Yoga, Summer Foods, New Friends!

Today’s Happy Note: Weekly Trader Joe’s visit. 🙂  I always find new fun treats at TJ’s.  It’s my favorite.  Bonus: super cute checkout boy who randomly grew up in a small town near the small town where I grew up!

No post yesterday because  of emergency work business.  Gah.  One of the downsides of having two jobs means that I’m kind of always “on call.”  If it’s not emails from patrons at my office, it’s phone calls with students from the other job or paperwork or photocopies.  I had a lot of trouble getting up early to workout this week.  I feel like maybe it was a hormonal thing — normally I can drag myself out of bed around 7 but this week I even slept through my alarm a few times, or turned it off altogether.  This rarely happens.  My guess is hormones or stress.  I have had plenty of me time so I know that can’t be the issue…

Workouts!  Yesterday I did a 4 mile walk, 10 minutes with my new kettleball, and 20 minutes yoga in the park.  Today about 2 miles walking and an hour yoga class with my favorite teacher.

I have not wanted to run much lately, probably because of the humidity.  I already sweat a lot (related to my PCOS) and intense humidity makes that even worse.  Hopefully I can maybe do a nice short run and swim tomorrow and I might have a surprise for you on Sunday!  You’ll have to wait and see. 🙂

Fun eats!

Yogurt and frozen fruit go so nicely together in summer.  I am loving frozen berries, cherries, and mango chunks.

Those are beans.  Not poop.

Cookie Friday a la Tina!  This had vanilla, macadamia, and coconut.  Twas very tasty, although I’m sort of feeling a little overloaded on carbs (I just had fruit and two bowls of cereal for dinner).  Sugar coma.  Meh.

Tomorrow I am going to have a spectacular adventure!  That might mean two adventures in one weekend if my Sunday Surprise Adventure turns out as well!  Wow.  That’s a lot of Adventuring.  Maybe I’ll meet my adventure soulmate.  Or just a new friend.  I think it’s really important to make and cultivate new friendships.  I can’t be close to every individual I meet, but a few new rewarding friendships never hurt anybody.

1.  What’s your favorite summer food? I am loving the frozen fruit, coconut, cold milk/yogurt, crunchy carrots, fresh spinach/other leafy greens, and sorbet!

2. Do you make new friends easily?  Do you have a lot of friends or just a few? I like to have a decent amount of friends but too many people at once will overwhelm me.

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!  What Adventures do you have planned?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 00:28:39

    Two adventures! Can’t wait to hear about them 🙂

    My favourite summer food is strawberries. I find making new friends quite challenging because I am quite cautious and like to find people who I can connect with in a deep and meaningful way – I prefer to have just a few close friends, because, like you, I find too many overwhelm me. Today will be my adventure…I have an 8 hour shift…yikes…

    Thank you so much for such a kind and lovely comment on my recent monster post – your words really meant alot to me…you are so thoughtful and compassionate.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 02:13:01

    I make acquaintances easily but not friends. Friends are truly cultivated over the long haul and it seems that most people are just in, and then out, of my life…not a bad thing but it’s just transient it seems.

    Loved the story you told me about work/eye candy but a wall blocking 😦

    Have a super weekend!

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 11:56:49

    I’m a floater. I have a lot of friends from a lot of different friend circles. I have my roommates, my sorority sisters, my studio family, friends from the dorms, friends I have met through classes and my friends from high school. I can’t ever see all of my friends at once! Haha.

    Reply

  4. imaginenamaste
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 23:26:21

    Yoga with favorite teachers are the best….just something about it!
    I tend to float around to, but I typically make friends or at least acquaintances quickly. Haha, I love my yoga friends, you meet them once and its like you have been buddies forever! Friends that are bendy together, stay together 🙂

    Reply

  5. shesarunner
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 00:54:31

    My favourite summer food= summer strawberries…I would like to go to a farmer’s market but haven’t gotten around to it. But I bought organic strawbs from the grocery store and they were SO good. I also love summer squash like zucchini and yellow squash…so good for making zuke noodles!

    Re: friends- I used to be good at making friends but I guess they weren’t “real” friends and more acquaintances that I just hung out with all the time. Right now I have a few good friends, but not many. I have some “trust issues” and such…and yes, big crowds of people overwhelm me as well. Sometimes I feel like I can be surrounded by people and still feel lonely. It’s good to have people you truly connect with and who are genuinely caring people.

    Reply

  6. pen (pen at peace)
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 21:38:45

    I make superficial friends easily. I’m a very socially anxious person, though, so i tend to seem really aloof all the time (other way’s i’ve been described: cold, stand-offish). It’s a crappy trait of mine, and I wish I wasn’t so scared of people, and hopefully, eventually therapy will get me there. But until then, I have a couple/few friends and a puppy.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 20, 2010 @ 22:10:58

      I have been told I am cold/stand-off ish as well! I totally don’t mean to be either, I’m just shy as well. And a puppy sounds like a great friend! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

