I notice that I should self sooth (even if I’m not able to do it), I give myself a pat on the back for just noticing the rise in my anxiety levels and being able to identify the stressors.

    So, way to go! Sounds like you are doing wonderful work!

    Reply

  2. shesarunner
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 22:57:33

    Self soothing is a very important skill. I find it so difficult sometimes…but I somehow have managed to get through a hell of a lot of high stress situations and events in my life so I guess I’m not all bad. Sometimes I just focus on breathing and repeat things to myself over and over like “you’re going to be okay” or “you will get through this”. Sounds cheesy, but it can work, depending on the situation. Glad to hear you’re doing well with the self soothing.
    As for cold food, I do not eat dairy at all. But I do eat frozen fruit (no blender required). I suck on it like a popsicle. Very refreshing. There are some pretty good non dairy ice creams…I have heard that coconut bliss is a very good brand. Veggies and fruit are all very cooling for the body so keep loading up on produce!
    Hope you have a great week.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 02:33:25

    I’m proud of you too, because it’s often hard to be self aware when you are stressed out, let alone initiate soothing. So was kayaking fun? I’ve always wanted to try, but so far I’ve just had an introductory canoeing session in a swimming pool, which doesn’t really count!

    Ocean swimming sounds exciting, and gymnastics…can’t wait to hear about how your week unfolds. I’m looking forward to changing my hair, trying out a new therapist and having an induction/enrollment day for my college art course this week 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 08:31:53

      Hehe, I grew up kayaking and canoeing and love them both very much, but they are really not that hard to learn! If you look online for info about local parks/rivers/lakes you can probably find a place that rents them! Have fun. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:34:54

    Kayaking looks awesome…I’d love to try that. Good for you listening to your body regarding the long race…humidity is just brutal to run in. Always makes me feel like I have something heavy on my chest.

    Congrats on the self-soothing – that’s brilliant. I try to talk myself down too and have found almost chanting a mantra of ‘everything is going to be ok’ or ‘you can handle this’ really does work…as does meditating, most of the time.

    Cold foods…hmmm…I like anything involving dips and tons of salads with toasted bread or pita. By changing up salads I never get too bored.

    Hope you have a good session tonight!

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 18:55:49

    How about vegan overnight oats? Mashed banana, non dairy milk, and oats…easy, cold and delicious!! Yay for listening to your body about the run. There will be plenty of other opportunities when the weather is a bit cooler- the heat has been intense here too! Hope you have a wonderful evening 🙂

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 21, 2010 @ 19:15:15

      Overnight oats were my dinner last nigh! I used hemp oats, chopped apple coconut, pb, jelly, vanilla yogurt, and water. It was excellent! I thought it would be weird having it for dinner but it wasn’t!

      Reply

  6. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:30:59

    I hear you on dreading long workouts. I’ve started to break mine up and I try to do 30 mins either in the morning before work or during lunch then after work. It’s so much less daunting. Plus, you can do a variety of things rather than just one long run, or one long step class…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

