Running Love and Wrap Love

Today’s Happy Note: Just saw the Karate Kid movie with a friend and it was awesome!  Also got in some much needed social time.  I adore Jackie Chan and totally want to be a kung fu master now.

One of the reasons I love running is because it gives me time to think.  Don’t get me wrong — not every run is a blissful hour of perfect thought.  Sometimes my runs are sluggish, sweaty, messy heaps of boredom or pain.  But those runs when you get your head nice and cleared and you can spend 20 or 30 minutes daydreaming or planning — those are one of the main impetuses behind my running.  I love the endorphins and the sheer joy that comes with flying down a new trail.  But I also treasure the alone time.  I have learned how to lose myself in my own head, even on a hot crowded afternoon in Central Park.

Today was terribly humid, but after a few miles I sort of filtered that out and just…thought.  It was a very pleasant 7 miles.  I threw in 5 or 6 speedy bursts as well.  I am a terrible speed runner.  I try to go fast, I really do, but my muscles just don’t seem to want to move that way.  I would rather run longer and slower than shorter and faster.  The problem for me is that anything less than 6 or so miles falls clearly into the “shorter” category.  I don’t mind this, it just means there aren’t a lot of races available for me.  And to be honest, I don’t like racing.  I said it.  I.  Don’t.  Like.  To.  Race.  I love ultramarathons and like half-marathons and presumably marathons, but I don’t necessarily want to race them.  Is this weird?  Do you run for speed or distance or both?  Do you find it easier to go faster or to slow down and go longer?

Proof of sweatiness.

Eats!  I haven’t shared anything in what feels like years.  Some highlights:

Wraps — lots and lots of wraps.  Why didn’t I realize how good wraps were before?  Seriously so much better than sandwiches.  I have been using various combos of hummus, beans, guacamole, cheese, and veggies.  The flavors get all melty together and they’re oh so wonderful.

Tastiest thing you’ve eaten so far this week?

For me?  Piles and piles of plain shredded coconut.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful week.  Only two more days until the weekend!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 01:59:13

    Ooh colourful post! I like how you appreciate the process of running rather than the notion of racing, which I always feel provides a fixation upon some kind of end result.

    x

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 05:53:51

    I think the hour of unadulterated thinking time is one of the things that I miss most about running. I would usually just go out and run without thinking of speed (except when I was doing Team in Training and they made us do speed workouts). I do find it impossible to slow down though, it makes my knees hurt to try!

    Wraps are definitely awesome things and can be way more fun than sandwiches. I especially like to press them like paninis so they get a nice crisp edge!

    Funnest thing I ate this week…strawberry shortcakes!

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 06:33:47

    Part of the reason I love working out is because I DON’T think much. I think about things, but I don’t have the energy to overanalyze, which is nice for me!!

    Best thing(s) I’ve eaten this week are raw chocolate cake and avocado chocolate mousse. Yum yum!!

    Reply

  4. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 08:36:26

    I am the exact same with running. Any time I do intervals I love the brevity, but they kill me. My stocky German heritage does not lend itself to speed. But I can do long. Not as long as you, but I’m definitely the slow and steady type too.

    Great looking wrap – I love them and don’t eat them nearly enough either.

    Tastiest thing this week…hmmm…probably the panfried in butter and dill salmon with a 2 bean pasta salad I had for dinner last night. Was awesome.

    Have a good day!

    Reply

  5. sonia
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 10:30:13

    I don’t like to race either! And it’s weird, because I’m very competitive… I ran track in high school and loved to run after school, but dreaded track meets and races. I rarely run now, but when I do, it’s for ME…a time for reflection and just time to get away from it all…

    holla to the weekend- it’s almost here!

    Reply

  6. fitandfortysomething
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 13:09:58

    tastiest thing has been my sweet potato with almond butter-YUM!

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 20:33:39

    i wanna see the karate kid movie! i used to want to be a ninja when i was kid. before i decided that ninja was my life calling, i wanted to be a unicorn. i was weird.

    what is that striped popsicle? it looks yummy! best thing’s i’ve eaten this week? homemade froyo and the salad i put together tonight.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 17, 2010 @ 21:25:50

      The striped fruit bars are from Trader Joe’s and they are amazing! One of the best frozen fruit bars I’ve ever had. Can’t remember what they’re called but you will find them easily in the frozen section. I think the flavor is strawberry, mango, raspberry.

      Reply

  8. Ameena
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 09:49:51

    I want to see the Karate Kid movie but I fear I will miss Pat Morita too much. 🙂

    The tastiest thing I’ve eaten all week was half a gluten-free cranberry scone. I am still thinking about it and it’s been 5 days!

    Have a fantastic weekend Coronae!

    Reply

  9. shesarunner
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 13:19:15

    I’ve only ever done two races…one of them (a 10k) I absolutely loved and the other was a 5k and I hated it, but I was not feeling so well that day. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be a hardcore racer but that isn’t my goal right now. I run for the fun of it…I enjoy it because I get to clear my head and I don’t feel the need to worry about anything and everything, like I usually do. My thoughts tend to be more positive when I’m running (but it definitely depends on the day). I’m also a fairly slow runner, but I don’t go as far as you do (not yet anyway). I’m on a bit of a running hiatus right now due to health problems, but I miss it terribly.

    The best thing I’ve eaten this week- fresh organic strawberries. They are so sweet and perfect at this time of year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

