Adventure Saturday: Mermaid Edition.

Today’s Happy Note: Ocean.  Water.  Beach.  Sand.  Seashells.  Waves.  Boardwalk.  Wading.  Wet.  Island.  Mermaids.

I had a spectacular Adventure yesterday!  Any guesses based on my Happy Note?  If you don’t live in NY you probably have no idea what I’m talking about.

So what am I talking about?  Coney Island and the Mermaid Parade of course!

Not really sure how to describe the Mermaid Parade.  Other than that it is a parade.  Of Mermaids and such.  It’s just one of those random New York things that everybody loves.  There were goth mermaids, dead mermaids, sexy mermaids, drag mermaids, mermen, child mermaids, pink mermaids, fairy mermaids. Any kind of mermaid. You name it, it was there.

The mermaids were all beautiful, I thought.  Although some just seemed to be taking advantage of the opportunity to wear as little clothing as possible.  It was hot as hell.  What I liked most about the Parade was seeing so many different women — of all ages, races, shapes, heights, backgrounds.  All of whom were, for the most part, comfortable in their own skin.  I saw stretch marks and tummies and thighs.  But I also saw dancing and confidence and smiles.  To me, this is amazing.  It made me want to feel comfortable too.  Just being there was inspiring.  Hopefully I’ll be a little less afraid to prance around the beach in a swimsuit next time!

To all the women out there — mermaids or not — you are lovely the way you are.  Thank you for the vibrancy of your personality and your ability to dance.

But there was more than just mermaids!  Also:

Friends!

I love jumping in and out of the waves.  Oceans are the best thing ever.  Believe it or not, despite living in NYC for three years, I had never set foot in the ocean here before yesterday.

Next up: Wheel of Wonder.

I fueled myself with lots of yummy things!

Apples, peas, moose tracks ice cream.  Perfection.

One spectacular Saturday Adventure.  I just might be headed off on another Adventure right now.  You’ll have to come back tonight to see! 🙂

Happy Sunday friends!  Plans?  Adventures?  Shenanigans?  Escapades?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:56:17

    What an adventure indeed! I have never heard of a mermaid parade before, but I think it sounds like great fun 🙂 Thank you for such a bright, colourful and vibrant post!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. pen (pen at peace)
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 18:15:45

    That sounds like a wonderful day! I’ve never been out to Coney Island, but I’ve always wanted too…maybe the next time in new york…and maybe i’ll have to coordinate that trip with the mermaid parade!

    Reply

  3. Artemis @ t.a.p.e.s.t.r.y
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 18:36:01

    Coney Island gets a bad rap for being silly and tacky, but it is so fun *because* of that. Only there would you have such a quality mermaid parade! If you have the opportunity, go to the Siren Music Festival there in July. It’s awesome and totally free!

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 19:36:49

    I never even knew there was a mermaid parade!! The endless things to do in New York never fail to amaze me 🙂 Glad you had such a good time, hope you have a wonderful week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

