Half-Moon With A Side Of Sorbet

Today’s Happy Note: The Internet has been fixed!  I worked on it from noon until seven and finally got the company to do some weird resetting thing.  This was seriously so stressful and made me realize just how dependent we are on the internet.  I cried, many times.  But it is back now and working well so I’m smiling again.

Yoga Pose May

Tina and Kate did a fun little theme for May called Yoga Pose May (haha, I accidentally typed “Toga Pose May” at first — that would be hilarious).  Each day, four different bloggers feature a pose, show pictures and share tips and thoughts.  The goal is increased yoga awareness  — hopefully some other readers and bloggers will be inspired to try a little yoga of their own!  I got assigned half-moon pose which just happens to be one of my three favorite poses (the others are tripod and tree).  The other bloggers doing half-moon are DairyFreeBetty, Lily, and Stefanie who blogs at Daily Spark.  Sorry Stefanie, I can’t find your page!  Feel free to say hello and let me know where I can find you.

Due to all the internet drama I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of me doing the pose (tomorrow, perhaps?).  I want to do one on a pier in the Hudson.  Betty, however, has lots of great pictures of her doing the pose here.

YogaJournal.com has a great simple picture and description here.

HP_MAR06_Ardha_248.jpg

Picture from yogajournal.com

Half-moon pose, called Ardha Chandrasana in the original sanskrit, is one of my favorite poses because it opens up the hips, legs, and back, and always calms my body and mind down.  It requires focus and precision, but it is also very relaxed.  I once had a teacher tell me that if you aren’t falling out of half-moon pose, you’re doing something wrong.  And this is true, for the most part: you want to be balancing in new ways, constantly reinvigorating your half-moon practice.  Try placing your hand on a block, then the floor, then lifting it slightly off the floor.  If you’re more advanced, you can look up at your top arm.  Make sure that both legs are active, and that your back foot is flexing.  Think of making your body as flat as possible and keeping it within the same plane — imagine you are between two panels of glass about six inches apart.  Balance the pose between these panels.

The name of the pose means half moon, but “chandrasana” can also be translated as glittering or having a brilliant hue of light.  I think this is really beautiful.  The pose makes me feel like I’m shining a light outwards from my center and radiating my good qualities out to the world.

Benefits: strengthens, stretches, improves balance, aids digestion, and relieves stress.  (All info from yogajournal.com).

Go ahead and give it a try.  I like to do a few gentle stretches and maybe a series of warriors beforehand to warm-up.  It can be done right in your living room, or in a sunny backyard for an early-morning wake up treat.

Exercise: I did levels two and three of the 30 Day Shred this morning.  I went easy on the cardio and plyometric stuff though because I was afraid all that bouncing would wake up the people below me.  Is this possible?  I wonder how thick the ceiling is…

I also ended up walking four or five miles today.  I had to make a lot of one mile trips and I am way too cheap to pay for a metro card to go one mile (it’s $2.25 each way).  Making a bunch of those little trips really added up.  I was exhausted by lunchtime and had to take a little nap, of course! 🙂 (I had taken the afternoon off to fix the internet but since I couldn’t get info about the account until later in the day, around 6:00, I could have gone to work anyways!  Grrr….)

I will leave you with the simplest, most succulent dessert concoction I’ve made in a long while.  I think it’s going to be a summer staple.

I shall make you wait until tomorrow for the details.  Muahahaha!  Hint: It involves sorbet. Raspberry sorbet.  High quality raspberry sorbet.  Dear inventor of sorbet: I would like to go back in time and meet you.  That is all.

There shall be more delicious food tomorrow including a review of some salmon burgers (with yummy local lettuce and asparagus) and a well-deserved Cookie Friday treat.

Goodnight friends!

PS — Katie is giving away some yummy fats (of the coconut butter variety!) here.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 27, 2010 @ 23:26:59

    I love your pose and half moon is such a lovely one to feature!

    internet. I have cried over computer issues, blog tech issues, not having internet…b/c normaly when it gets to that point, it’s been a ton of work and heartache going into trying to fix a computer problem which are massive time sucks already!

    xo

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 28, 2010 @ 02:35:18

    Yay for getting your internet sorted…and it was nice to find out a bit more about yoga too 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend

    x

    Reply

  3. Hayley @ Breath of Fire
    May 28, 2010 @ 09:58:22

    Half moon is hard. It takes my utmost concentration for me to stay balanced. But you’re right, it feels amazing!

    Reply

  4. Chocolate-Covered Katie
    May 28, 2010 @ 12:06:25

    Thanks 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 28, 2010 @ 16:52:40

    That sorbet looks absolutely amazing, I can’t wait till you tell us what your dessert is 🙂 I prefer walking to those short subway jaunts as well, especially in the summer. I’d rather be in the fresh air than pay money to jam myself into a hot and sweaty train!

    Reply

  6. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    May 28, 2010 @ 17:09:48

    Oh man, I’m loving the look of the sorbet!

    To answer your question, I am indeed staying in the city. Not ready to give up Brooklyn! In fact, I’m even staying in the same zip code, so yeah, not going too far. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Adventure Friday: Milk And Cookies And Yoga « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  8. thewhatkateateblog
    May 29, 2010 @ 11:50:48

    I love half moon + sorbet. A perfect combo!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Yoga Pose May Recap « What Kate Ate

Leave a Reply

