The Two Pound Salad.

Today’s Happy Note: Joined a gym!  NYSC is cheap and the staff are nice so I went with that.

Randomly, I had a really weird experience at Equinox.  When you go in for the first time, you sit down with a manager.  The manager was crazy!  For those of you non New-Yorkers, Equinox is a really high-end gym.  They have a branch very close to me and they don’t list their prices online, so I just went in.  Anyways, I was talking with the manager and he asked me where I live.  I politely told him both my mailing address and my street address, in case he needed either.  He was like, “um, that’s not walking distance.”  I gently pointed out that my apartment is just under a half of a mile from the gym.  He continued to yell at me that that was not walking distance.  Why did he care?  And this is a gym — presumably, many healthy people, for whom a half mile is not very long, go there!  Whatever.  I think he was upset when I said I was a student — like he knew I wouldn’t be able to afford it.  Then he proceeded to demand if I had walked by any other gyms on the way.  I said, “yes, but I wanted to check out this one.  Otherwise I wouldn’t be here…”.  He then asked me detailed questions about the prices and amenities of the gyms nearby I had visited, one of which he stated that he used to work at!  I asked him why he needed to know the price if he used to work there and he said “well, that was last year, they probably changed it.”  This was getting more and more bizarre.  The final straw: he asked me what I knew about Equinox.  I said I know it is a very nice gym in the city.  Was I supposed to know more than that????  He then said, and this is a direct quote, “well, it’s gonna be really hard for me to sell it to you from that standpoint.”  Um, excuse me?  You’re the salesperson.  That’s a pretty idiotic (not to mention, rude) thing to say to any potential customer, regardless of your personal feelings about them.  I didn’t realize that it was a test or something.

Anyways, I’m not upset or anything, just confused.  Who acts like this? The guy was either really dumb or really rude.  Neither of which are especially good qualities for a salesperson.  Weird.

Happy Memorial to American readers!  I hope you enjoyed your day off, if you had it off.  A three day weekend was quite nice.  The weather was perfect!  I met up with my friend Linda in CP and we walked, talked, lay in the grass and ate brownies for hours.  It was really fun and I didn’t have to be lonely at all on the holiday.  I think I actually walked close to five miles today.  Also did a 20 minute power yoga class from yogadownload.com. Hi Linda!

Dinner was American-inspired.  Ish.  Tuna salad  is American, right? Especially when made with hummus and Greek yogurt…

Caronae’s tasty tuna

1 can tuna in water (I used TJ’s)

Big spoonful plain 2% Greek yogurt

Big spoonful hummus (I like sabra garlic the best)

Shake lemon pepper

Shake sea salt.

Mix it all together and eat it atop a salad with tons of veggies.  Perfect light summer dinner.  Twas a happy Memorial Day meal.

I actually couldn’t finish this!  It probably weighed a good two pounds.  I saved a lot of the tuna for lunch tomorrow.  This is probably the most veggie-riffic meal I’ve ever had: mixed salad greens were topped with tuna salad (with cucumber and carrot mixed in), steamed broccoli, and leftover asparagus, sugar snap peas, and mushrooms. Noms all around, per usual.

I’m watching the Cake Boss marathon and about to munch on some sorbet!

Goodnight!  I hope you all had a fabulous, relaxing day.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 31, 2010 @ 21:30:03

    What a weird experience…some people can be so pushy! Maybe he hates his job and he’s taking it out on you. That recipe looks good! Although I’d probably try it with chicken.

    Reply

  2. Marina
    May 31, 2010 @ 22:26:38

    Wow, well F*** Equinox then! They seemed really snooty to me too, although I’ve never had the “pleasure” of meeting the manager! LOL I used to belong to a really expensive gym, but honestly I feel that walking is good enough exercise. Gyms are just too pricy! But I’m glad you found something more affordable at least!

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    May 31, 2010 @ 22:58:10

    Wow, what an awful experience at Equinox. I hope they don’t need any new business because they clearly won’t be getting any with that attitude. I’m glad you found one you liked though.

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 01:47:36

    Haha what absolute idiot that guy is! Glad you didn’t pick that gym 😉 Can I just say I love your summery outfit and you look lovely in it. That’s lovely that you spent the day with your friend, the park and weather look amazing 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 09:33:25

    Oh what lovely idyllic pictures!

    That gym dude is just weird…I’d send somebody higher up an email about the extreme lack of customer service. What an odd way to do business.

    Reply

  6. Missy Maintains
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 10:13:40

    Wow I can;t believe that guy at Equinox. It was like he was trying to push you away rather than sell you a membership! Glad you joined NYSC!!

    Reply

  7. Joanne
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 11:39:10

    I’m an NYSC member! Score. Yeah equinox is weird. I think they are just so arrogant about everything….and ridiculously expensive. I mean the interior is awesome but do you really need your gym to be that intense? Eh, not sure that I do.

    Sounds like you had a super fun weekend! Mmm brownies. You look adorable in those pics by the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

