Adventure Friday

Today’s Happy Note: I now have a beautiful temporary tattoo of a dolphin on my left arm.  My life is complete.

Lazy day again!  I did a 30 minute ab/cardio workout video this evening with my mom.  It was called “Envy Abs” and was actually pretty good.  I hadn’t done a lot of the moves before so it was unpredictable.

Adventure Friday:

Kate went on an Adventure Monday here!  So happy my idea is rubbing off.  It really is fun — I always look forward to my adventures throughout the week.

Today’s adventure?  Visiting my best friend from high school and her family’s seven dogs.  There were actually eight there today since an extra dog was visiting.

Eddy (I *think* that’s who this one is) says hello!  He was trying to eat my…

…coconut milk green tea ice cream!  Seeing as today was supposed to be an adventure at all, when we wound up at the grocery store and wandered past the alternative ice cream aisle, I knew it was fate: it was my time to try the coconut milk ice cream.  The verdict?  Pretty tasty, but with a slightly odd aftertaste.  It honestly tasted like a slightly less creamy version of standard green tea ice cream.  I would like to try more of their flavors this summer and will probably eat this one again as well!

I know this was kind of a lame adventure; I didn’t take too many pictures.  But trust me, being climbed on by eight rambunctious dogs is no picnic.  For some reason they all really liked my feet…

I have always been a cat person but I also love dogs.  When I have my own apartment I want to get a cat, since I think it will be easier to take care of.  I really do like dogs though.  I want to name my cat Stanley.  Or Ceaser.  Or Miller.

Are you a cat or a dog person?  Or neither or both?

It’s been raining cats and dogs here today (pun intended) so adventure options were a bit limited.  I desperately wanted to run but it was, quite literally, pouring.  And it’s supposed to tomorrow as well!  At least the plants will be well-watered.

Eats hodgepodge:

Okay so this was a smoothie made with plain yogurt, water, frozen blackberries, ice, and chocolate amazing meal.  It was disgusting.  I didn’t want to waster it so I added loads of stevia to mask the flavor but yeah, it had a distinct, unappealing grassy flavor.  And I actually like grassy flavor — but this was a bit extreme.  I feel like it’s this kind of food that gives health food a bad name.  For your own sake, don’t buy it.

I do, however, love all the Amazing Grass bars!

Frozen fruit in cereal is really delicious.  Crunchy and cold but also smooth, sweet and satisfying.  You should try it!  And yes, that is peanut butter in my bowl.  I am obsessed with peanut butter — I might even call it my favorite food — and will add it to pretty much everything.

Blondie bars with lots of secret ingredients including cherries — the fruit Michigan is most famous for!  With a glass of milk for dipping.  These are being sent to a friend but I had to test one or two for quality control purposes, of course. 🙂

I want to make scones this summer.  A lot.  With fresh berries and warm butter on top. Nom nom nom.

I may have had the most random dinner I’ve ever consumed tonight: a few unpictured bites of steak with a warm apple with cinnamon and pb.  Hey, it was exactly what I wanted!

Lots of links to catch you guys up on!

Averie is giving away Naturally Nutty here.

Ever wanted to know how a vegan ultramarathoner eats? Check out this New York Times article.

I have a reader (hi Xenia!) who writes a sporting goods/sporting events blog called Be In The Game.  Definitely check it out if you need any equipment or are a traditional sports fan!

And finally, a fun Lite Choice contest here!  Their frozen dessert is one of the most delicious I’ve ever had.  Go support TLC!

That’s all for tonight.  Maybe I’ll be more fun tomorrow.  This rain needs to go away!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ameena
    May 21, 2010 @ 22:22:32

    Have I mentioned what beautiful hair you have? I am quite jealous of it. In a good way of course.

    I am a total dog person. Too bad I live in a condo! I would love to have another white lab like I did when I was growing up. His name was Caesar! How funny is that?

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    May 22, 2010 @ 06:33:06

    Love adventures! Especially on Fridays!

    So cute that you are spending quality time with your mom, and getting a workout in at the same time.

    I am such a dog person. Like seriously. I want one. Badly. Like the name Caesar! Very dignified.

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 22, 2010 @ 07:44:30

    Coconut milk green tea ice cream?! I can’t believe you found that at a grocery store, it sounds like some kind of delicacy!! I’m definitely more of a dog person, but I can see myself getting a cat when I live by myself as well- it’s nice to have a companion that can take care of itself! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  4. Kate
    May 22, 2010 @ 08:32:34

    thanks for the shout! i loved my adventure monday. hope to go on many more 🙂

    and that dog is cuuuuute! i want one so bad but being a slave to my rental lease, i don’t see on in the future : (

    have a lovely weekend!

    Reply

  5. Hayley @ Breath of Fire
    May 22, 2010 @ 19:09:04

    Loooove that coconut milk ice cream. I’ve never tried the green tea. Certain flavors can definitely have a strange aftertaste- sometimes in a good way, sometimes in a bad way. The mint chocolate chip flavor from So Delicious brand seems to have no aftertaste at all and is probably my favorite.

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers
    May 22, 2010 @ 23:29:49

    Aww cute pup. I love both cats and dogs but have neither at the moment. 2 wee kiddies is enough work for the moment.

    I love frozen fruit too…in hot oatmeal…in yogurt…and it’s brilliant for chilling out protein shakes when I’m out of ice cubes (which seems to be permanently).

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    May 23, 2010 @ 00:05:09

    Oooh green ice cream! And I love your potential cat names 🙂

    xxx

    Reply

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 23, 2010 @ 01:39:00

    the dancing pics from the last post are awesome!!!!!!!!! and so is sweaty yoga 🙂

    I hopeyou are having a fabu weekend, Caronae!!!

    I am a cat and dog person, but only small dogs 🙂

    xo

    Reply

  9. foodiefresh
    May 23, 2010 @ 21:18:56

    I am 100% a dog person. I don’t dislike cats, I’m just extremely allergic. They are easier to care for, but nothing does it for me like the unconditional love of my little Rascal. He makes me melt.

    Reply

  10. marla {Family Fresh Cooking}
    May 23, 2010 @ 23:25:46

    Coconut Green Tea Ice Cream…with all that PB that u had for dinner. That is my kinda treat!! I like dogs way better than cats. xo

    Reply

  11. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 25, 2010 @ 15:58:30

    I have been wondering how the green tea flavor is. I always see it but have not been courageous enough to pick it up! Sometimes, smoothies just don’t work out and there is nothing to do but get a clean slate. Wasting food is bad but bad smoothies are too.

    I am neither a dog or cat person but I love naming things and approve of all the names you’ve come up with. Thanks for the great links too!
    Katherine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

