Life Lessons: All In A Day’s Eats

Today’s Happy Note: Wearing my new professional pants to work today!  Made me feel nice and grown up.

Exercise: ~5 miles run and 10 minutes abs.  I also walk about a mile each way to work most days.  I hat hate hate humidity but am bad at getting up with enough time to run 5-6 miles before work.  I waited and ran at 7 this evening and it wasn’t too terrible, but I know at 7 am it would be cooler.  Also, I like coming home from work (between the two jobs, this is anywhere from 6-9) and relaxing and working on my “projects.”  If you’re a busy worker bee, when do you fit in workouts?

Things I learned today!  Seriously, food teaches important lessons…

I will never tire of frozen berries.  Nor will I ever tire of Maranatha almond butter (or any nut butter for that matter).  Other things I will never tire of: fresh flowers, lime green and turquoise, dancing around like a crazy person.

Life lesson numero uno: sometimes you absolutely need a crunchy peanut butter sandwich with a side of carrots for lunch.  It makes everything better, I promise.  Seriously though.  Sometimes it’s okay to stick with what you know.  There are some things in life that never fail!  Other things that never fail: my parents (at being weird), my eyebrows (at growing rabidly), and my ability to spend money at Whole Foods.

Dried hibiscus and Pb&A.  I like snacktime.  Snacktime is a happy time.  It breaks up the afternoon, especially when I’m doing data entry.  Other ways of breaking up a little afternoon work monotony: drinking lots of water, singing songs to yourself in your head while typing away, lots of stretch breaks (my shoulders get so tight while sitting for long stretches), munching on dried hibiscus!

Life lesson numero dos: yogurt does NOT sit well in the tummy before a run.  Makes me feel sluggish, bloated and a little nauseous.  Won’t be making that mistake again.  Other mistakes not to make again: saying yes to dates with weirdos out of desperation, buying chunky tomato sauce (uber disgusting), and failing to water my herbs (to the point of death).

If having smoothies for dinner every night and dipping cucumber slices in said smoothies is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.  Things I would like to be right about: my choice in major, the fact that Toddlers and Tiaras is whack, brownies being good for you.

I want to eat a brownie every night.  For the rest of my life.

Caronae’s Shelf!

On the top: Jhumpa Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth (continued from last week),  Kiran Desai’s The Inheritance of Loss, Erica Jong Seducing The Demon: Writing For My Life, Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States, and Alice Walker In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens.

I’ve already started the last two. I like being in the middle of a lot of books at once.  That way I can always find something I’m in the mood for.  On your shelf this week?  Do tell!

Goodnight dearies!  Weekend plans coming up?  Also do tell.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 21:20:18

    Dried hibiscus sounds so intriguing!

    I just picked up a new pile of books from the library including Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith by Annie Lamott and, finally, The Lost Symbol.

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 23:17:53

    dairy is bloating, period. espi before a run! good that you wont make that mistake again!

    when i have had day/desk jobs, i always work out after work. not a morning person, no way could i get up at 4:30am to workout, but always did it after work

    xo

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 07:05:17

    I always wake up early to get my run in. I’d rather be up early and go to bed early, than have my workout hanging over my head when I’m tired at the end of a long day!!

    Reply

  4. Jess
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 13:26:10

    The Inheritance of Loss is a good book!

    Reply

  5. Sonia
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 15:12:31

    Holla!
    I heart frozen berries too!

    Those books look great- I just looked em up on Amazon!
    Right now I’m reading Food Rules, Emma, The Bell Jar (I am always reading and re-reading this one), and Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang. I’m always in the middle of several books at once- love to read!

    Reply

  6. Michelle
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 17:27:03

    Have you tried TJ’s almond butter with flax seeds?! I prefer it a lot more than Maranatha. Right now I’m reading my Cosmo, Glamour, 200 Secrets to Healthy Living, Julie and Julia but I have so many on my reading list for the summer.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 17:38:42

      I love the TJ’s ab with flax! I won some naturally nutty (vanilla almond butter) from Averie and am excited to try that one too! It’s supposed to be wonderful.

      Reply

  7. Joanne
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 17:33:38

    I’ve always wanted to try the dried hibiscus from TJ’s…is it good?

    Don’t fun grown-up pants make everything better! Love it.

    I love The Inheritance of Loss! It’s a great book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

