Epic.

Today’s Happy Note: Lost.  Anyone else a fan?  It’s been a pretty epic series with some epicly misleading twists and turns, but ultimately, I think the characters are just screwed up enough to make it endearing (fyi: my dad just commented that the people on Lost are so intense they sound like “they just won World War II”).

Hello friends!  I’ve been having an epic weekend, obviously full of epic activities.  For some reason, weekends like this make me want to go camping.  And eat sticky s’mores and play in the lake and the cedar woods all day.  And then sleep in a tent.  And have lots of adventures.

But alas, no camping just yet, as I’m heading back to the city tomorrow.  They should have, like, a Central Park camping club.  Nothing says wilderness quite like ambulances, sirens, and 24-hour takeout.

Exercise: I ran 10-ish miles yesterday and it was terribly humid.  I don’t actually mind running in the heat, but I despise the humidity.  I’ve always been a big perspirer and any moisture in the air seems to wring all the fluid out of my body, leaving me wet, tired, and drained.  I walked another two or three miles later in the day.  Anyone have any great running-in-the-humidity tips? I’ve been running in the summer for seven years now and haven’t figured out.  Maybe it’s just one of those things where you have to suck it up and do it.

Today I did some serious hot vinyasa!  The teacher was a little bit loony and didn’t quite get the spiritual side of things right, but I did like her flows and her reminders to focus on our breath and internal heat.  We did some really fun series that we would go through several times with her and then do on our own.  It lent the session a nice aspect of independence and created a space for personal growth in a very direct way.  I think that airplane and tripod headstand are my current favorite poses.

Onto the weekend’s epic adventures (not in chronological order because I’m cool like that)!

Epic blueberry smoothies!


This monster-sized bowl of tastiness has five, yes five, varieties of blueberries!  No joke.  All I can think of is that crazy, greedy girl from Charlie and The Chocolate Factory.  I don’t think this will turn you into a blueberry though.  Hopefully.

Five large ice cubes

1 C frozen blueberries

3/4 C milk (any variety you prefer)

1/2 packet tera’s whey blueberry protein

1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein

1/2 C blueberry-pomegranate steaz (or other blueberry drink)

1/2 C blueberry chobani

Toppings: almonds/mixed nuts and fresh blueberries

Epic brownie making!

One of the things I love most about being home is having epic adventures with my sister.  When we were little we fought a lot, but we also did many things together — climbing trees, family birthday parties, playing house (and pioneer people — our favorite game; weird kids), and, occasionally, baking things with our mother.  I don’t remember doing brownies.  But I do remember complicated gingerbread people and houses and wild berry muffins.  These were my mom’s specialties.  My sister and I just liked to eat the toppings.  Somehow, the last batch of everything always got burnt.  It’s a family tradition.

We made these brownies from a Joy of Cooking recipe.  Homemade brownies are so worth the time, labor, and mess.  So rich and fudgy and satisfying.  We made three separate pans worth: almond/cherry, marshmallow/m&m, and plain.

Epic swimming with epic friends!

It’s nice to stay close with friends from childhood and high school.  No matter how long I’ve known a person or how close we are, I feel an ongoing social anxiety.  Sometimes I’m afraid of being “rejected”, but the rational, healed part of me knows how silly this is.  My friends love me and I love my friends.  It’s that simple.

We went to the beach!  Well, more of a woodsy lake with a small amount of sand.  The water was chilly at first but we ended up having plenty of fun splashing around and getting nice tans.  I even wore my bikini without feeling too afraid of my own body, although I will confess that I didn’t feel the most confident.  One step at a time.

It was honestly the perfect summer afternoon.  No obsessive, painful thoughts about food or feeling fat or “I should be exercising, not lying around in the sun with a book.”  Just sun, water, friends, and me.  Happy me.  It was a pretty epic feeling.

Epic date with my dad!

I was never one of those girls who was naturally super close to her father.  But my dad is a fascinating, caring man and I do love spending time with him.  It wasn’t necessarily the easiest thing when I was younger, but I love it now.  Sometimes I wish I could spend more time with my parents and sister.  I usually see them 3-5 times a year.  I’m really still a kid.  I know that.

First we went to the park and explored the river.  I wanted to see some fishies but didn’t. 😦  In the evening we had dinner and went to see The Secret In Their Eyes, which was easily one of the best movies I’ve seen in years.  It had all the right proportions of mystery, passion, love, truth, and humanity.  Highly recommended.

For some reason, I absolutely had to have pizza for dinner last night.  Every few months I get a serious pizza craving.  Cheese is comforting.  Very very comforting.  I think Joanne would agree.  Wild mushroom and pepperoni:

I think this is enough epicness for one small post.

What epic things have you done lately?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 24, 2010 @ 00:07:45

    Epic indeed! A post full of lovely things 🙂 May I say that I am too a big Lost fan…I’ll be so sad when it’s over, but I’m glad it’s going to end whilst it’s still good rather than drag on and gradually decline in quality like many TV shows. And wow what super dooper brownies. Glad you got time to spend with your dad and friends…and I noticed a jigsaw in your photo that reminded me it’s been almost a year since I last did one…I need to get jiggy with it again 😉

    My day out in London was epic enough for me, so I spent yesterday chilling after that, well as much as one can chill when we had the hottest weekend so far this year in the UK…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    May 24, 2010 @ 06:09:12

    Dude my life has not been quite so epic. Studying has a way of taking the epicness out of everything. So I am going to live vicariously through you.

    I think Smores should be eaten constantly, all the time, camping or not. And brownies are the perfect bonding tool. Who wouldn’t want to bond over chocolatey deliciousness! So cute that you had dad time and I agree about the pizza…the more cheese the better!

    Reply

  3. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 24, 2010 @ 06:36:26

    I’ve been getting up epicly early lately! As for humidity, it sounds like it doesn’t stop you from running! Just drink a lot of water and, like you said, grin and bear it!

    Reply

  4. Erin
    May 24, 2010 @ 07:21:27

    Epic weather! Gorgeous! It rained here ALL weekend. 😦

    I got an EPIC dress at Target, because they have EPIC prices, and got some seriously EPIC compliments on it at a party the other night.

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 24, 2010 @ 08:09:05

    Epic day indeed! My life has been pretty un-epic of late, but I have done some epic baking and eaten some epic sushi. You know you’re a food blogger when eating is the most exciting part of your life! Hope you have a wonderful Monday love!!

    Reply

  6. Ameena
    May 24, 2010 @ 09:26:22

    What an epic weekend you had! I love the fact you lounged around in the sun without feeling guilty. I need to do that a little more often.

    I went shopping this weekend to kill some time and managed to not buy a single thing. That for me is EPIC!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

