The Things That Make Me Happy Post

Today’s Happy Note: Everything!  See below. 🙂

1. Haircuts!  I wish I could blow dry my hair and make it smooth and shiny like this…I don’t even own a blow-dryer or any styling products.  My hair is very long, thick-ish, a bit dry, wavy, and prone to frizz.  I want some things to put in it to make it pretty.  Where should I start?

2. Dance parties in the living room.  I didn’t want to run so for a fresh, alternative form of cardio, I danced!

Ignore the messy house (I think it’s endearing!) and that bizarre tanline I’ve got going on.  I need to stop running outside in such weirdly shaped tops.

3.  Rediscovering tuna!  I always thought tuna had to be either boring and plain or mixed with mayo and unhealthy.  Wrong.  I mixed a whole can with a giant spoonful of hummus, giant spoonful plain yogurt, yellow pepper, celery, lemon pepper mix, and sea salt for lunch.  Served in a flat out wrap.  This was a very refreshing lunch, and I most certainly plan on eating more tuna this summer!

4.  Sweaty yoga sessions.  It wasn’t hot yoga or anything, but it was muy humid around here today and there were a lot of bodies in that room.  Unfortunately I had a slippery mat, but the actual class was great!  I loved all the planks and shoulder stretchy poses and balances.  I had two great tripod headstands, which was nice.  Little successes always makes me feel more confident.

5. Eggs.  Seriously, why is such a simple food so incredibly tasty?  I think that I may have actually fallen in love.  They are creamy, savory, smooth, filling, cheap.  What more could I ask for in a protein?  I have been doing a lot of two-egg puffs in the microwave.  They cook in less than two minutes!  Oh, and I almost always eat them with the yolk.  One, because I think it’s weird to buy separate egg whites and I’m too lazy to separate out the whites from whole eggs, and two, because the yolk is ACTUALLY GOOD FOR YOU.  Yes, I said it.  It really has no connection whatsoever with blood cholesterol levels.  The yolk is a source of healthy fats, vitamins, and proteins that can’t be found in the whites.  Eggs have gotten a bad name, but there is actually no science behind this — just a lot of hype,  myth, and misinformation.  So crack open some eggs.  Yolks and all.

Served with hummus, salad, and carrots, this is a wonderful weeknight summer dinner.  Light but also stays with you.

6. Breakfasts that come with a side of sunshine.

7. Baking.  I’m making a special concoction for a blog friend tonight.  One that says “Michigan!”  Hint: what fruit is MI famous for?  I’ll  share some pictures tomorrow.  I haven’t started yet because my mother is currently at war with a thick steak and the broiler.  The broiler is winning.

8. Friends.  I’m going to see one of my best friends from high school tomorrow.  Friends make me so very happy.

What makes you happy today?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    May 20, 2010 @ 21:38:20

    Friends def. make me happy. Just had Gena over for dinner, and I realize every time I hang out with a good friend, I feel like a million bucks! That and the anticipation of eating my fave foods are 2 things that make me happy quite regularly. 🙂 So glad you have so many things to be happy about!

    Reply

  2. sonia
    May 20, 2010 @ 21:49:28

    Yay for Happy Things in life 🙂
    I eat the whole egg too! I bought egg whites in a carton once and they were so weird! They were all watery and when I was heating them in the skillet, it felt like I was pushing around a soggy paper towel!
    Your hair looks great btw! My favorite smoothing and shininess products are Frederic Fekkai hair gloss and BioSilk. Love em both!

    And something that made me happy today was putting in my 53 days notice at work! And 29 of those days are weekends or days I’m on vacation! Booyah!

    Reply

  3. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers
    May 20, 2010 @ 22:13:23

    Love the dancing! And sweetie if your house is messy…yeesh…I don’t even know what word you would use for the normal state of mine.

    I’m a big fan of whole eggs…even when that whole ‘eggs yolks are bad for you’ craze was around I still ate them. Runny eggs on toast is a weekly thing for me.

    As for tuna my fave is mixing a tin with lemon juice, lemon zest, a tbsp of yogurt, dill, a tbsp of capers and a drizzle of honey. Sounds bizarre but it’s really, really good.

    What makes me happy today? A day spent in the sun. A cheesy answer but a true one.

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    May 21, 2010 @ 02:31:23

    Tuna and hummus! What a great idea 🙂 I love your random dancing…I sometimes have a little dance, so long as no one is around hehe. Thank you for a lovely happy post…and excuse my ignorance but what is Michigan famous for?

    Today…well I’ve just got up, but having a nice little lie in for once and being totally chilled out in bed. That made me happy.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 21, 2010 @ 06:55:23

    My hair is a mess when I let it dry totally naturally (long, baby-fine, straight on top and wavy underneath). I use Garnier Fructis anti-humidity smoothing milk, then just blow dry around my face with a brush and dry out the excess moisture in the back. I smooth some Frizz-Ease secret weapon finishing cream on the ends and voila! Takes five to ten minutes depending on how unruly my hair is being that day. I rarely dry my hair completely, but this makes it presentable! I absolutely love that dress by the way- so summery!! Hope you have a wonderful day girl!!

    Reply

  6. Wendi
    May 21, 2010 @ 10:20:13

    I’m a big egg fan too! They’re so good for you (yolks included) and easy to cook!

    Friends make me happy too. Everybody needs at least one special friend in their life.

    Let’s see, long weekends are also something to smile about. Then there’s the beautiful weather today, the chocolate bar tucked in my purse, my dog, my husband, vacation plans……

    Reply

  7. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:17:45

    I love that dress! Have you tried a flat iron for your hair? That’s the only thing that’ll work on mine.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Rebecca: Singing Along the Creek « Breath of Fire

Leave a Reply

