Important Discoveries: Food Edition

Today’s Happy Note: I try to avoid making food my happy note, but today was a very grumpy day and not much else seemed joyful.  So I’m gonna go ahead and say that my frozen yogurt (cookies and cream/vanilla) with chocolate chips made me happy.  TLC is better though.

Gak!  I wanted to post last night, but discovered that the internet at my new apartment is not yet functional.  I’m going to get a new router tonight so hopefully that will solve things (by the way — I discovered that this is what I needed after talking, for free, with an agent at geeksquad online — it was incredibly helpful!).

I flew back to NY yesterday.  I can’t decide to say whether I “flew home” or “left home”.  Weird.

Plane lunch and snacks!

Shrimp/garlic hummus/spinach sammy on seedy whole grain bread.  This combo was a wise choice indeed.  I am in love with garlic hummus but am afraid to bring it in lunches for fear that my breath would smell.  But seeing as I was on a plane where I knew no one, I went for it. 🙂

Other snacks: orange pepper strips, apple, peanuts, cinnamon roll larabar, cashews in the evening.

Always, always, always plan ahead for travel! You can save money, eat healthfully, and enjoy your food when you do this.  For most flights, I recommend packing a variety of snacks and a sandwich.  Portable and convenient.  I wrapped my sammy in cling wrap and then put it in a plastic bag.  Travel is the one time when I am not nice to the environment with my lunch — tupperware just doesn’t cut it.  Ideal travel snacks: cut up fruits and veggies, granola bars, trail mix, plain cereal, sandwiches, etc.  FYI: don’t bring yogurt.  It is, apparently, a gel — I’ve had it taken away before.  Another thing I like to do is bring my own water bottle (EMPTY) and then fill it from a drinking fountain when I get through security.  No overpriced plastic bottles for me!

What are your favorite travel snacks?

When I got to the new apartment, I did some unpacking and then faced the grocery store monster (I was tired).  Thankfully, WF was not crowded (the one on the UWS almost never is) and it wasn’t so bad.  I got a tasty, easy dinner there as well:

Delish.  Serious question: has anyone ever spent less than $10 at the WF hot/cold/salad bars?  Is it possible? I figured I needed a treat after all that travelling (which, by the way, I totally count as exercise.  Especially when getting lost on the E train and having to walk everywhere with my heavy suitcase.  Dear JFK airport, YOU ARE THE WORST AIRPORT IN THE WORLD.  And this girl has done her fair share of travelling).

This morning I got up bright and early.  Okay, well it was actually seven.  I know some bloggers get up at 5 or 6 to exercise.  I have no idea how they make it through the work day.

I ran a decent five miles along the river.  It’s fun planning out new routes and paths from my new place — it’s less than a mile from my dorm, but the perspective and mileage is totally different!  I like switching things up like that once in a while 🙂

Today’s eating discoveries:

I made a major discovery at breakfast: you CAN cook instant oats (from a packet) on the stovetop!  And they get thick like regular oats.  Why would I do this?  Well, normally I am rushed in the morning and hate cooking oats on the stove, but the apartment seems to lack a microwave and I have no intentions of buying one.  Grumph.

Other extremely significant discoveries (seriously, I should become, like, a food reporter or something.  How fun would that be?)…

~Crack wraps taste good un-melted too!

~Frozen yogurt makes me feel better after a terrible day at therapy, everytime!

~Kashi dark mocha almond granola bars are yummy.  I was always afraid to try them because I thought, “a coffee-flavored granola bar, really?  Gross!”  But good thing this is so not the case.  It had that palatable, sweet, chocolaty coffee taste.  Like coffee ice cream.  I like this better than I like their cherry dark chocolate (my former favorite).

~Cooking dinner for yourself, by yourself, day after day, gets a little lonely and boring. 😦  I need a dinner companion!

I had therapy today (instead of Monday since I was travelling).  I think I’ll share my reflections tomorrow because I don’t want this post to be a massive text-monster and I need more time to think.  I just have not had a good month or so with therapy.  It’s frustrating for every session not to go the way I want it.  What’s even more frustrating is that it’s kind of my fault — I basically refuse to talk to my (sweet, kind, understanding) therapist about everything.  It’s very strange.  As soon as I arrive and sit down, I feel angry and sad and stubborn and like I would rather die than tell her anything about my life.  I have no clue why this might be happening but I hope I will get over it very soon.  Anyone have any ideas?

I hope you are all having the most lovely of weeks.  Summer is coming!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    May 25, 2010 @ 19:16:49

    glad your trip back to NY was a safe one.

    i’ve picked up those mocha almond granola bars a bazillion times too! i always put them back for my favorite pumpkin spice flax crunchy bars.

    Reply

  2. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 25, 2010 @ 20:39:32

    This is a great post, girl! Maybe you should tell your therapist how you feel about her! I know that my therapist always would welcome my feelings, good or bad.
    I love the food you put together for traveling! What a great sandwich! And you’re right…JFK is a madhouse!

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 25, 2010 @ 20:52:33

    Dang girl, mad props for taking public transportation from JFK!! I flew into there a lot last year, and the craziness of the airport always made me way too tired for anything but a cab! I had problems talking to my therapist for awhile too…it was like there was so much wrong, that I felt like talking about it and analyzing one little part wouldn’t solve anything, so why waste my time and get upset? I’d talk to her about how you’re feeling, because she might be able to get to the root of it! Hope it goes well!

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 25, 2010 @ 22:39:41

    I have no idea w/ the therapist other than to say, perhaps you have moved on and dont need her and resent the fact that you “have to” talk to her for an hour? that’s random but just throwing it out there.

    dinner companiion….here’s to you finding one!

    and getting into the new apt and getting settled…amen girl!

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    May 25, 2010 @ 23:56:42

    Interesting to hear your thoughts on therapy, but maybe there’s something you want to share with her, but have been unable to figure out how as of yet? Have you talked to your therapist about the fact that you have been finding it difficult to talk? Perhaps Averie is right and you have moved on? I often think about this possibility, as I guess it’s difficult to know at what point to leave the therapeutic relationship, if at all.

    And you are right, travel is definitely a form of exercise – I went to the seaside yesterday and it was an epic day in this sense!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    May 26, 2010 @ 06:05:25

    I thought it was so weird when I first realized that home wasn’t necessarily home anymore. it’s a very strange thing.

    I think sometimes it’s okay to have food be our highlight of our day. It’s just so good!

    Yay for you being back. I wish my classes would be over sooner so we could chill. I never spend less than 10 bucks at Whole Foods. I think last time I spent close to 20. Crazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

