Long Run Tips And Eats

Today’s Happy Note: Writing in my journal.  It has a drawing of a vegetable patch  on the cover, with a rooster and flowering plants in the background.  I love it.

Busy day!  Long run, farmer’s market, loads of writing, acquired a plant for my windowsill (!), a few work emails, chatting with family on phone, eating fun dinner, reading, lounging, snuggling.  Perfect things for a mellow Saturday!

Long run: I *think* I ran somewhere between 13 and 14 miles.  I ran for 138 minutes and roughly mapped it out at mapmyrun.com, which is useful but by no means perfectly accurate.  I actually don’t miss my dysfunctional garmin.  I find it kind of freeing to run based on feeling alone.

Caronae’s Long Run Tips:

  • Bring water and a snack — invest in a waist pack or a camel bak (I have this one from amphipod –works perfectly).  If possible, plan your route so you  will run by a few water fountains or public bathrooms so that you can refill or make a pit stop.
  • Don’t be afraid to stop and stretch or walk for a minute or two if you need to.  The heat and humidity right now make long runs that much harder and sometimes just a quick break helps you recharge during the middle of a tough run.
  • It can be fun to pick a destination and run there.  For example, I love planning long runs so that I end up at the farmer’s market and can buy myself a tasty treat.  Just make sure you have a way to get back, or make it a round trip.
  • Make sure you carry a cellphone, keys, ID, and any other important items in a zippered pocket.  Another trick for keys is tying them into your shoe laces.
  • Consume plenty of potassium and magnesium on the day of your run, before and after.  Your body needs these nutrients to replenish lost electrolytes.  They help prevent cramping.
  • Don’t worry about anyone else.  If a long run is 5 miles for you right now, that’s fine.  Build up slowly.  Add a mile or two every week, or every other week if you need more time to adjust.  Eight miles is an accomplishment for anyone.  Before you know it you’ll be able to do a half-marathon.  Just don’t set out to run a half-marathon if the farthest you’ve ever done is 4 miles.
  • The key to long-runs is listening to your body.  Your legs and chest and lungs and muscles and hips will tell you things.  Your legs might say “slow down” or “walk for a minute” or “faster turnover, please!”  Listen.

This morning’s long run ended at the farmer’s market.  One of my most favorite places in the city is the Union Square market on Saturdays.  Busy but in a pleasant sort of way.  I’ve become an expert at weaving in and out of crowds of yuppies wielding Whole Foods bags and reusable tea cups.

I really wanted to bring my camera, but it doesn’t fit in the aforementioned amphipod.  Sad face.  I had a lovely brunch in the Union Square park of Ronnybrook chocolate milk, sumac tea, and a blueberry- cranberry scone from a place called Hudson Valley Farmhouse.  Admittedly, it wasn’t really a scone.  It was light and airy and more muffin-y. But whatever it was, it was amazing.  I might just have to make this a weekly engagement.

Other purchases: Ronnybrook skim milk, mixed baby lettuces, sugar snap peas (fresh local sugar snap peas are indescribably delectable), and a fuschia!  I have a plant for my room now! I am so excited.  I named her Fanny Fuschia and I am going to take such good care of her this summer.  Pictures to come, I promise.  My next plant is going to be a set of herb seedlings.

Long run eats!

This is the boldest color I’ve ever achieved in a smoothie.  I like it!

Dinner might win the random award but if that’s the case then it also deserves a random-but-tasty award.  Sometimes I think random dinners are the best.  This was a wrap filled with a mixture of the following: smashed Dr. Praeger’s tex-mex veggie burger, 1 egg, and white cheddar cheese.  I mixed it all together and microwaved it.  I came out like a souffle.  A tasty tasty souffle meant to be eaten in a wrap alongside a sautee of mushroom, asparagus, and sugar snap peas (with olive oil and poppy seed dressing).  See, I told you it was random.

