Blogdentity

Today’s Happy Note: Evening walks!  I forgot how lovely it can be outside in the early evening in summer.  Dusky sun rays, lavender skies, warm-cool temperatures.  What’s not to like?

Hello, hello, hello!

Other than the fact that I think I just had some spoiled milk this has been a very happy day!  I just felt…happy.  Sometimes that happens.  It’s nice to know, during the down times, that I am capable of just feeling good for no reason at all.  I’ve been doing some breathing meditations for a few minutes at a time over the last few days.   Instantly calming — especially after getting some minorly bad news today (not the end of the world, but a genuine short-term problem).

When things like this happen, I know very clearly that I want to be a lawyer.  Anything that strikes me as even a little bit unjust deeply upsets me.  I think law could help me direct this frustration into a positive, clear anger towards making things right.

Had an awesome early-AM workout!  I took the boot camp class at my gym and holy mackerel.  Wow.  It was only 50 minutes but it was insane!!!  We did a quick warm-up that involved cardio (running, butt kicks, jumping jacks) and strength (lots of push-ups and squats).  I’ve never done strength in a warm-up but I enjoyed it; I felt like it prepared me better.  Then we did some ridiculous circuits.  It was things that seemed easy, but weren’t, because they involved lots of different muscle groups.  Some of the moves were simultaneous plyo-strength.  At one point the instructor asked me “if this was the hardest thing I’d ever done.”  I hope this was because it was my first time at the class and not because I was a weakling!  I am more used to endurance training than super speedy stuff like that.  Followed up the class with 15 minutes on the stepmill because I had some time to kill.

Weekly treat breakfast: toasted bagel with melty pb.

Lunch dessert.  Always a necessity.  I can’t get over these dried hibiscuses.  So cute.  Like little…vegan pink octopuses…

I had a really good sammy for lunch but forgot to take a picture because  I was walking.  A multi-grain wrap with hummus, white cheddar, and an egg, toasted on the stove.

Other delish sammy combos: AB and apple and spinach, salami and gouda and mayonnaise (I know, not the healthiest — but it’s a childhood fave!), salami and egg and cheese, turkey and loads of veggies.  Your favorite sammy combos?

Farmer’s market loot!  Asparagus, apples, yogurt drink, milk (spoiled culprit!).

Unfortunately, my dinner smoothie-salad (it’s a new term I’ve coined for dinner-sized smoothies that involve veggies.  Which is pretty much all my smoothies, but whatever) involved the bad milk.  Hopefully I survive.  If I don’t blog tomorrow tonight, call my mom, okay?

New chocolate find!  WF dark chocolate with coconut flakes!  Shhh, don’t tell Evan.  I need it all for myself.  This was splendid.  I wouldn’t really call it dark, it’s pretty sweet, especially with the coconut.  But that’s not to say that it isn’t working.  Quite the contrary!  This was crunchy, flaky, smooth, melty.  Basically, choclate bar perfection.

Coconut, why have we been separated for so long?  I hated coconut as a kid.  Among other things: almonds, walnuts, plain oatmeal,  dark chocolate (the horror!), tofu, grapefruit, mushrooms, and peppers.  I think I’ve stopped liking new foods in the last few years.  Guess my taste bud development is winding down.  Just goes to show you how long we grow and develop for!  I’m 20 years old!  What foods did you hate as a kid but savor now?

Okay.  Serious question.  Is it weird that I blog intensely about both mental and physical health? I sort of had a mini moment of panic this afternoon when I started thinking about my blog friends.  It feels like people are either mind-focused or body-focused.  Neither of which is a bad thing!  I find those blogs fun, informative, and focused.  And then I feel too unfocused.  Does it confuse you that I bounce between green monsters and therapy Monday, or long runs and moments of anxiety? Sometimes it confuses me, and I’m the one blogging about it!  I think that both types of health are so important, but sometimes I wonder if I’m trying to cover too much ground.  I need to figure out my blogdentity…Honestly, what do you guys  think?

Happy Friday my friends!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 10:27:43

    What a killer workout – sounds brilliant.

    I’ve kind of rediscovered coconut recently too – never used to be bothered with it but now really like it when I have it. I bet that chocolate bar was divine. My local grocery store has fresh coconuts on sale so I think I shall be getting creative with some this week.

    I love your blog because it’s about all different aspects of your life and much more interesting than the bog standard food blogs. Personally, I prefer blogs where you get to know people, what they think, what they like, what they read, when they are having a crap day…not just what’s on their plates.

    Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Reply

  2. pen
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 14:53:22

    I think your blog is lovely and you shouldn’t fear that has multiple focuses. I honestly wish I was as brave as you are to share your anxiety and depression struggles. And as Christine said, I prefer blogs where I feel like I actually get to know about the person and who they are. From what I can tell, you are an intelligent, funny, caring, brave, sensitive, strong, fabulous lady–so what’s not to like a blog about all of those aspects?

    No matter what you decide about blog direction, I’ll keep reading.

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 16:05:56

    i hate blogs that only talk about food and have no life stuff woven in. i also hate it when people are only negative about their life. that they bitch and moan non stop,that gets old to read. i think your blog is fabulous just the way it is! and if you change it, im sure it will be fab too 🙂

    Reply

  4. foodiefresh
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 18:30:56

    I love that you talk about both. For me, they’re both so related. What I eat affects my mental health, and my mental health affects what I eat. Ditto for my physical health. I sometimes wonder if my blog would be more interesting if I discuss more mental health issues and my feelings but I’m a little bit afraid to put myself out there like that. I admire you for being able to tackle both.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 04, 2010 @ 22:24:31

      Some days I am still afraid to “put myself out there”. Sometimes I hold back a bit. If the blog were totally anonymous I wouldn’t, but it clearly isn’t…

      Reply

  5. clairedille
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 15:33:08

    I definitely need to get my hand on that coconut dark chocolate bar, sounds amazing! I think your blog is great the way it is. It is so refreshing to find bloggers who don’t feel they need to be restricted to one type of blogging but blog about whatever they wish to. Keep it the way it is lady, because that is what is most natural!

    Reply

  6. Jen
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 20:43:07

    I think they go hand in hand. Yours is a true healthy living blog. You have to take care of the inside as wells as the outside.

    Sometimes I think blogging about my mental health will bite me in the butt but I also feel it has helped me a lot and it totally relates to my healthy eating, exercising, etc. Keep up the good blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

