Sunday Funday Frienday

Today’s Happy Note: Looking at different gyms for the summer.  It’s fun, but some of them are expensive!

Caronae is a very tired pumpkin seed today.  Lots of walking and time in the sun = one exhausted girl.  I’m going to have to let the pictures do (most of) the talking.

Festivals in Brooklyn with friends are fun.

BAM is fun.

Piles of blueberry pancakes with maple syrup and whip cream are fun.  My friend’s dad invited us over for brunch.  These were divine; I have no idea how he got them so fluffy, but it was like eating a pillow.  A pillow stuffed with mountains of wild blueberries.

Rooftop gardens are spectacularly fun.  New York City in the summertime is fun (when it’s not deathly hot).

Bowls, drums, jewelry. All fun.

Fun fact about Caronae: I love elephants.

Fresh fruit = fun snack (strawberry and pear).

Free new shoes are very fun!  I got these from my friend’s dad’s girlfriend.  I have very few dress shoes so these will be nice for work.

Egg puffs in salads are always fun.

Not obsessing about exercise or precise calorie intake is pretty fun too!  I got in my fair share of walking today too.  I don’t have a picture, but McDonald’s sweet tea is wonderfully fun.  I am aware that it’s mostly sugar and I don’t care.  It is one of the best drinks in the world and is the only thing I go to McDonald’s (or really any fast food place) for.

What was fun for you today?

It’s easy to forget how important  fun is for our mental health.  If you have trouble letting yourself have fun (I think many women, especially, do), make a list of your favorite fun things and try one out when you’re feeling down.

My list includes things from this post and…

  • new swimsuits
  • word games and sudoku puzzles
  • picnics with friends
  • adventures in the park
  • any type of flower, especially orchids
  • collecting bird pins
  • baking
  • frozen fruit in the summer
  • checking out books from the library
  • cooing over fuzzy ducklings
  • reading poems
  • reading blogs
  • finding discounted kitchen appliances
  • wearing dresses

And many more things, of course! 🙂  What does your fun list look like?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 31, 2010 @ 02:11:16

    Ooh my fun list is similar, it also includes dancing to silly music, sketching and painting, watching childhood movies, shopping for bright crazy clothes 🙂

    New York looks lovely and sunny – wish I was there 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 31, 2010 @ 10:25:23

    Hm…my fun list probably looks like this

    -baking
    -taking long walks
    -listening to old broadcasts of This American Life
    -hiking
    -swimming
    -calling friends and family
    -crosswords
    -going dancing

    There’s a lot more, I’m sure! I think that list is a great idea! I tend to get into a funk sometimes and I need to find things besides exercise to pull me out of it.
    Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Can You Stay for Dinner
    May 31, 2010 @ 10:40:54

    Gosh, I thought the blueberry pancakes were fun enough but then you just bombarded me with such fun things I can’t even begin to list them! I love all the great things youpointed out that bring you joy. Not obsessing over calories and exercise being a really really great one.

    My list:

    baking
    Daniel
    friends and festivals
    my mom
    pugs
    audiobooks
    Pandora

    short but sweet little list, I’m sure I could go on and on, but you get the idea. Glad you’re doing so well. I hope today is just as fun!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    May 31, 2010 @ 11:22:27

    My fun list would include: being in Maine, going for a relaxing run, taking pictures, spending time with friends, going to farmers markets and cooking.

    Love your blog!

    Reply

  5. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries
    May 31, 2010 @ 11:43:23

    “Not obsessing about exercise or precise calorie intake is pretty fun too!” <- I must agree with you on this one! 🙂
    My fun list includes crossword puzzles, oatmeal pancakes, spin class, and blog reading!

    Reply

  6. foodiefresh
    May 31, 2010 @ 12:23:14

    My fun list goes something like…
    – champagne
    – Anthropologie
    – frozen yogurt with friends
    – Chapel Hill, NC
    – long walks with my fiance and my dog
    – sand between my toes
    – giggling

    Reply

  7. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 31, 2010 @ 18:51:06

    what fun things; I think the shoes are my favorite
    browsing the grocery store was my fun-of-the-day haha

    Reply

  8. Hayley @ Breath of Fire
    May 31, 2010 @ 18:57:07

    I have a fun list. 🙂 yoga, gym, walking, running, biking, magazines, books, coffee shops, book stores, recipes. All of them never fail to improve my mood!

    Reply

  9. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 31, 2010 @ 19:41:09

    Good luck on the gym search! I belonged to a NYSC and it had everything I needed, for a pretty reasonable price. My fun list definitely includes champagne, chocolate, high heels and lots of friends. This weekend was full of all of them!! Hope you have a wonderful week!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