Okay.  Confession time.  Now that Stephanie mentioned the whole asparagus-urine issue, I feel like it’s my turn to come out of the closet.  Asparagus makes my pee smell.  Very very much.  I know this doesn’t happen to everyone, so I’m just curious: if you feel comfortable answering, I have to know.  When you eat asparagus, does it make your pee smell like asparagus?

Wow, that was incredibly unappetizing.  And yet my dessert was too good not to share!

Sometimes I bring my own fro-yo toppings.  That way I can have exactly what I want in the quantity I want for free.  It’s a win-win situation.  This is semi-sweet chocolate chips, TJ’s PB and A mix, and TJ’s chocolate covered cherries (meh, too sweet).

Eaten in the park with a side of Jhumpa Lahiri.

My legs often cramp up in the evening after a long run so I went for a two-ish mile stroll and then settled into some very tight, but relaxing, pigeon poses.

After writing last night’s post, I realized that I was feeling very anxious, and this was stemming from two sources: feeling upset about therapy (I’ve been thinking about it all week) and feeling lonely (thanks everyone for your soothing comments!).  I decided I could do a few small things to alleviate both of these problems!

I have one friend in the city right now and I asked her if she wanted to do something tomorrow and she actually mentioned there was a music festival she wanted to go to.  Score.  Then, another friend called tonight and said she doesn’t have plans for Memorial Day either, so we’re going to go to CP!  I’m much happier now!  Friends make the world go round.

I also decided that I needed to do a free-write letter to my therapist; not one that I’ll actually send, but just as a way to get my thoughts out.  I’m really happy with what I came up with and I think I’ll read it to her next week and see if she can help me feel comfortable in therapy again.

How do you like to spend your Saturdays in summer?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 30, 2010 @ 00:24:23

    Good for you, being assertive and seeking out the company of your friends. Also that’s a brilliant idea about writing a letter to your therapist. I write lots of unsent letters to people, just to get my feelings out, and it often helps clarify what the issues are.

    Your journal cover sounds cool – do you have a pic of it? And loving the bold coloured smoothie – you know me, I looove bold colours 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Matt
    May 30, 2010 @ 06:12:54

    Great tips! I couldn’t have said it better myself 😉

    Reply

  3. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 30, 2010 @ 07:26:50

    I thought the pee-phenomenon happened to everybody! On the weekends I like a similar routine…laid-back, lengthy exercise; reading; delicious food, etc.

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    May 30, 2010 @ 07:37:17

    Oof I miss long runs. Keep on chugging, Jo. Keep on chugging.

    Rewarding yourself with a trip to the farmer’s market is such an awesome idea. As soon as I start running again, I am SO going to do that!

    So the funny thing about asparagus is that sometimes it makes my pee smell and sometimes not. And it has nothing to do with how much of it I eat. Maybe some have some chemical on it that others don’t. I’m very suspicious of all of this.

    Can’t wait to be done with school in a few weeks so we can chill!

    Reply

  5. therabbitrunner
    May 30, 2010 @ 14:26:45

    i love waking up early to get a long run in 🙂 makes my day so much better!!

    i really love your tip about it being OKAY to stop and stretch. Too many runs have I ran through tight legs only to slow my pace, but now if I feel tight I stretch and my speed increases 🙂

    haha i love your own froyo topping!

    Reply

  6. Rebecca
    May 30, 2010 @ 20:33:46

    I love your running tips!

    Reply

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 30, 2010 @ 22:24:28

    “Don’t worry about anyone else. If a long run is 5 miles for you right now, that’s fine”

    AMEN girl. Same with yoga or any other sport. Hell 10 pounds of weight can be alot for some people to lift and for others, they can do it with their pinky.

    Pee smell, yes horribly from asparagus. I think that like 20% of the population can smell the horror. The other 80% doesnt have the gene to detect the stench. Even though theirs stinks, they cant smell it.

    Google but something to that effect (from memory)

    xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

