Twitter, Calming Yoga, UNWFP Blogger Against Hunger!

Today’s Happy Note: Afternoon nap.  I might have to make this a regular Friday afternoon activity. 🙂

Before beginning, I just need to say that, apparently, someone used the term “asparagus therapy” to find my blog yesterday.  I’m totally curious.  Not sure how the two go together; if you’re the “asparagus therapy” searcher feel free to leave a comment and let me know what “asparagus therapy” might mean!

No post yesterday because WordPress was down!  It was kind of scary.  For a while you couldn’t access any wordpress hosted sites.  Fortunately, my new tweeps assured me that all was okay; everyone was experiencing problems.  Unfortunately, WordPress relaunched right as I was about to go to bed.

That’s right friends: I’m on twitter.  To be honest, there was no special reason.  I am not trying to market the blog, I just like writing out my thoughts (as you probably know by now) and I like the challenge of making it short!  It’s fun to feel like you can be in immediate communication with friends as well.  My twitter name is Caronaeh.  Are you on twitter?  What was your reason for joining?

Two great workouts!  Yesterday I took the bootcamp class at my gym again (hard!) followed by an easy three mile run.  Today I did an hour yoga flow class at Yoga Vida, which is by far my favorite NYC studio.  I do not just do yoga for the physical workout; it is also very emotional and spiritual for me.  Despite being physically difficult, it is also deeply relaxing.  Today towards the end of class while in a lovely hanging forward fold, I had the most intense calm, happy, peaceful moment.  I simultaneously felt elated and grounded — it was splendid.  I can’t remember the last name I felt like this.  It felt like a release from my earthly problems.  It reminded me how silly it is to turn to unhealthy methods to “solve” my problems (i.e., restricting or emotional eating, isolating myself, getting angry/sad) when I have something so simple and so lovely to soothe me.  Next time I’m feeling overwhelmed, confused, hurt, or just depressed, I know exactly what I’ll do: take a nice long forward fold.

Do you have a favorite relaxation technique?

Eats hodgepodge: things have been pretty simple the last few days because I was low on groceries.  Trader Joe’s solved that problem this evening. 🙂

As you can see, I’ve been having fun throwing things in the blender.  I feel like blender possibilities are endless.  Tonight’s dessert: loads of ice, chocolate whey protein powder, low-fat chocolate milk, scoop of peanut butter.  Topped with a crumbled cookie.  Noms.

Your favorite blender combo?

You can probably see a new widget on the side of my blog!  I have joined the Unites Nations World Food Porgram (WFP) Bloggers Against Hunger group!  I may be a student on a budget, so I don’t have a lot of money to give to the many worthy organizations I would love to support, but I can at least spread awareness.  Growing up, my parents made sure to impress upon my sister and me the many injustices in this world.  While I grew up in my comfortable suburban home in the 90s, children in, say Rwanda or Bosnia, were dying of hunger or genocide or preventable disease.

If you click on the photo on the side it will take you to my “homepage” at UNWFP.  I am not asking for donations or anything, rather, please just click around and learn more about the program.  I am a huge supporter of the United Nations and the invaluable work they do in supporting global cooperation.

Some important information about hunger:

I’ll be back with an adventure tomorrow!  And an interview post, hopefully.

Have a spectacular Adventure Saturday everybody!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shesarunner
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 23:43:45

    Caronae, thank you so much for your comment on my blog. It was very encouraging and supportive and it meant a lot to me. I might e-mail you soon.

    I do have Twitter, although I’m not “good” at it. I started following you so I look forward to reading what you have to say! I’m not the type of person who twitters all day long…usually only a few times a day…but I like looking through what other people say and sometimes there are very interesting topics going around. I still wouldn’t say I’m a huge twitter fan, it intimidates me a little, but I’m starting to get used to it.

    I need to get better at relaxation techniques. I do a lot of yoga and mediation, but I find it very difficult to calm my mind and sometimes I find I get even more overwhelmed because I don’t have something tangible to distract me. I’m working on allowing myself to be more “in the moment”.

    I think it is wonderful that you are spreading awareness about world hunger. You show that it isn’t mandatory to have a lot of money in order to make a difference.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 11, 2010 @ 23:47:29

      Awww, I’m glad my comment helped you out a bit, definitely email me if you want! I don’t think I plan on being on twitter all day either, maybe just a few tweets here and there, although it is fun to read people’s!

      Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 03:30:06

    I like how yoga gives you something spiritual/emotional as well as physical – very in keeping with my current explorations in trying to find myself a spiritual dimension. Damn blogger for deleting your comment…I shall have some stern words with it!

    I’d be interested to know how you find twitter, as I’ve thought about it myself on several occasions, but it scares me a bit cos I don’t know much about it.

    And thank you for sharing your passion about hunger, certainly brings things into perspective.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. imaginenamaste
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 08:21:41

    Isn’t it amazing how much yoga can make you feel emotionally and physically during and after the asanas? I have found so much grounding and just peace in yoga.

    Reply

  4. kbwood
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 10:08:25

    wow this is awesome!!!! thats so cool you are sharing your passion on here.. i love that!
    LOVE how emotionally healthy yoga makes you feel!

    Reply

  5. sophia
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 11:28:17

    I’ve never tried yoga before. I need to give it a whirl. Someday.

    Yay for joining Twitter! I already follow you! 😀

    Reply

  6. Ajay
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 02:22:38

    Thanks to sharing this information with us.After read this information i started to do the yoga

    Reply

Leave a Reply

